Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort

1000 Sooke Point Pl Unit 48B, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1L8 Canada
Traveller (212)
bathroom
Room & Suite (81)
Kitchen in 46C
Dining (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#1 of 5 cottages in Sooke
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
True Key Hotels & Resorts invites you to discover SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort, an exclusive vacation rental resort built cliffside above the Pacific Ocean and surrounded by the ancient forests of Vancouver Island in Sooke, BC. Here, tranquility meets luxury in every detail of our stunning Cottage Suites. Immerse yourself in unparalleled views, where the ocean and marine life become part your daily scenery. Featuring thoughtfully designed cottage suites, SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort offers four Cottage Suite room types, each crafted to cater to various preferences and needs. Whether seeking intimacy or spaciousness, every Cottage Suite boasts upscale amenities and furnishings, ensuring a luxurious stay. Plus, for those with beloved pets, pet-friendly accommodations are available, eliminating the need to part ways with your furry companion for a vacation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Hiking
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Street parking
Wifi
Washing machine
Room features
Additional bathroom
Dining area
Fireplace
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Tile / marble floor
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
146Reviews8Q+A41Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 113
  • 13
  • 12
  • 3
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hannah C wrote a review Oct 2020
Comox Valley, Canada12 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Suite was very clean and had all of the amenities you could think of. Kitchen was well stocked with all kinds of dishes for cooking or baking, plastic wrap/tin foil, olive oil & s+p. Huge soaker tub was a huge plus. Details in the suite were not missed when building even down to the chairs that swivel around for for the amazing view. 100% would recommend for anyone wanting an oceanfront experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Hi hannahluhjah_04, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. The soaker tubs are a great way to end the day after exploring the Sooke area. We hope to welcome you to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resorts in the near future. Best Regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oceanbabyblue wrote a review Jan 2022
Canada32 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at this resort many times at the 2-bedroom, 1-bedroom and studio units. all of them have beautiful ocean view. The view itself is like heaven on earth. And is the reason why we keep coming back.

This time it seems that the management team has changed. Service and cleanliness has improved, at least up to the standard. Zack is excellent! On our first night, the TV kept on turning off by itself every half an hour. Zack was very nice to find us a connection and brought it to us before he left for the day. During our stay, the hot water was lukewarm, and there's no hot water after a certain period of time. Zack sent a maintenance staff to fix it, and what we appreciated was that he arranged the staff to come in while we're away.

The temperature of the hot water seemed a little bit better after the maintenance,
but the water still turned cold after.

We stayed at the studio this time and the view was breathtaking. Except that there's construction going on right in front. Every morning at around 7am, we're waken up by heavy construction noise. If one is sensitive to noise early in the morning, better stay at other units.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 12 Jan 2022
Hi Oceanbabyblue, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Zack. We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you back to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liftielocks wrote a review Oct 2021
Kirkfield, Canada4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sooke Point Océan Cottage Resort was a remarkable experience. The resort is located about 10 km off the main highway perched on a high promontory over the ocean. Never to be confused with a cottage, units are modern, bright and beautifully appointed. The architecture is quite unique allowing each unit a sense of complete privacy. Units are uniquely offset so that windows and doors of each unit are virtually unobtrusive. The panoramic view presented from the floor to ceiling glass and balcony is breathtaking. Views give all manor of light levels, weather variations, sunrises, sunsets, marine life. The destination is enough in itself but the area is a hikers dream. Within 20 minutes trails that give magnificent forest, coastal, riverside hikes are all available. None will disappoint and all levels of difficulty exist.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: October 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 25 Oct 2021
Wow! Thank you very much for this wonderful review, Liftielocks! We agree, it's definitely the perfect spot to getaway, recharge, and relax. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at SookePoint and hope to welcome you again soon. Cheers, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marty wrote a review Apr 2021
5 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived our first impression was great. The cottages are all on a giant rock plateau high above the ocean. The units are quite expensive, but this was a special occasion for us and as sun-lovers we were looking forward to spending time in the sun on our deck with view of the ocean and surrounding islands.

However, as soon as we entered our unit our excitement quickly turned into disappointment. We were given unit 9B, which is facing north and there was never any sun at any time of the day. The unit is completely in the shade all day long. We felt deceived because when we picked our unit online, the website produced some photos of the supposed unit that clearly showed the sun shining on the deck.

Then when we sat down to look out those giant glass doors, we noticed that there wasn’t much of a view to enjoy either. Not because there wasn’t anything to see but rather because the glass doors and the glass panes on the deck were so dirty that all we could see was the foggy outline of the coast and mountains in the distance. Have a look at the attached photos to see what it looked like.

Of course we are quite aware that the glass would get dirty again on a windy day when the spray picks up, but for this price we would have expected all the glass to have been cleaned before we checked in. After all, the reason we booked this place was not for the flat-screen TVs or fancy appliances which we also have at home, but rather we paid for this place to get the spectacular view from a sunny deck. The least they could do before new guests arrive is to provide unobstructed access to the stunning view by cleaning the windows and the glass enclosure on the deck.
So, if you book this place, be aware that there are dozens of units and that you may get a shadow-unit like we did. And you also might want to bring along some glass cleaner and a squeegee so you can actually enjoy the view from behind the glass.

You should also be aware that there is no beach and no access to the ocean for launching kayaks. We brought our kayaks but had to drive elsewhere to get them into the water – can’t do that at the resort.

There is one more thing you should be aware of if you have pet or smoke allergies. They don’t allow pets or smoking in the units, but the units seem to be privately owned, which the owners then rent out through the resort. And the rules don’t seem to apply to the owners. We saw one of the owners smoking inside at the open balcony door. (But the wind always blows inside and so would the smoke). And another owner also had a dog in their unit that did not look like a service animal to us.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: If you like the sun then avoid the units facing north
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 12 Apr 2021
Hi Marty, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay at SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort. While we are pleased to hear that your first impression was great, we are disheartened that you were disappointed with your stay overall. SookePoint is a multi-phased development with a number of cottages becoming available for guest use each year. As our resort expands along the cliffside, the vantage point of the Pacific Ocean differs from each suite. While we cannot promise specific views, our team does our best accommodate guest requests. We are currently working on new photography so that we can include these views on our website and 3rd party websites. Yes, you are correct. We do not currently have beach or water access available directly at our resort. However, we are located 3-kilometers from East Sooke Regional Park where you can find a number of pocket beaches, rocky bays and tide pools to explore. We have passed on your review to our General Manager so he can speak to the housekeeping team about the cleanliness concerns you’ve raised. If you haven’t already done so, please contact our General Manager, Tony MacDonald. He will be more than happy to speak to you about your experience and work with you to remedy the situation. Tony can be reached at tmacdonald@truekey.ca. Warm Regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Caitlin L wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived we were very happy with the view from our suite. There was a spectacular view of the ocean with a sizeable deck. The excited quickly dissipated when we found several ants crawling on the floor. As we unpacked we also noticed several wood bugs crawling around. The suite was filled with mosquitos when we arrived which forced us to constantly swat and ultimately use bug spray inside our suite.
As our stay progressed we noticed the dishes that were supplied were dirty and the floor needed sweeping when we arrived. We were supplied with keurig coffee pods but only had a traditional coffee maker. Although minor details we were disappointed with the lack of detail especially after the price we paid and paying extra for “Covid cleaning procedures”.
By the end of our trip the bugs in our room were everywhere, climbing up the walls, in the bath tub, and all over the floor. When we brought this up to staff they seemed to be unconcerned and stated they already knew about the problem and that it was expected in remote areas such as their resort.
Overall we were extremely disappointed by the experience and would not recommend to friends or family. The price you pay does not reflect the experience you receive nor the expected quality. On top of this staff expect you to clean your own dishes when you leave and take out your own trash.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 18 Sept 2020
Hi Caitlyn, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ocean views from your suite, we are disheartened to hear that you were disappointed overall. We do encounter insects from time to time as SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort is located in a wilderness environment. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments perform regularly scheduled inspections to address any concerns that may arise. We have passed on your review to our General Manager so he can speak to the housekeeping team about the cleanliness pest concerns you’ve raised. We would have our General Manager contact you directly but the limited resources on this platform do not provide us enough information to determine who you are or how to contact you. If you haven’t already done so, please contact our General Manager, Tony MacDonald. He will be more than happy to speak to you about your experience and work with you to remedy the situation. Tony can be reached at tmacdonald@truekey.ca. We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay, and hope that you will return in the future to let us provide you the exceptional experience we strive to provide all of our guests. Warm Regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Markus wrote a review July 2020
Nanaimo, Canada2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is perched on a rocky cliff on a point overlooking the ocean. It is somewhat remote so ensure you are stocked up on groceries before the 35 minute drive out. The location is spectacular but it looses its lustre due to the construction on site, including fencing, temporary wires and sewer lines above ground, storage containers etc. Unfortunately there is not much to do on site since not even the ocean is accessible. I wish there was an outdoor patio, hot tub, bbq common area etc, but maybe that’s planned for the future. I note that the building (which are 2-4 stories) are concrete walls but the floors are definitely wood. Our upstairs neighbours were waking us up with their heavy footsteps every morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Shop in Sooke for groceries before driving out. It’s about 35 min from downtown sooke.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 8 July 2020
Hi markussU2048IQ, Thank you very much for taking the time to write this detailed review! You are right, SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort is located 30 minutes from Sooke, so it is recommended to stock up on groceries prior to your arrival. We recommend visiting East Sooke Regional Park, located right next to the resort - it offers up to 50km of trails to explore. You will also find pocket beaches, rocky bays, and tide pools as well as spectacular views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the Olympic Mountains. There is also a number of additional experiences and activities in Sooke that can be found on our website. The resort is still under active construction Monday - Frida,y as the developer builds additional units as well as planned future amenities. We hope that you had an enjoyable stay, and hope to welcome you again soon. Warm Regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhonda H wrote a review Oct 2022
Surrey, Canada23 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We, were a group of 4 (2 couples) stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, rooms were good size and bathrooms as well. The beds were Kingsize and very comfortable, the pillows were too large, need sleeping pillows.
The kitchen was so, so stocked for cooking, but the frying pans were terrible...... and with no scrubbers ....... what a task.

Now the VIEW was amazing, we had some lovely evening sunsets.

SookePoint Ocean Cottages are down a long and winding road, make sure you bring everything you need, no little shop on site, so come prepared.
They do have a gym you can use daily, for a cost $$$
I think once the amenities are in place, a pool, hot tub and store, you will want to spend a day in, but hopefully you don't get charged to use - should be part of the cost to stay there??
There is hiking from here and our guys said it was decent, make sure you pay attention to the terrain and where your going.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We were on the second floor facing full west, sunsets were awesome!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 3 Oct 2022
Hi Ronnie1962, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy some lovely evening sunsets in your 2-bedroom cottage suite. We proudly operate a short-term vacation rental destination and our off-the-beaten-path location allows for a secluded ocean getaway. Our office is open daily for both complementary and retail purchases for room replenishments. If you are planning to visit us at SookePoint, it is definitely recommended to pick up your groceries and supplies beforehand. There is a very small convenience store along the way, about 15 minutes from the Resort, and a larger grocery store about 30 minutes away in the middle of the Village of Sooke. We hope that you had an enjoyable experience and look forward to our next opportunity to welcome you to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort at a future date. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
soszust wrote a review July 2021
Elk Point, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this place for the beautiful views and because it could accommodate 5 people. We paid $489 per night for this “resort” but basically you are on your own. You get a few pods for the coffee machine but after that you have to purchase your own and when the nearest store is 20 minutes away that is not an option, there was no maid service because of COVID even though most restrictions were off by then, we had to wash the floor when we got there as the bottoms of our feet were black after walking on them barefooted, no ice machine on the property and the ice machine in our place didn’t work, you had to take your garbage and recyclables out, if you needed towels you had to wash your own, there was no dish cloth to wash dishes with and just a little bit of watered down dish soap. We went to the front desk for a comforter for the pull out bed and for a dish cloth and to see about getting the ice machine in our fridge looked at but nothing was done. If you wanted to use their small gym you had to pay $8.This is all things you take for granted at a resort. We could have put up with all this if we didn’t wake up to fog every morning which didn’t lift till till the afternoon except of course the morning we had to leave and it was so cold there. We didn’t bring any warm clothing because I had checked the forecast before we left and it was supposed to be warm in Sooke. This place was only 2-3 km from Sooke as the crow flies but what a difference in temps. Obviously nothing can be done about that but I just wish we would have received info on this so we could have prepared better. I don’t want to end this review without mentioning the positives. Our cottage was well decorated, the beds were great, it was well furnished, the kitchen was adequately stocked, it had two fireplaces and a TV in every room. The pullout bed was a good one.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katie Wallace, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 7 July 2021
Dear soszust, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you taking the time to share the details about your experience at our Resort and am disappointed to hear that you found our rooms to be less than exemplary. I will be sharing your feedback with our team so we can improve upon our services for all future guests. For fully-equipped condo-style resorts like ours, it is standard for guests to bring their supplies and remove garbage/recycling upon check-out. You are correct though, our Resort is in a remote location, which we communicate on our website and on our confirmation and pre-arrival letters. We always recommend that our guests bring groceries and supplies before checking-in as the nearest store is about a 30-minute drive into Sooke. I would very much like to speak with you in more detail about your experience and would welcome a phone call at 250-664-6715. I hope that you had some positive experiences while staying at our Resort and we are happy that you found the room enjoyable. Warmest Regards, Tony MacDonald, General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica C wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
don't like leaving negative reviews. In this case, since I believe this business is not adequately setting expectations for potential guests, I wanted to provide some insight that will hopefully inform others as they plan their vacations.
As noted on their website, this resort is under construction.
Currently on the website: "As the construction proceeds, guests may hear periodic blasting and drilling, equipment and experience occasional dust from construction"
On the email we received at time of booking: "Please note, there is some construction taking place at the resort from Monday to Friday, very little of which will create any disturbance inside most cottages and suites"
As such, the extent of the construction was very surprising to my family when we arrived for our stay. Not all cottages will be impacted equally, but the resort management is fully booking out the property and are booking people into rooms that are right in the middle of a construction zone. Unfortunately for us, this meant:
1. Being woken up by construction noise at 7AM
2. Having our beautiful ocean view obstructed by construction sights (see photos)
3. No option of being moved to another room since the resort was sold out
Note: If you are unhappy about the construction, do not expect the staff/manager to be able to do anything about it. We eventually had to speak to the True Key resort president (an understanding and pleasant man) in order to obtain limited compensation for what we felt was misleading marketing and communication related to the construction.
Other warnings:
1. When we booked via their website, we received an email confirmation but it did not contain the rate we booked the rooms at (therefore there was no record of agreed upon pricing)
2. Our checkout was done online; we did not receive an invoice with final charges via email and had to call and specifically request it. In the end, the rate which we recall booking at was different than what was charged, however there is no way for us to prove this b/c of #1
3. This resort charges for use of the shampoo/conditioner/body wash that is in the bathrooms. This is apparently posted somewhere in the room, but was not obvious enough for us to take note of. They also charge for coffee pods.
4. At present, there are no amenities at this property other than a gym. Do not expect to be able to walk around and enjoy the surroundings, it's a construction zone.
Despite seeing the potential in this place (when the construction is finally done), our experience has been so negative we will never return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rachel Aylesworth, Marketing at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 4 Aug 2022
Dear J&G, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us both here and with several of our managers directly as well as the president of the company. We work very hard to provide exceptional guest experiences at SookePoint and we value all feedback whether it’s positive or negative. As a result of our discussions with you and because we valued your feedback, you were provided a significant discount for your stay. Because we took your feedback as constructive criticism, we agreed internally to cease charging for some of the bath and coffee amenities that we provide a starter stock of in each cottage. As we discussed with you, the rates at the resort already take into consideration the fact that there is active construction on the site. We go out of our way to ensure that the construction activity that is taking place is disclosed on our website, our confirmation emails, and all other points at which we communicate with our valued guests. Even with the construction, each cottage has an uninterrupted view, and privacy, and there is a tremendous investment in sound insulation in the cottages. The vast majority of our guests have not been concerned with the construction because of this and our proactive communication on the matter. You are correct, the resort is running at almost full capacity. Even so, we were able to honor your request to have your two cottages located close together. Moving two rooms when operating at capacity is not always possible. We don’t recall you bringing up the need for your rental rate in the confirmation email but since you did here, we are going to look into this and see if we can amend our processes to address this concern for future guests. Thank you again for your feedback and as we indicated when we spoke, we’re hopeful that you can accept our apologies for falling short of expectations during your recent visit. Warm regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry_Hobbis wrote a review Sept 2020
Sooke, Canada9 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This reset could easily be a “5” Plus. The site, the lodgings and all the bells and whistles that are contained in each unit are first class. I’m going to give a 3.5 Star rating. The “Property Management” company will drag the resort to even lower ratings. First, promised but not delivered follow up on details after getting our money. Second, with lots of units available they booked the two of us right above two families with very loud young children. We could not enjoy the view, the sounds not the peace of the sea on the balcony. Third, the adults all smoked and the smoke and smell rose to our balcony. If you do come to the resort make sure the “management staff” pay attention to your needs. It’s your money!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tony MacDonald, General Manager at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Responded 30 Sept 2020
Dear Barry, Thank you for taking the time to detail your experience and we appreciate the candid remarks. We are disheartened to hear your stay at the resort was marred by other guests behaviour. The cottage you were assigned was based on the available space for a pet friendly space as you requested to accommodate your six year old schnauzer. We are glad you felt there was a lack of intrusion from the other guests in general as we were nearly full, so not lots of space as you noted. Still, we expect all of our guests to behave and follow our rules. Our resort is 100% non-smoking, and this includes the balconies. We advise this to all the guests. When some chose not to follow our rules, we have staff available to correct the offending guest's behaviour so the shared access to the ocean can be enjoyed by all. We would have loved to be advised if you were being negatively impacted by another guests' poor behaviour and correct this for you in the moment. Again, we apologize if you feel there was a lack of follow-up in any communication. You booked the reservation on our website and a confirmation was sent. We sent a pre-arrival welcome message to you in advance of you coming. We welcomed you at our check-in reception and completed your registration in person, then sent you a post-stay survey to gauge how your visit was. If there was more details you were seeking, We would love to know what details or follow-up you felt would have enhanced your stay. We certainly hope you had some positive moments in your visit that allowed you to relax and unwind. We would love an opportunity to welcome all three of you back to SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort in future. Warm regards, Tony MacDonald General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie M asked a question Oct 2020
Edmonton, Canada7 contributions7 helpful votes
Are the B suites the middle suites? And how many stairs to get to that at 48B?
Answer from V9690NAjan
Vancouver Island, Canada12 contributions6 helpful votes
B cottages have about 20 steps ..C Cottages 2 steps and A 27 Steps ... and yes B is the middle suite
edmfam2015 asked a question Feb 2020
Edmonton, Canada1 contribution2 helpful votes
What is the construction noise like during the weekdays?
Answer from TrueKeyHotels
26 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi eddfam2015, please be assured that our contractors work very hard to create minimum disruption to our valued guests. If you have any questions or concerns regarding the construction, please connect with one of our Guest Service Agents. Best Regards, Rachel Aylesworth Social Media & Marketing Coordinator
Amytoes asked a question Sept 2019
Seattle, Washington4 contributions
Do you allow dogs?
Answer from TrueKeyHotels
26 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi! Yes, SookePoint Ocean Cottage Resort allows dogs. If you contact the resort directly, they can let you know all the info :)
Don E asked a question July 2019
Helena, Montana40 contributions16 helpful votes
Is there a swimming pool?
paula t asked a question July 2019
Port Orchard, Washington789 contributions251 helpful votes
Are there steps to/from the units?? There is a warning re steps???
Answer from TrueKeyHotels
26 contributions3 helpful votes
Yes, most of the suites at our Resort have stairs (some have up to 40 to get down to the entrances).
luv2trav2017 wrote a tip Nov 2023
New York City, New York17 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay elsewhere"
Read full review
gardentourgirl wrote a tip Oct 2023
London, Canada164 contributions78 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring everything you will need with you."
Read full review
Barbara Richards wrote a tip Sept 2023
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take a lot of pictures."
Read full review
Gojart K wrote a tip Aug 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Buy groceries before getting to the resort. The closest store is around 25km from the cottage."
Read full review
tgiustino wrote a tip Aug 2023
White Rock, Canada78 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to shop for groceries prior to arrival - the kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need to prepare & serve whatever you bring. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Sooke area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$295 - AU$499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandVictoria Capital Regional DistrictSooke
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SOOKEPOINT OCEAN COTTAGE RESORT (AU$295): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Sooke, Vancouver Island) - Photos of Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Nearby attractions include East Sooke Regional Park (3.2 km), Whiffin Spit (2.7 km), and Sooke Region Museum & Visitor Centre (5.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Route 14 Sooke, West Coast Grill, and The Stick In The Mud's Roastoreum.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Sookepoint Ocean Cottage Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Sooke HotelsSooke Hotel Deals
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars