We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mussel Beach Campground

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Mussel Beach Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of Mussel Beach Campground
 Click to rate
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Terrible signage for this site. We were in downtown uclelet calling the site to inquire how far it was. After calling 4 times we decide to drive there. After seeing the signs to the camp ground we continued to drive then the road becomes a dirt road and it's 25 minutes up the dirt road! Not mentioned on any of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missfloraa
MusselBeach_13, Manager at Mussel Beach Campground, responded to this review

Not sure when you were trying to camp ,the weekend that it looks like you were trying to locate us we were closed for a private event and we had full signs up and we did have a message on the phone saying we were full and we just opened for the public this Monday after your post. We are...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Gorgeous location, stunning views, amazing hosts and spectacular accommodation. If you think you hate camping, but long to be in the great outdoors, you HAVE to visit So Damn Lucky Vacations at Mussel Beach. Glamping at its best! After full days walking on the beach and then drinking wine around the campfire, it was heaven to head into our toasty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
Regina, Canada
Reviewed 7 September 2016

If you're looking for a place to get away from everything, this would be it. The owners were very friendly and helpful and even took the time to let campers know that a whale was passing by. Unfortunate for us, we were only staying one night and the very rough bumpy drive in probably wasn't worth it, but if you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nellycakes
Brisbane
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

When we arrived at the campground our host Lori was welcoming. It took 25 minutes on the dirt road to reach the site. We stayed in one of the tiny cabins, which was basic but very clean. There was a wooden table and bench downstairs with a loft mattress that fits 2 people. The very firm foam mattress would be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ar27dodo
Coombs
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed three nights. Friends had an oceanfront campsite and we stayed in one of the tiny cabins across from the beachfront. First the cabins: If you don't have a tent or trailer this is a great option for you. For $50 a night you get a bed and table and chairs, fire pit and picnic table out front. If...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelling55
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We were lucky to get a ocean view campsite at the last minute due to a cancellation, and were so charmed we stayed an extra night in a different spot! The second spot was in a forest site, which was large and well kept, and a minutes walk from the main beach. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill S
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

8 Km's of mellow logging road to paradise. Not for mall crawlers but if you want a real beautiful bc experience this is it. Book in advance cause the secret is slowly getting out. Rvs are fine tents whatever you have. Less fog than the outer coast campgrounds and warmer. Fishing out front as well as paddling.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kaiser F
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights, spur of the moment. Booked Monday stayed Wednesday to Sunday. Wouldn't camp anywhere else around here now. We're spoilt. The view, the sites, the staff. Everything was beyond expectations. I saw an echo do the drive so I think anyone can make it slowly. We will be back before the end of this season for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caitlyn H
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

The road in was terrible with little warning. Do not take a car. It would have been nice of them to mention you should have a 4 x4 lifted truck. It not just a few potholes like they say on their site. And for what it is the camp site was way overpriced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff E
MusselBeach_13, Manager at Mussel Beach Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for your remarks ,but I do think there is enough warnings about the road on our website (which includes a youtube video of the road in) not to mention the remarks on trip advisor. Its true some people do not like our road ,but a lot of campers love the road and say it is part of the Mussel...

Hasselt, Belgium
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

THE ride to THE campground is not THE most relaxed one driving through one thousand holes for half an hour but iT is certanely worth iT Fabulous views, super beach to explore , very relaxed and friendly

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oegaboega

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
38.6 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
11.0 km away
Wya Point Resort
Wya Point Resort
#4 of 26 in Ucluelet
151 reviews
6.2 km away
The Cabins at Terrace Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
West Coast Motel on the Harbour
7.3 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
6.6 km away
A Snug Harbour Inn
A Snug Harbour Inn
#1 of 30 in Ucluelet
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One mile of south facing pacific ocean front for your camping enjoyment near Ucluelet,Tofino and Long Beach park on the west coast of Vancouver Island B.C. Canada. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mussel Beach Campground

Address: Clayoqot District | Section 54, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mussel Beach Campground staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mussel Beach Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book early!”
kathrynmQ4526GH, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Any beach front!”
kevintkluk, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check out their website where they have a site map”
richardy872, 4 Sep 2015 | Read review
“beautiful camping on the ocean”
willhoag, 7 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Get a waterfront site and make sure you book early !”
  • cant beat this view
353peterc, 21 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5