We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clevelands House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minett
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Clevelands House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

369 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clevelands House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 369: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2014

We paid $269/night plus tax for a 2 bedroom cottage. While the beds were clean and comfortable, the cottage and facilities simply didn't match the price. Had we payed something like $150-$175/night I would have been very satisfied with this resort. But the cottages were run down, the fitness centre was dark and mouldy and the restaurant was dingy. Again,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Devika S
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Stayed here the last weekend of September. Not worth my travel zoo voucher at all. On booking a was promised a cabin, but when I checked in was given the smallest room possible. The building had a very musky smell. Sheets, pillow cases and towels all had stains on them. Could hear people talking in the halls and in their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tara G
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2014

We just returned from a weekend at Clevelands House and even though it rained almost the entire time there we had a great time. Having both been there many years ago my husband and I were very excited to return and enjoy the beautiful scenery at this time of year. The colours and the grounds were just as beautiful as...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ashleigh c
Ontario
Reviewed 5 October 2014

I ad always wanted to visit one of the age old Muskoka resorts my parents frequented as children themselves. Clevelands House is one of if not the oldest surviving stately resort of an era gone by. Guests in the 1800-early 1900 arrived by boat hence the very long pier. I had the opportunity last weekend to stay and enjoy and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dancerforhim
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review "dancerforhim". I would like to apologize for those items in your room that appeared in poor repair. All of our rooms, yours included, received new carpet and new linens this year as well as new mattresses only a few years ago. I did tour the rooms you have described and found two with greater wear...

Newmarket, Canada
Reviewed 4 October 2014

On September 28th and 29th, we stayed at the Clevelands House for a golf stay and play package (just one night). It was great value that we purchased through Travelzoo. The Rock is the most scenic golf course that I've ever played and one of the best ways to experience the true splendor of Muskoka. The Clevelands House provides the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank smartones
ClevesTeam, General Manager at Clevelands House, responded to this review

Thank you "smartones" for your feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed yourself overall. With regards to our linens, I can assure you that our standard in rooms is to have our duvets fully covered by appropriate sized sheets and new cottage-quilts we had made specifically for our rooms this summer. These quilts are beautiful but very easy...

Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 2 October 2014

pleasant stay at Cleveland's House, we were there just one night on a Travelzoo voucher. The first room assigned to us was very disappointing, as was the next one offered as an alternative. We were then offered a two bedroom cottage which was lovely. This worked well for our group as the amenities were much better than the first two...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joemacloughlin
Brantford
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We just got back from a beautiful weekend spent at Cleveland's House. We had a great price thru a travelzoo offer. We were a small group of couples and Jesse and Maria went out of their way to offer us a 2 bedroom cottage for 2 of the couples so that we could have some space for all of us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BettinaO
Burlington, Ontario
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We just spent the weekend (Sept 26&27, 2014) at Clevelands House in Minett Ontario. The grounds are beautiful but the buildings are all well past their prime. The sport facilities look great , the pools looked nice (but need a good cleaning. Food was very good but a little on the pricy side. I am glad we had a travel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank brianjs
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

I was MOST excited about going to Cleveland's House. It was the place my family and I had spent many happy family vacations. I was happy and dissapointed that nothing had changed. Literally. The rooms, which were top of line in the 80s were now out of date and somewhat shabby. Holes in the chairs, rust in the sinks, cracked,...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Sue O
London, Canada
Reviewed 28 September 2014

A picturesque setting, beautiful grounds, excellent food and a friendly, cheerful staff made our recent stay one of our best fall getaways. This resort has been in business since 1869, and while the main buildings are showing their age, somewhat, it is obvious that re-investment is taking place. Our Bayview Suite had newer beds, linens and carpeting. Our rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ParFore16

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (176)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
2:49
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minett
1.1 km away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
34.0 km away
Residence Inn Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
6.5 km away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Windermere House Resort & Hotel
31.4 km away
Taboo Muskoka Resort
Taboo Muskoka Resort
#3 of 8 in Gravenhurst
421 reviews
30.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole golf course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. They offer many different dining options from the newly renovated C.J. Minett's Kitchen and Tavern to Rock's on the Dock, serving gourmet burgers and shakes! Send the kids to their one-acre Day Camp for hours of learning and fun, the largest of its kind. For the grown-ups, the Adventure Program puts on over 120 events weekly! From bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Price Range: $126 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clevelands House 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clevelands House staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Clevelands House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in the lodge are very basic and old. There are no hair dryers in the room,”
 of 5 bubbles Wendi54, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“don't book here at all”
 of 5 bubbles InnActive, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you have kids pick the cottages just off the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles Mississaugamom51, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Request 1 of the 4 updated / renovated rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles BonVonage2009, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“cottages best”
 of 5 bubbles minnie401, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5