Feughside Guesthouse
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Feughside Guesthouse

Traveller (51)
our "river view"
Room & Suite (16)
Superb Scottish Breakfast
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 guest house in Strachan
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Welcome you to the Feughside Guesthouse situated on the quiet, picturesque banks of the Feugh. The Feughside Guesthouse is a serene getaway in the Royal Deeside. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, you'll be warmly welcomed. The Guesthouse is a convenient 30 minute drive from Aberdeen, a bustling city with lots of things to do and see. Visit Ballater, Balmoral castle, enjoy walks, fishing and golf or just soak up the scenery. Eight very comfortable rooms Set a couple of miles from the River Dee, Scotland's best river for salmon fishing, the Feughside Guesthouse is a popular choice among fishermen.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
144Reviews1Q+A40Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 73
  • 40
  • 15
  • 9
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
The Traveling Trio wrote a review Dec 2022
Scotland, United Kingdom5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
lovely B and B, the owner was extremely welcoming, accommodating, helpful and full of local & historic knowledge. The Lady at breakfast (sorry we are terrible with names) was lovely, hard working and gave us a warm welcome every morning. Breakfast was absolutely spot on, everything one needs to start the day right, plenty, freshly made and topped up whenever needed. Pool table was a bonus in the evenings to wind down after a busy day touring the area. Rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and spotlessly clean, showers were powerful too! We were a family of 4 adults and 1 child and extended our stay an extra night as we were that comfortable. Would definitely stay again at the Feughside Guesthouse, Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bloppy wrote a review July 2023
chicago2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great stay just recently. Beautiful inn and area. Rob, Linda an Milena when out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful. We came in very late, and after we notified Rob that our flight was delayed, he stayed up past midnight to let us in. And even though we were leaving very early- before the breakfast hour- Rob got up early to cook hot breakfast so our children do not travel on an empty stomach. I really appreciated family atmosphere at his place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Communicate with your host about your needs and he will make sure you have a great experience.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nessie35 wrote a review Aug 2021
Inverness, United Kingdom168 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 1 night in the triple room which was fantastic. We were able to check in at 1pm which allowed a very pleasant afternoon sitting across the road by the river in the sunshine! A quick 10 min drive took us into banchory for a lovely evening meal.
Our room was huge and spotless. The beds were very comfortable and the ensuite was large and also very very clean. We enjoyed a tasty breakfast the next morning. The owners were also very very nice. I would recommend this place and we are hoping to come back next month as there is a lot to see and do!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Plenty parking outside Triple room is at the back of the property so less noise from...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jim S wrote a review July 2023
Grayslake, Illinois9 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I only now read the previous review (1 star) and was stunned to learn of an entirely different experience at the very same place we left only two days ago. We traveled as a family of 5 and our 8-night and 9-day stay was beyond enjoyable. Our host, Rob, was more than accommodating and met us at the door near 1 a.m. when our travel into Strachan was horrifically delayed. Linda was magnificent every breakfast and the food was an absolute delight. The rooms were clean and tidy with spectacular views and we just don't know how it could have been better. I do have to admit, however, that every morning our children descended upon lot of the beautiful fresh fruit and other vegetarian fare like a famished swarm of locusts while my wife and I skulked about and snatched all the toilet paper and clean towels from unsuspecting business travelers. Clachnaben!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Take in all the lovely sights but plan for lunch and dinner. Wonderful take-away and dining in...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diana P wrote a review July 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for a business trip for 2 weeks.

When we arrived no one was in hotel empty, tried to phone no answer. Then the owner arrived and didn’t know we were booked. We booked for full 2 weeks.
Next morning we been told thanks for staying with us!! ??? Basically what happened owner by accident deleted our booking and asked to move rooms. Then next week we had to change to another room. 3 rooms in 2 weeks.

Room service not existing we had to chase owner for towels and toilet paper!!!

Then after we were about to leave owner tried to overcharge us for hundreds of pounds.

This is definitely not the place we would go back.

To pay more than a grand for a poor hotel I would rather stay in the tent.

Btw if you are vegetarian you have no options at the breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Robbie Strachan, General Manager at Feughside Guesthouse
Responded 21 Aug 2023
Dear Guest, I am sorry for your experience. You booked a twin room in the late afternoon on the day you arrived for one week. I offered you both a double if you would prefer, but that you would need to change rooms, you asked to make that change. Your booking was never deleted. You enjoyed your stay and asked if it would be possible to stay another week, I said that would be possible if you didn't mind changing rooms, you agreed. You were supplied with what you needed when you asked, though you often didn't turn up for breakfast, despite that it had been cooked for you. You asked specifically for Salmon which is not on the breakfast menu and not vegetarian and were delighted when this was cooked for you. There are also plenty of vegetarian options. You were delighted with your stay and assured me many times you would return, that is until you received a bill for your stay which was the double room en-suite rate not the cheapest double with external bathroom rate which you had assumed was the price. On hearing your consternation that you thought the room was £85.00 not £105 and considering the length of time that in the end you had stayed I agreed to give you both the £85.00 room rate, knocking off hundreds of pounds from your bill. So surprised and disappointed by this review which bears no resemblance to the pleasurable stay which you had previously expressed to me that you had had.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Craig S wrote a review July 2021
Aberdeen, United Kingdom36 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice location, only a short drive from Banchory. Rob , the owner, was extremely nice and served an excellent breakfast. Our room was very nice and the beds were comfy. Turned up a little late for check-in but Rob was very accommodating. Would stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joyce08_10 wrote a review Sept 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Superb two nights at a high quality but very affordable guest house. Extremely comfortable and magnificent breakfasts. Owner and staff very helpful, friendly and efficient.Great location for exploring Deeside or for local wedding venues.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Great location for walking and visiting the area
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sabrina S. wrote a review Oct 2022
Berlin, Germany1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stopover at the Feughside Guesthouse. Room was clean and cosy, breakfast excellent. Rob was a pleasant host and had loads of tipps for our travels around Scotland. As a plus there‘s a lovely wee river on the other side of the road with private entrance and picknick area. Would definitely recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vstrawn wrote a review Apr 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Comfy beds,tidy room and breakfast was spot on. Many things to do and restaurants nearby. Rob was informative and accommodating. We loved our stay here for our anniversary. If you’re a Strawn or Stachan or Straughn however you spell it you’re in for a treat!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: No bar or lunch/dinner but you can bring your own back to the inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BigMumPlum wrote a review Aug 2012
Aberdeen, United Kingdom12 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
What a disaster! We had friends up from The Cotswolds for the weekend and we had spent a lovely day at The Lonach Gathering. We wanted to continue showing them the best of Northeast hospitality so we took them out to The Feughside Inn.
We were shown to our table in a large conservatory which looks out onto a car park, a bank of rubble and 4 wheelie bins! Everywhere on the walls there are portraits of labradors. The lighting is bright, the atmosphere was ??? The food was interesting. Starters arrived for half the table. When it looked like the other half had been forgotten, we asked the waitress for the rest of our starters and we were told that it had all been put on one plate ( and served down one end of the table!) She said "I TOLD you that when I brought it out!" no, apologies. We asked for the other starter - this arrived with the main courses. Our waitress did apologise for that.
The young waiter brought out a plate, shrugged his shoulders & said - "I don't know what this is." Nor did we, because we first thought it was the sirloin steak, then we thought it must be the pheasant breast & eventually discovered it was in fact the venison burger!!!
DO NOT ORDER the venison burger. Our friend found a round disc of cellophane underneath his burger when he cut into it! Does this suggest that only one side of the burger was cooked? Otherwise, would the plastic not have melted into the patty? At this point we all felt that we couldn't continue eating. We had been put off our food. The waitresses were extremely apologetic. The kitchen, however, was not! I kept expecting Gordon Ramsay to appear and shut the restaurant down. We asked for the bill.
After an extraordinarily long wait we went in search of our bill. We did not pay for the venison entree. We did pay over £100 for an unsatisfactory experience because we didn't want the 2 waitresses to be left with our bill. I must stress that the restaurant waiting staff were very good, extremely apologetic and thoroughly embarrassed. I could not fault the two lovely ladies, it is just unfortunate that they have to work here. At the desk, while we waited for payment to be settled, I noticed a spray bottle of antibacterial cleaner sitting in front of a vase of flowers. It did comfort me to know that the place had good hygiene standards! At least I can report no incidence of illness in our party. But we won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bloppy wrote a tip July 2023
chicago2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Communicate with your host about your needs and he will make sure you have a great experience."
Read full review
Jim S wrote a tip July 2023
Grayslake, Illinois9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take in all the lovely sights but plan for lunch and dinner. Wonderful take-away and dining in Banchory. Tea, coffee and cakes in Finzean."
Read full review
Diana P wrote a tip July 2023
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good luck "
Read full review
Vstrawn wrote a tip Apr 2023
7 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No bar or lunch/dinner but you can bring your own back to the inn"
Read full review
joyce08_10 wrote a tip Sept 2022
Aberdeen, United Kingdom24 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for walking and visiting the area"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Strachan area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$168 - AU$216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Feughside Inn
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireBanchoryStrachan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FEUGHSIDE GUESTHOUSE (AU$168): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Strachan, Scotland) - Photos of Guesthouse - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Feughside Guesthouse
Which popular attractions are close to Feughside Guesthouse?
Nearby attractions include Falls of Feugh (6.4 km), Scolty Hill (3.9 km), and Aberdeenshire Highland Beef (7.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Feughside Guesthouse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Feughside Guesthouse?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Feughside Guesthouse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Feughside Guesthouse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ride Coffee House, Birdhouse Cafe, and Finzean Estate Farm Shop & Tea Room.
Are there any historical sites close to Feughside Guesthouse?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Milton Of Crathes (10.5 km) and Kincardine O'Neil Old Parish Church (8.7 km).