We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Takapuna Motor Lodge

118 reviews
Save
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (6)
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good32%
  • Average20%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“self catering”(4 reviews)
“bedroom unit”(3 reviews)
Wifi
Free Parking
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (118)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Takapuna Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
32
33
23
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
32
33
23
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself cateringwould stay againbedroom unitheated poolgood nights sleepwalking distancenorth shorefree wifibusy roadgood sizeexcellent locationenjoyed our staybedsmotelkfcfridgemotorway
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

A conveniently located motor lodge which is also an easy walk into Central Takapuna if you wish to leave the car behind and save on parking stress. The neighbours cat sometimes comes and greets you in the morning which is always a great and pleasant...More

Thank Andrew D
Reviewed 6 December 2017

The staff of a place can really help to make or break your trip... unfortunately the girl on reception was so cold and rude - which immediately taints your view on a place, even just a smile or a "how are you?" can go along...More

3  Thank Maranuilocal
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Kitchen pokey with few utensils, cutlery etc. Trip was faster than expected, told staff upon arrival but where charged four days for 2 days accommodation. Agreed to invoice but then charged card. Don't stay hereMore

1  Thank Johndow76
Response from TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor LodgeResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Johndow, Thank you for taking the time to sharing feedback regarding your recent stay at Takapuna Motor Lodge. I am very concerned and disappointed to read of your experience. It is never pleasant to read a review of a guest who was not entirely...More

Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Late arrival and booking by myself meant I was expecting the staff member to be grumpy but he was friendly and eager to ensure I was welcome. The room appeared tidy and the bed was comfortable. No ironing board or iron was frustrating given I...More

1  Thank GlowWormGuy
Response from TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor LodgeResponded 26 November 2017

Dear GlowWormGuy, I am very concerned and disappointed to read of your experience. It is never pleasant to read a review of a guest who was not entirely satisfied with their stay, as we really do work passionately every day to deliver perfect moments and...More

Reviewed 30 October 2017

Was big and had multiple rooms. Very clean. Great staff. Close to kfc and not far from shops for necessities. We enjoyed our stay, room was clean, and service was great. Loved the swimming pool and spa also. Would highly recommend you to others and...More

Thank Chris A
Response from TakapunaMotorLodge, Guest Relations Manager at Takapuna Motor LodgeResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your lovely review and the time you have taken to share with us. We are thrilled that your stay with us you were able to have an enjoyable overall experience. I hope that our team were also helpful...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345623
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Laundry Service
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Heated pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
USD 101 - USD 334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 101 - USD 334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (24)
Pool & Beach (6)
Dining (3)
Family and Play Areas (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GOJO01
26 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TakapunaMotorLodge | Property representative |
Hi Stephanie, Thanks for getting in touch, we can assure your room will be clean and be smoke free as all other rooms in the motel. All rooms are equipped with freshly cleaned linen and are deep cleaned after a check out... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"The room at the back of the site is by far the best"
Read review
"Ask for a room with a proper and modern stove if you intend to eat in."
Read review
"Downstairs units if mobility is an issue."
Read review
"Look elsewhere. Don't stay there."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing