We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Crown Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of The Crown Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our anniversary, and we weren't disappointed by either the accommodation or the quality of food in the dinning hall. The hotel wears its history on its sleeve, but manages to provide the luxury touches you want for a special occasion. Staff are welcoming without being obtrusive and service is quietly considerate. We would recommend the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had to book this last minute because the original hotel let us down. They were very helpful right from the start. If you love old interesting places to stay, this is great. Beds are comfortable, rooms good with all you need. Staff were helpful, it has a lovely atmosphere and the food was good too. Breakfast was included and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a fabulous old-school inn set in the heart of a most picturesque village. Good stopping off point for south coast or destination in its own right. Great range of beers, fine menu, decent wine list without being silly, warm ambience, used by passing trade as well as locals. Building of enormous character, antiques and fine linen in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Missmadrigal
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review and we are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

I booked this blind, having never stayed here before - sometimes this can work, sometimes not, this time it definitely worked. Lovely old building, nice large Bar area with a very welcoming roaring fire at this time of year. I was greeted at reception promptly, and shown straight to my room, which was of a good size, clean, very clean,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard785
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi Richard, We are so pleased you booked this blind and had a fabulous stay with us and hope you are back in the area soon. Thank you again.

Reviewed 16 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Tudor parlour and would highly recommend booking it. Old fashioned English luxury done with such charm and elegance. The bathroom is glorious and the four poster bed was so so comfortable. What a great nights sleep we had! We had supper by the fireplace & it was truly delicious. Comfort food executed perfectly. Breakfast was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandrine L
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for your glowing review, you are now officially our favourite customer. It's so wonderful to receive such fabulous feedback as the staff do work incredibly hard to ensure that all our guests have a truly great stay with us. Thank you so much again. We wish you a Merry Christmas and hope to see you...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

I love this pub. A glass of wine by the fire admiring the really wonky beams and the original stained glass windows. I had a steak sandwich for lunch. Thought it was very poor value for money, lots of bread but little filling. Won't eat here again but will enjoy a drink and the atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank freddie s
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Freddie, Thank you very much for your kind review and so pleased that you love the pub. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your steak sandwich, we do put a 4oz /5oz steak in each one and were surprised by your comments, but have taken your points on board and will review the steak...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely Olde World Inn,Wondeful fireplace with blazing log fire! Staff friendly. Food very good and a very comfortable bed!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nivek58
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time out to write it. We hope you have a wonderful Christmas and hope to see you again in 2017.

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

We love this pub, it's one of our locals and we have never had a bad meal here. For our wedding in Oct a number of our family and friends stayed here (we got married locally) and they had a great experience. The rooms are gorgeous (some with 4 poster beds) and the food is fabulous (try the Sunday roast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MissHRaw
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review and must also thank you for your continued custom. It's wonderful to receive such great feedback and especially from a local. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Arrived at the reception area and after several minutes had to go to the bar to actually get someone to check us in. The bar is buzzy and friendly with old world charm . The food is straight forward but not memorable and the service needs some attention . Breakfast again had to go and find someone to serve us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cclondon1988
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

The rooms are quirky as befits the age of the Inn, but they are well equipped, with coffee making facilities and Sky in the rooms, and comfortable, especially the mattress. The restaurant always seems popular and the quality of the food excellent. While it's busy, it never seems overcrowded. Definitely suited to leisurely and unused meals. The staff were always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marksman1959
TheCrownInn, Marketing Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are so pleased you had a fabulous stay with us and we thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in 2017 and wish you a Merry Christmas.

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiddingfold
4.6 km away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,001 reviews
6.0 km away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
459 reviews
9.4 km away
Godalming Hotel
Godalming Hotel
#3 of 4 in Godalming
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Premier Inn Godalming Hotel
12.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
0.1 km away
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
The Swan Inn Chiddingfold
#3 of 5 in Chiddingfold
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An idyllic country Inn nestled in the corner of the picturesque Chiddingfold village green. Olde world charm sympathetically blended with sophisticated & contemporary decor to create 8 exquisite bedrooms. A cosy bar with inglenook fireplace and restaurant serving both à la carte and bar menus. Delicious food and a warm friendly atmosphere, the perfect place to totally relax. The Crown is an AA 5 Star Inn which has been recently awarded Highly Commended status. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Crown Inn

Address: Petworth Road The Green, Chiddingfold, Godalming GU8 4TX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Godalming > Chiddingfold
Price Range: $138 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crown Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Chiddingfold
The Crown Inn Chiddingfold, Surrey
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book to avoid disappointment for dinner!”
 of 5 bubbles MissHRaw, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for period room , and one not over bar or dinning area”
 of 5 bubbles cclondon1988, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Tudor chamber is stunning”
 of 5 bubbles Sashafox1969, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room had a four poster bed and was in the front of the hotel so there was a bit of road noise”
 of 5 bubbles julie166470, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get the King suite it's worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles RayL260, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5