We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SunSquare Montecasino

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
SunSquare Montecasino
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

762 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 742: English reviews
Start your review of SunSquare Montecasino
 Click to rate
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Traveling in Africa can be a little worrying but Montecasino complex is really safe and has fantastic facilities. Hotel is very modern and comfortable and the rooms are good and practical. My only complaint is that the room does not have an iron or ironing board, you can get one from housekeeping but it should be standard in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking time to review our property. I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Fourways. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We don't often get to have a night out to ourselves, but when we do we don't want to be hassled with bad service and a room that doesn't live up to expectations. Where I can give this hotel credit is their complaints resolution. Yes, offering a night stay to make up for a previous night's stay where u already...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louisdcree
Gauteng
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most friendly and helpful receptionist ever, Food at Breakfast was beyond good and great value for money and service in both places attentive and efficient. Room itself was well equipped and comfortable. I hope to be back for a longer visit in the future

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank V9675PTvanessar
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear PTvanessar, Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. Its definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let the receptionist know that she made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The reservation was made online and was hassle free. We arrived at the hotel at 12h30 and the receptionist checked if it was possible for us to go to the room. Whilst we waited, we went into the lounge area of Aarya and the bartender was very courteous and approached us immediately to check if we would like to have...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reshmi R
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Reshmi, Thank you for your kind comments. I will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience.We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Overall we are so happy with the overall experience. The service was amazing, our stay was so comfortable and the breakfasts were exceptional. Very happy with what we got. Thank you so much Sunsquare, we will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun A
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Shaun, Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel.I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay and I'm looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.

Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a lovely hotel and warm feeling. Would never visit another hotel when at Monte Casino. Directly on the premises, and walking distance from casino and all restaurants. A definite leisure holiday!!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anriv2017
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Anriv, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that we will be your top choice when you visit Montecasino. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff and food are excellent and they met my expectations. There remains a gap when making reservations as it takes long and the gentleman lacked proper couching in discussions.The initial response response was to turn down my enquiry until I insisted that my intended business was in surroundings.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z504IMcharlesg
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Mcharlesg, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our reservations department did not meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be used in training our staff. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Still trying to work out what a 3 star really means.. To take this hotel on merit, 3 stars means spotless, modern, service driven but tiny rooms with a lack of personal privacy with regards to loo and shower.. I'd rather have less of the former and a sprinkling more of the latter

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidgreen69
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear David Green, Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you had a good stay overall. However I am sorry to hear that our room layout did not meet your expectations. Thank you and look forward to seeing you soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We decided to stay over the night of our 35th Wedding Anniversary celebration and can say only good things about our experience ...welcoming, staff friendliness, room (recently refurbished) make-up (rose petals, complimentary Champagne and Nougat), full breakfast and check-in/out all met out expectations ... thank you SunSquare Montecsino ..

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank richardmcl2016
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Happy 35th anniversary to you and your wife!! I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us. we hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones.

Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This remains one of our favourite weekend breakaways. Everything is fantastic, including the location, service, food and attention to detail always exceed our expectations. Both management and staff are exceptionally professional and are always eager to provide service of the highest quality. Can be strongly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pierres43
Bernie H, General Manager at SunSquare Montecasino, responded to this review

Dear Pierres, Thank you for giving us the perfect rating and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. Take care!

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fourways
0.3 km away
The Palazzo Montecasino
The Palazzo Montecasino
#1 of 7 in Fourways
955 reviews
0.2 km away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
2.5 km away
Indaba Hotel
Indaba Hotel
#4 of 7 in Fourways
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
The Maslow
The Maslow
#7 of 49 in Sandton
773 reviews
5.1 km away
The Oasis Boutique Hotel
9.9 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fourways, north of Johannesburg and only 20 minutes from Sandton, is home to the famous Montecasino Entertainment Complex offering a variety of entertainment options including theatres, movies, shopping, restaurants, ten-pin bowling and a world class casino. Integral to this entertainment mecca is the contemporary SunSquare hotel. Each of the 179 rooms sports a funky design and all the modern conveniences that today’s travellers could possibly need. An Italian-style piazza and restaurant adds that extra something special to the hotel which is the only place to stay for those wanting to be at the centre of all the action. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SunSquare Montecasino

Address: Montecasino Boulevard | Sandton, Fourways 2055, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Fourways
Price Range: $220 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunSquare Montecasino 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your SunSquare Montecasino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Fourways
Sunsquare Montecasino Johannesburg
Sunsquare Montecasino Hotel Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Springfield, Ohio
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SunSquare Montecasino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good, it depends on what type of view you would like to have.”
 of 5 bubbles marcmusdu, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Baggywrinkle75, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont get a room near to Aarya restaurant. Very noisy in that area.”
 of 5 bubbles wendyb4146, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“rooms on the third floor”
 of 5 bubbles 921patg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“High Up Floors don't have food smells from restaurant and square facing has nice view of Montecasino Piazza”
 of 5 bubbles SinclairNVanessaL, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5