Terrace Beach Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Terrace Beach Resort

1002 Peninsula Road Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0 Canada
Main Living Area
Traveller (423)
A view of our cabins from the beach
Room & Suite (126)
Terrace Beach Resort
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 4 resorts in Ucluelet
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Beach
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Board games / puzzles
Picnic area
Room features
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Green
Languages Spoken
English
622Reviews8Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 460
  • 115
  • 26
  • 9
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kimberly S wrote a review Oct 2021
Nanaimo, Canada272 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The location is excellent. Outside the cabin you see Terrace Bay. Always calm every time I've been there since it's well protected from ocean waves.
Another bonus is it's about a 5 minute walk to the Wild Pacific Trail, Lighthouse Loop. Highly recommended especially at low tide so you can venture out on to the rocky shoreline where you might find a treasure such as a washed up bouy or some bones from a seal.
The resort is very nice but I'm giving it a reserved rating, hoping that a few suggestions might be helpful.
It is a totally hands off rental meaning from booking online to departing the rental there is absolutely no human contact either via phone or email.
I did try calling the number listed on the website to confirm our rental but it kept dropping immediately. It did make me nervous since when booking the only email confirmation I did get was from an unknown site that only listed the date I booked and never listed the date I booked for.
We were never provided information on how to connect to the wifi so our data was eaten up big time. There were a couple of pages of rules in the cabin but sharing the wifi information was completely overlooked.
Check out was never explained. We thought maybe there was a key drop box where we found the envelope upon arrival near the office.
The only box around was a box of poop bags. Good to have but not what we were looking for.
We noticed a cleaning person and asked where we were supposed to put the key. She said to give it to her. (I hope we didn't give the key to some random person.)
We then mentioned that we didn't have any wifi password where she cheerily stated the user name and wifi. I asked her how were we to know that, where upon a questionable look came over her face.
I would stay again but my initial stay would have been a little less stressful had I known a couple of extra details.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: You must be comfortable with not having any direct contact with anyone. Not phone or email. Some...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ceceliaj63 wrote a review Oct 2020
Vancouver Island, Canada146 contributions69 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a great cabin but it was a real let down to not be able to use our "private" hot tub which is why we booked this cottage. It was part of the view. I asked to be moved to a cottage with more of a opened view since we couldn't use hot tub but our dates couldn't fully be accommodated I was told. However when we got there it appeared most cabins were vacant. You could have offered a discounted price since we weren't getting what we paid for. Other places on the island allowed the hot tubs to be used. However, it was a nice looking cottage. Thank you. We love Ucluelet. Congrats on purchase of resort.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jon S wrote a review June 2022
Ottawa, Canada85 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for 2 nights and were assigned cabin 5, Amphritite. Sleeping was a bedroom down below, and loft above (with a separate bathroom) and a hottub looking over the ocean. It was appropriately supplied for enjoying making meals. It was clean, and beds were very comfortable. View of Terrace Bay was wonderful. There were three things negative. Towels were the water repellent variety. The loft had little privacy as it was a railing rather than a 1/2 wall that surrounded it looking over the main floor. Most importantly a couple of the stairs were made of different coloured wood, which gave the illusion of 2 stairs rather than one. I stumbled down a couple of stairs because of this. Particularly hazardous at night with very low light. NOTE: this is not a conventional hotel at all. It is a resort with cabins or rooms off a main building so impossible to properly answer questions below. Also, there is a Terrace Beach Cabins, which is different and located just before the Resort. Don't confuse the two.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Room Tip: Remember, these are mostly cabins, not rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sarah v wrote a review Nov 2020
Vancouver, Canada193 contributions52 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We’ve been coming here for years as a couples cozy getaway, and have stayed in #24 High Tide.

But we will not be coming back
Of course Covid has changed things, but I think it’s actually new ownership that is really diminishing what a place this used to be.

Well we knew that we wouldn’t have access to the hot tub or the Jacuzzi, we don’t really understand the rationale as to why and none was provided. Especially since while in town I heard of other vacation rentals having use of their hot tubs. We specifically came here and paid more for the suite because of the private hot tub. There was also no discount offered for this.

All little extras were removed in the suite, including any access to DVDs, games or books. I don’t understand this, as if there was concern about “touching” but they didn’t remove light switches, faucets, railings or furniture. Felt extreme, and bare.
On previous stays, I was pleased that the kitchen was well stocked with things such as aluminum foil and Saran Wrap, and place mats.
We popped into the town’s Co-op to get these things.

I didn’t see any signs of new improvements, other than a poor lacquer job on the dining room table.

We’re also aware that rates have significantly gone up this is quite unfortunate, and apparently will go up further.

I will say that checking in during covid was contactless and super easy. Everything was clean and plenty of towels.

Bed was good but I could tell it’s getting older. Also the fridge is getting older, we had to adjust the temperature because it was freezing some of our food.

Overall a nice quiet place to stay, and we’ve made good memories here.

But I will not be recommending this place to my friends and family any more.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
islandgirlie522 wrote a review Oct 2020
Vancouver Island, Canada123 contributions61 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Having stayed at Terrace Beach Resort a few times before, we were so excited to book a longer than usual vacation there since we aren't traveling far from home these days. We were very much looking forward to relaxing in our own private hot tub, on a deck with a fantastic view, and this was going to be the major highlight of our trip. As this was our major vacation this year, we couldn't wait to get there and check in.

A week before our check in I received an email that the hot tubs had all been closed. The hot tub on the deck was literally the reason we had booked the cabin that we did, and booked at terrace beach, otherwise we likely would have stayed elsewhere. With everything so busy on the Westcoast currently, there was no chance we would be able to book elsewhere on such short notice. I really wish this has been communicated to us sooner, so we may have been able to look at other accommodation options. I get that covid times make things very different, but apparently the hot tubs weren't closed currently due to covid, it was due to a recent sale of the property, and the new owners deciding that they all need to be replaced. That's great, new hot tubs would be lovely, but we, and all of the other guests did not receive what we booked and paid for. I asked about compensation for not receiving what we had booked and paid for and I was told that the rates were reasonable for a suite without a hot tub, and that a "modest price increase" would take place once all of the hot tubs were replaced.

Cleanliness was not great, some of the dishes needed to be re-washed when we arrived, and I found the kitchen only stocked with absolute basic utensils. I hope future guests like their food boiled as there was only one very small decent frying pan (the other was pretty much useless), and there were no pans to be able to use the BBQ for anything other than grilling. Another huge disappointment. The hand towels smelled musty after being used to dry hands a few times, and some of the sheets on the beds had holes in them. Clearly, it's time for an overhaul of the whole resort. The beds were fairly comfortable though.

We will definitely be looking at other options next time we want to stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Laura J wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very poorly managed. Called to cancel on short notice due to a child with COVID, was told over the phone not to worry we would get a full refund as had booked it within the last 48 hours. Call center employee overseas takes your information assuring you of a callback that never comes. Very non communicative, did not return multiple phone calls or emails. Despite being told we would receive a full refund, they finally agreed to only refund our cleaning fee- they have withheld over $400. Called the City of Ucluelet as they DO NOT have a business license and the Better Business Bureau.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Terrace Beach, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort
Responded 7 Apr 2022
Hi Laura, We are sorry that you feel that you had a one star experience with us and we apologize for the communication issues. We do have a firm cancellation policy that to receive a full refund, guests must cancel at least 30 days before check-in. They can also get a full refund within 48 hours of booking if the cancellation occurs at least 14 days before check-in. If they cancel between 7 and 30 days before check-in, you’ll be charged 50% for all nights. If they cancel less than 7 days before check-in, you’ll be charged 100% for all nights. We do in fact have a Business License as you will find if you download the file "Business License Holders (August 2021)" here: https://ucluelet.ca/development/business-licences I hope this clarifies. Best Regards, Terrace Beach Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nick B wrote a review July 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This resort has excellent access to terrace beach and close proximity to the wild pacific trail. The resort units themselves have lots of stairs and ramps to access the board walk units. If you have any mobility issues are trouble making numerous trips from the parking lot up stairs to the suites I would pass on this property. Also beware of nails and screws scattered around the parking lot from recent renovations.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Check the highway road closer schedule during construction
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Photo_Guy_Canada wrote a review Sept 2021
Vancouver, Canada34 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I haven’t had a good night sleep in 3 days since we arrived at the Terrace Beach Resort. Every night between 10PM and about 7AM there was a loud generator that started up that sounded like it was right under our room. Multiple calls at night to the “7x24”customer support phone number went straight to voice mail. If we did receive a call back the next morning, promises to “look into it” did little to stop the noise the next night.

The room costs us over $300 / night and it was a poor experience and not a good value.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tanya C wrote a review Dec 2020
Fitzroy Harbour, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I've been to Terrace Beach Resort 4 times, and each stay has been good, although some updating is needed and the sofa beds are in desperate need of upgrading. I had planned to book again this coming summer (2021) but upon inquiring, found out that the cost had doubled per night! Although the location is great, this is by no means a 5 start resort. They should also stop advertising that it is 'celebrity owned' as the Priestly family sold it summer 2020, which I presume has led to the absurd price increase. This is a 3 star accommodation at best, and now they are pricing it as a 5 star resort. Shameful. Will not be returning to Terrace Beach Resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jb123Toronto wrote a review Oct 2022
Toronto3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at the Terrace Beach Resort in July. Our room did not have a promised cot/sofabed for our son and so had to spend a bunch of our vacation time calling customer service and looking for another last-minute hotel, to no avail. We wound up buying an air mattress. The resort eventually promised to reimburse us but has yet to do so despite more than a dozen follow-up calls, texts and emails and several promises to get back. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the location was nice near trails and a quiet beach, but the customer service was so awful and unresponsive, I would not recommend here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
d70 asked a question July 2018
Dalkey, Ireland12 contributions5 helpful votes
Hi how do I book for late June 2019 please?
connydragun11 asked a question July 2018
Milford, Canada
do you have room for 5 adults Aug. 5th to 6th?
Answer from Bob V
Abbotsford, Canada81 contributions13 helpful votes
I am not part of the staff at the Terrace Beach Resort. You should contact them.
Answer from wendypenrose2002
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom52 contributions52 helpful votes
It's very basic. Just a hob. No oven and a few pot and utensils. Definitely no provision of extras like foil etc. This is not like a fully equipped holiday home. Lots of nice simple restaurants a short drive into town.
Answer from Durmahli
Burnaby, Canada21 contributions40 helpful votes
If you are referring to August of this year your chances are low as this resort sells out months in advance, but give them a call in case there has been a cancellation. Note that Terrace Beach Resort cannot be booked through TripAdvisor or any other booking site - you have to contact them directly. Good Luck :)
Jon S wrote a tip June 2022
Ottawa, Canada85 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Remember, these are mostly cabins, not rooms."
Read full review
Kimberly S wrote a tip Oct 2021
Nanaimo, Canada272 contributions83 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"You must be comfortable with not having any direct contact with anyone. Not phone or email. Some people will not be comfortable with that. "
Read full review
Nick B wrote a tip July 2021
10 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check the highway road closer schedule during construction"
Read full review
llagonne66 wrote a tip Sept 2019
La Llagonne, France568 contributions228 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Cabin or suite on the upper level"
Read full review
Jen Storey wrote a tip June 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If the sound of waves at night is essential to you I'd suggest the ocean view lofts/cabins."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ucluelet area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
terrace beach hotel ucluelet, terrace beach ucluelet
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandAlberni-Clayoquot Regional DistrictBarkley SoundUcluelet
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TERRACE BEACH RESORT: 2024 Reviews (Ucluelet, Canada) - Photos of Resort - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Terrace Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Terrace Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Wild Pacific Trail (0.7 km), Ucluelet Aquarium (1.7 km), and Amphitrite Point Lighthouse (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Terrace Beach Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
Which room amenities are available at Terrace Beach Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Terrace Beach Resort?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Terrace Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Terrace Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pluvio restaurant, Heartwood Kitchen, and Jigger's.
Are pets allowed at Terrace Beach Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Terrace Beach Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Ucluelet HotelsUcluelet Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Ucluelet
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars