Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas

292 Crescent Rd E, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 0A5 Canada
the second nice room with sleeper within the family suite
Traveller (76)
King Size Bed with fine linens
Room & Suite (29)
Lovely woodwork in the Sapphire Dining Room
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 9 hotels in Qualicum Beach
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Qualicum Beach along with Butlers Restaurant keeps to its original grace of 1912 and offers luxurious nightly accommodations, rich in tradition and history. Butlers cuisine is a reflection of the elegance that surrounds the patrons of our classic and stylish eatery.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Game room
Hiking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Laundry service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English

Location

292 Crescent Rd E, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 0A5 Canada
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Qualicum Airport
Alberni Valley Regional Airport
36.2 km
See all flights
194Reviews5Q+A72Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 37
  • 9
  • 6
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
jongage wrote a review July 2021
Victoria, Canada92 contributions84 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
There's a lot to like about Crown Mansion. Charming old (1914) building full of history. Bing Crosby and John Wayne used to stay there when they would come up in their yachts and fish off the shore. The gardens also back onto the Heritage Forest, the only forest with old growth trees inside a town. The forest is lovely and you can have a pleasant half hour to an hour walk under the huge trees. The rooms are well appointed and the beds very comfortable. The staff were all courteous and helpful and responded quickly to any concerns.
We also liked the restaurant and ate there twice. Good food and good service and our server, Steve, was one of the best in the business. Professional, personable, highly competent and knowledgeable, he was extremely helpful. We were wondering how to have dinner and still make it to our theatre on time and he suggested pre-ordering dinner so it would be ready when we arrived. Worked perfectly.
Of course there were things not to our taste. Our bedroom windows are unscreened and basically don't open (or at least stay open) and the air conditioning/heater unit is a bit loud. The other problem is breakfast. They don't serve breakfast and eating in the room is problematic as there's just a very small table and a really small fridge. You have to go out for breakfast which is fine but not our preference.
Still lovely place and overall good experience and we will definitely stay there again in non summer months.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Yasinski, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 25 July 2021
Thank you very much for your excellent comments. Definitely, we are providing the best of services to our clients, also including attention to your comments about the windows and air conditioning in the room. Due to the situation that caused the pandemic, we saw the need to modify certain services that we know are appreciated by our clients. In the future, we will be considered the breakfast service. We look forward to see you soon in our Mansion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lander1986 wrote a review Dec 2020
Toronto, Canada11 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for two nights at the hotel and had a Greta time. Very helpful and friendly staff upon arrival. The hotel is in a great location for lots of hikes and great views. I would highly recommend this to anyone traveling in the area
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Yasinski, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 2 Jan 2021
Thank you so much for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in the beautiful surrounding that the Qualicum Beach area has to offer. Hope to see you again :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
vbrother wrote a review Sept 2021
Abbotsford, Canada834 contributions391 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros:

Crown Mansion is in a great location across from the beach. It is really quiet and peaceful

The beds are really comfortable and we slept very well

The room was very clean and nicely decorated like an old mansion

There was a lovely deck that were able to sit on and see the golf course and ocean

Cons:

You cannot check in before the check in time

There was no desk in the room so we had to either knell or balance the computer on our laps

No continental breakfast because of covid

Although the hotel is beautiful it did not have a warm welcoming feel to it. Very impersonal
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John H wrote a review June 2020
Victoria, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely property, very peaceful. No cooler for drinks, though staff did try to help by bringing ice often. Lighting in the room was dim with no place to just sit and read. Over all felt that the price did not match value, even with COVID restrictions lifting hotel could have done more to make up for lack of amenities.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Yasinski, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 26 Sept 2021
Thank you very much for your review. We take the reviews seriously and constantly strive to improve where we can and maintaining what we know to be guest favourites.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Quest03750888473 wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at the Crown Mansion Hotel many times and always enjoyed our stay. It is an old home near the village of Qualicum that has been converted into a hotel and suites. We have stayed in all the rooms (except room 212) and although things are a bit quirky, it is always quiet. This last trip we were booked into room 212, it is called a "suite". Okay, it has two bathrooms and an old pullout couch that no one would ever want to sleep on. The big draw back to room 212 is that it is on the same side of the building as the very large air conditioning unit that cools the whole building. It is on 24 hours a day. Our windows rattled, the bed vibrated, the sound was so invasive, I had to turn on the ceiling fan to drown out the roar! Very disappointing. So fair warning. Next time we stay (and we will) we will be sure to book one of the ocean view rooms away from the monster air conditioner.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Book one of the Ocean View Rooms, not Room 212!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guide304530 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We just stayed 3 nights in room 205, Which seemed to be a beautiful garden view villa at first glance. It was clean and spacious, with a balcony overlooking Heritage Forest. Unfortunately, we could not use our balcony or leave the balcony door open for fresh air as the occupant below is spent all 3 days outside on her patio smoking, which filled our room with cigarette smoke each time. Since there are non-smoking signs all over the room and property, including on the patio door, we thought advising the management would take care of the issue. Unfortunately that’s not the case, as we were told the same rules do not apply to those that own their suites. After 2 calls and an unanswered email, we gave up and even tried to find somewhere else to stay. The customer service was nonexistent and we would never return.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Giesbrecht, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 29 Aug 2020
Thank you for your comments and noticing the beautifully appointed room which we are very proud of. . Unfortunately we fell short on rectifying the issue with a owner/tenant second hand smoke lingering up to your patio area. This has never been an issue in the past so this presents itself as new problem we had to deal with. The Villas are owned by individual strata owner and they are to adhere to the council bylaws, we have emailed the owner directly to speak to their tenant about this issue , we had dug deeper and found that there is no smoking permitted on common decks( which every deck is classified as) I do not think this tenant was aware and honestly we and other were not clear as well. So I will thank you for bringing this to our attention. With that said, Hotel management and its staff are not able to enforced these rules ( only in our villas that the hotel owns) , it must be enforced by the council and home owner. We hope you'll give us another chance and come back and enjoy the beauty and charm of Crown Mansion...never say never:) Kind Regards Michelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Janis E wrote a review Sept 2021
Maple Ridge, Canada15 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I really enjoyed our three night stay at the lovely and historic Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel in Qualicum Beach. Our tastefully decorated and comfortable one bedroom villa had two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, and a private veranda. It was so peaceful and relaxing at the hotel with beautifully landscaped grounds backing on to a 50 acre Heritage Old Growth Forest. We spent an hour walking on the trails through the spectacular park. One night we even saw a pair of deer grazing on the lush grass in front of our villa. Dinner at the Sapphire Room at the hotel was first rate all around with a delicious meal, great service and ambiance. We will definitely return to this very special and unique inn.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of parking and a peaceful place
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Yasinski, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 26 Sept 2021
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and uniqueness of the Mansion and it's property. Our guests are encouraged to experience not only their accomodation but all that surrounds it! We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie948 wrote a review Feb 2020
Campbell River, Canada43 contributions15 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First time at the Crown Mansion Boutique it exceeded our expectations! Michelle and her staff were amazing it shows how much pride they take in the hotel. We arrived on a sunny day and took advantage of the trails, you don’t have to leave the hotel to enjoy yourself! The room was breathtaking, stepping in was like going back in time. Pure elegance! You will not regret your stay here we look forward to coming back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MarcLeblanceh wrote a review May 2022
Vancouver, Canada46 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a wonderful hotel overlooking a forest one side and over a small golf course to the sea and Gulf Islands

The furnishings in the large room are superb. This was popular with old Hollywood stars like Rita Hathaway and John Wayne.
It remains a jewel by the sea.

Our elegant waitress was flawless and charming.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Oceanview is great but forestview is amazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Michelle Yasinski, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 6 May 2022
Thank you so much for your review, Marc! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and dinner! It was a pleasure to have such wonderful guests and we hope you stay with us again soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bob B wrote a review July 2020
20 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked two rooms through Booking .com WE found one room to be ok. One without a window. The room without the window had a non-working mini cooler. When mentioning our concerns to management. They said tough you used Booking. com, therefore, we do not care about your concerns. WoW
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: try another hotel attitude here stinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Giesbrecht, General Manager at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Responded 19 July 2020
Dear Bob B We do care about your concerns and we take our guests constructive criticism seriously. The rooms you booked thought a third party are our least expensive rooms in our very small ( 11 room ) boutique hotel. The room you stayed in has a lovely large bathroom with 2 very big windows, the bathroom door is frosted leading to the bedroom. I concur that the bedroom does not have a window but the room itself certainly does. When you book with a 3rd party it is very hard for us to convey what kind of room you have booked and we can't even upgrade you if you were disappointed . As a unique property in a historic mansion that is 107 years old our rooms do have some quirks and some interesting designs.We love to hear directly from our guests about any concerns or questions that they may have about their stay so they are fully aware of the type of room they have booked or intend on booking. We are sorry you did not have a positive experience and we hope that others reading this review will call us directly to book. Warmest Regards Michelle
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Brenda S asked a question Sept 2018
Langley, British Columbia, Canada91 contributions10 helpful votes
do the garden view rooms have a tv?
Answer from franklinaz
Buenos Aires, Argentina33 contributions48 helpful votes
Yes.
Answer from Drew G
Surrey, Canada31 contributions11 helpful votes
As I recall, there was a small fridge or what I call bar fridge, but I do not recall any hotel that I stayed at recently that had a kettle. I would ask the hotel directly
Kim S asked a question Sept 2016
Vancouver, Canada108 contributions60 helpful votes
Has anyone stayed in the pool house suite? I can't find any pictures or much info online.
Answer from Ladellea
Tacoma, Washington16 contributions9 helpful votes
Sorry - I did not stay in the pool house suite. I can say the pool house suite cost more than the villa garden suite, which were gorgeous and felt brand new. I would say that bodes well for the quality of the room. I can say it is a ground level accommodation, that abuts the gravel parking lot on one side and the gardens on the other side. The former pool was filled in, to create the gardens. Good luck on finding interior details of the pool house! There are two exterior pictures on the website, but no interior to my knowledge. I would recommend you call the hotel. The woman who runs the front desk is very friendly, so she would likely be willing to email you a few quick photos.
BcOldsport asked a question July 2014
bc8 contributions3 helpful votes
does this hotel have a room(s) with 2 double beds ?
Answer from KevinHoff14
Kaslo, Canada17 contributions3 helpful votes
Please refer to the website for current hotel details. Thank you!
BcOldsport asked a question July 2014
bc8 contributions3 helpful votes
the daily rate for a double bed room with a water view
Answer from crownmansion
Qualicum Beach, Canada
All of our rooms have king size beds. Up-to-date rates are available on our Crown Mansion website page! We look forward to hosting you soon!
MarcLeblanceh wrote a tip May 2022
Vancouver, Canada46 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Oceanview is great but forestview is amazing"
Read full review
Janis E wrote a tip Sept 2021
Maple Ridge, Canada15 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of parking and a peaceful place"
Read full review
Quest03750888473 wrote a tip Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book one of the Ocean View Rooms, not Room 212!"
Read full review
Bob B wrote a tip July 2020
20 contributions6 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"try another hotel attitude here stinks"
Read full review
BluetoGrey wrote a tip Oct 2019
Victoria, Canada257 contributions14 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"210 has beautiful central views."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Qualicum Beach area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$277 - AU$349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaVancouver IslandQualicum Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CROWN MANSION BOUTIQUE HOTEL & VILLAS (AU$277): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Which popular attractions are close to Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Nearby attractions include Heritage Forest (0.3 km), The Old Schoolhouse Arts Centre (1.1 km), and Beach Front Park (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bistro 694, The Sapphire Room, and Q Burger.
Does Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas have airport transportation?
Yes, Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Milner Gardens & Woodland (1.3 km).
Is Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Qualicum Beach HotelsQualicum Beach Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars