We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Showing 439: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

The staff was okay. They were pleasant but not all that friendly with the welcome home feel. Needed a room for six and the price was good. Pool was a bit outdated but they try to keep it clean. Bacon, egg and waffle for breakfast in a larger room. Standard fare.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GuyIn6A
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your review about your stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are happy you found the room to be suitable for your party of 6, we do offer a variety of room types that can accommodate 1 to 10 guests. We have recently moved our breakfast room over...

Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My wife and I rented a loft suite for one night while in town on business. We chose a loft suite because the Best Western overlooks Discovery Passage and Quadra Island. There was a full moon that night so we were not disappointed in our choice. The room was small and dated with a narrow staircase to two beds in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your stay. I recall the full moon as well that evening and it was a stunning site from the hotel, the loft view would have been even better. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy the amenities such as pool and hot tub and are even happier to hear that our hot...

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here. I appreciated the early morning continental breakfast, and the clean quiet rooms. Parking was a little scarce, but the staff was willing to accommodate any size vehicle that showed up. The in room wifi was a little slow, but it was there if I needed it. I would definitely recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank islandsweety76
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast offered and that even though parking was difficult the night of your stay, our staff was able to help you find an adequate spot. For guests that have...

Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Older property but appears to have been updated recently with modern furniture. Very comfortable bed and a great breakfast selection! We had a small suite which was convenient as I had to be out for meetings before my wife was ready to get up, so my getting dressed and ready did not disturb her. A pool is onsite but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William C
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have more time on your next visit to use the pool and hot tub which are great amenities we have at the hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and yes, for walking distance to restaurants it is just the pub located adjacent to...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel was awful, paper thin walls, parties feeling like they were in your living room. Beds were awful and lumpy. It was really hot in the rooms and you couldn't adjust the temp properly. Don't. Other with this place, there are way nicer places close by. I knew someone staying at Heron's Landing at the same time and it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MauiFamily2014
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

We apologize you did not enjoy your stay with us but thank you for taking the time to review the issues you had so we may have the chance to correct these problems for future guests. Should you wish to speak with me regarding your stay or how we may be able to welcome you back to hopefully show you...

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Best Western Austrian Chalet in Campbell River. Amber and her staff make you feel right at home. With the amenities that are available, the ocean front views. and the staff make for very warm and welcomed stay

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. As always it was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! All the best from the entire staff at the Best Western Austrian Chalet.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 November 2016

We came here lured by them having the "best ratings in town". It shouldn't have.... Even though it is a nice place in a great location and all the renovations/remodellings on the surface they have done are really done well, this is a very old building and it shows: Dated heating system and bathroom facilities, windows that do not block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have completed...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed there for one night with group of friends in one of loft units. The room can have 6 guests, but in my opinion four is maximum number of guests which can stay there comfortably. There were 5 of us, and it was a bit tight. Also there were only 3 sets of towels. Lady at front desk couldn't give...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank big_blue_heron
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay, especially our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. Travelling with larger groups we do have other room options available besides the two queen loft with sofa bed, perhaps our Lighthouse Suite or our Managers suite would better suit your...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Nice motel, lovely views of the ocean. We had a very comfortable room on the ground level. Everything was clean and comfy. The free breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. Good overall value for the price! Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kbuter
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Best Western Austrian Chalet. We are so happy that you found our accommodations clean and comfy and the staff friendly! We have a great crew here so we are delighted you thought so as well. Great to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary breakfast and we look forward to your next visit...

Duncan, Canada
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The room was great the bedroom was in the loft nice king size bed. The room was very clean and smelled so fresh, the wi-fi was slow but we did let them know in the office. we had a good time this was our 3 time staying.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ginas220
BWAustrianChalet, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet, responded to this review

Welcome Back! We are happy you choose to stay with us again and on your anniversary getaway. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am glad you enjoyed your king loft room. I apologize that our WiFi was not up to standard and this is an issue we are looking into. We look forward to...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (122)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell River hotels
3.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
248 reviews
3.1 km away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
300 reviews
0.1 km away
Heron's Landing Hotel
Heron's Landing Hotel
#5 of 16 in Campbell River
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Anchor Inn & Suites
Anchor Inn & Suites
#12 of 16 in Campbell River
176 reviews
11.9 km away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
48 reviews
6.7 km away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visitors to Campbell River Hotels are bound to be overjoyed for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet as the site of their next vacation or business trip. They will experience the outstanding quality standards recently confirmed by the hotel's achievement of the Best Western Director's Award which recognizes them as scoring in the top 20 percent of all 2400 North American properties. Guests will find the commitment of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet to meet their needs unmatched by other Campbell River Hotels or elsewhere. Guests can sit back in their rooms, our garden area, or huddle near the fireplace in the lobby to relax. They are sure to enjoy a spectacular ocean view of Discovery Passage, Georgia Strait and the Pacific Ocean. Meanwhile, their hosts will be glad to fill them in on the many leisure time possibilities in or near Campbell River, BC. The seemingly endless list of recreational activities, includes golfing, salmon fishing, grizzly bear watching, kayaking, whale watching, skiing, mountain/rock climbing and horseback riding. Visitors can also enjoy our fitness facilities, pool, and hot tub or catch up on their favourite movies on our satellite televisions. Whatever accommodation they selected from the wide variety of loft rooms, suites, or kitchenettes, they will rest comfortably knowing that their friendly and knowledgeable staff is eager and ready to serve them to make their stay in their Campbell River Hotel a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet

Address: 462 Island Hwy S, Campbell River, British Columbia V9W 1A5, Canada (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Austrian Chalet)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Campbell River
Price Range: $104 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Austrian Chalet Hotel Campbell River
Best Western Campbell River
Campbell River Best Western
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet Campbell River, Vancouver Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Victoria, Canada
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try the free breakfast”
40Dean, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The view of the water from the loft suites is well worth the extra charge.”
tomwL1271GR, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the ground floor facing the ocean and despite the highway being there, it did not disturb us.”
176williamc, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had a great view, very quite, A/C was not noise.”
Ginas220, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on top floor”
theworkingpoor, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5