We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sandman Hotel Castlegar

    1944 Columbia Ave, Castlegar, British Columbia V1N 2W7, Canada
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    -- / -- / --Check In -- / -- / --Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    USD 123*
    View Deal
    Traveller (6)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Overview
    • Excellent15%
    • Very good28%
    • Average33%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible12%
    Travellers talk about
    “hot tub” (14 reviews)
    “nice lobby” (4 reviews)
    “pool area” (8 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Suites
    Fitness centre
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Pets Allowed
    Wheelchair Access
    Business Centre
    Dry Cleaning
    Self-Serve Laundry
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct.30 Oct.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 123
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 124
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 124
      View Deal
    View all 11 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (128)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 127 reviews

    Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We stayed in this hotel on Sunday, September 24th, for one night on our business trip to the town. We have booked this hotel because its room rate was the most expensive in Castlegar; if you don't know the area, you have to avoid inexpensive...More

    Thank StephieNam
    Response from GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel CastlegarResponded 2 weeks ago

    Thank you very much StephieNam for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, also glad to hear that our staff we helpful and the room was to your liking. We look forward to you staying again with us in the future.

    Reviewed 13 September 2017

    We stayed at the Sandman Inn in Castlegar, B.C. on Sunday, Sept. 10/17. We were upgraded to a king room which was appreciated. The two upholstered chairs in the room were so dirty we couldn't make ourselves sit in them. The carpeting was a dark...More

    Thank evdd2017
    Response from GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel CastlegarResponded 14 September 2017

    Thank you evdd2017 for your review. It is disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are constantly looking at improving the hotel and all guest comments are important to us. There is no excuse for the issues you encountered...More

    Reviewed 13 September 2017

    We have stayed in this hotel many times while in town watching our son play college hockey. We have always had a great stay as the rooms are big and beds were great. The hotel was getting older and needed a update but not a...More

    Thank gizbot
    Response from GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel CastlegarResponded 14 September 2017

    Thank you gr0sk0 for your review I am happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us. We are going to be doing a major upgrade in 2018. We look forward to you staying again when you are in town.

    Reviewed 16 August 2017

    Stayed two nights in Rm. 160. Discount rate ($100/night) did not include the continental breakfast ($8.99). Sink and tub both have worn-out enamel with grey staining and chips; we could feel cleaning grit on the side of the tub. Bathroom fan made lots of noise...More

    Thank Tom R
    Response from GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel CastlegarResponded 17 August 2017

    Thank you Tom R for your review we appreciate your comments. The hotel is going to have a full renovation in 2018 which will definitely correct the deficiencies that you found in your room. Hopefully you will return once our renovations are complete and review...More

    Reviewed 14 July 2017

    We booked through hotels .com ...big mistake because when we checked into the hotel they could not upgrade us to a king suite even though they had some !!! The room was decent but not great , The sink tail piece was missing and there...More

    Thank justval2017
    Response from GMCastlegar, General Manager at Sandman Hotel CastlegarResponded 21 July 2017

    Thank you for your review justval2017 I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and the room was not up to the standards we normally achieve. We are going to be doing a major renovation of the hotel in 2018 and...More

    Prestige Lakeside Resort
    472 reviews
    #2 of 10 hotels in Nelson
     
    Red Mountain Village
    25 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Rossland
     
    Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
    252 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Trail
     
    Super 8 Castlegar BC
    479 reviews
    #1 of 8 hotels in Castlegar
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Business Centre with Internet Access
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Banquet Room
    • Conference Facilities
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Microwave
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Hot Tub
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Heated pool
    • Indoor pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 121 - USD 130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Accessible rooms ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Smoking rooms available
    • Number of rooms
    • 134
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel Castlegar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Canada >
    • British Columbia >
    • Kootenay Rockies >
    • Castlegar
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (6)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (9)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
    Nearby
    Super 8 Castlegar BC
    479 reviews
    .50 km away
     
    Red Mountain Village
    25 reviews
    24.26 km away
     
    Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel
    252 reviews
    22.61 km away
     
    Prestige Lakeside Resort
    472 reviews
    34.50 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Smoke'N'Jugz Roadhouse
    18 reviews
    1.09 km away
    Black Rooster Bar and Grill
    233 reviews
    .45 km away
    Dawn's Early Rising Sunshine Cafe and Bistro
    82 reviews
    1.03 km away
    Cartwright's Pub
    24 reviews
    1.39 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Castlegar Sculpturewalk
    95 reviews
    3.32 km away
    Zuckerberg Island Heritage Park
    63 reviews
    2.25 km away
    Doukhobor Discovery Centre
    47 reviews
    1.19 km away
    Twin Rivers Park
    30 reviews
    2.47 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Barb D
    11 September 2016|
    AnswerShow all 6 answers
    Response from GMCastlegar | Property representative |
    we do not have a restaurant attached but there are several restaurants in very close walking distance. We do have a premium continental breakfast available in the hotel but cost does apply.
    0
    Votes

    Recently Reviewed Hotels around Castlegar

    Room Tips
    "If you are traveling with a pet, ask for the room on the ground. We were assigned on the 3rd floor and found..."
    Read review
    "Check out the room before staying."
    Read review
    "Go for second or third floor, outside. Ground floors look at parked vehicles. Inside room face pool / hot tub..."
    Read review
    "Ask to stay on the third floor. You needed a key card to get up there so I assume it is nicer."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing