We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 581: English reviews
Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 11 February 2016

The staff is very friendly. The room decor could use some up grading the room we pretty dark. My room was quoted at 110.00 by the time i paid the taxes and fees it was 143.00. Crazy.....They should be telling you the final price.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbE8695JC
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about us. Our staff is the best!! It is crazy (I agree) that all the taxes are significant. Unfortunately we can do nothing about that. I have the same problem at all hotels and read the extra costs and taxes when making a decision. I hope you will stay with us again.

Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2016

So ... First impressions are good. Nice lobby, plenty of parking. However being in the original hotel is not that great. The rooms are dated, although the bathrooms had very nice showers. The balcony is no selling point as its paint was peeling off the concrete floor and we looked over the other hotel wing. The family restaurant was dated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raquelle1
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

I am glad you had some positive feelings and comments about us. People love staying with us for their ski vacation as we have a pool, games room, ski storage and on site dining. I am sorry overall you didn't feel it was the right choice for you.

Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2016

My wife and I came to Courtenay to visit family. We are in the area 2-3 times per year, and our regular stay wasn't going to work. There were a few glitches over the three nights, but we'd give it another try. The room was clean and most of the staff we interacted with were outstanding. That goes a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mbsaul Thank you for writing about us on TripAdvisor. I am happy you were pleased with our hot breakfast. Coupons for the food are a promotion through BW and other booking agents such as Expedia do not give those. The pub is fun and it has great food as well as a Forno oven to make real pizzas. The...

Delta
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I love to stay here! the staff is friendly and efficient and always acknowledge the fact that I'm back, I get a nice room facing the parking lot rather than the street which I like. the rooms are very clean and have housecoats another like! includes a breakfast voucher value toward either continental breakfast or for a couple $ more...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly W Thanks for staying with us again. We love our loyal customers and it is always a pleasure for staff to see people returning and getting to know them. You pretty much mentioned all our amenities and on site services. We are glad you enjoy staying with us as much as we love having you! Cheers

Reviewed 27 January 2016

As I travel a great deal for business, I appreciate the comfort and cleanliness of this hotel. They has a great coupon plan for meals and is pet friendly. It is convenient to a variety of excellent restaurants on 5th Street and is across the street from Starbucks. We stay here every time we are in the area

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 243cathim
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Customer Thank you for writing about your thoughts on our hotel. As you mentioned it is convenient to lots of restaurants and stores and the River Walk as well. Out our back door is a paved trail that goes along the river to bird watching stations. We appreciate your compliments about the comfort and cleanliness. Thank you for...

Langley City, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2016

I routinely stay at the Westerly whenever I'm in Courtenay - usually every 30-50 days. Great staff, great facilities, & a central location in town. Nicely appointed clean modern rooms with comfy beds! And all at a great price point that underscores the value you get. No need to look around.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank glorch
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear glorch We love having our "regulars." Thank you so much for taking your time to write about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Our staff will look forward to seeing you again. Cheers.

vitoria, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Worth the money and a good location for the ski slopes of Mount Washington, Pool and hot tub available as well as underground parking facilities (for electric cars also). In house pool room and darts are available in the bar with a good selection of local craft beers

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leslie Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us. I agree with you. It is a great spot for a ski vacation as you don't have to sit in your room after skiing! There is so much to do right on site. No getting in your car again. We are happy you had a great...

Reviewed 18 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is dated. The wing I was in had a strong odour as well as a strong odour of air freshener. The room was small and had no fridge or microwave. The heating unit was loud and sucked the smoke in from the surrounding balconies. The bed didn't seem like a queen but more like a double and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Len C
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Len C I am sorry to hear you weren't happy with your stay. The hotel has two levels or rooms at different costs. The new wing is an upgrade and slightly higher in price. Actually a lot of our regular customers prefer the older wing as it is less money and the rooms are larger and you can have...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 18 January 2016

for an older hotel the rooms were clean and decor was current the staff was helpful when needed. Reasonably good value for the dollar spent. Good location to travel from either on foot or by car. Easy walk to down town.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erik K
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erik K We are glad to hear you were happy with the value, staff and amenities. It is nice being in a location that has near by stores, restaurants and walks where you don't need to get in your car for. Thank you for all your positive comments.

Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The annual Christmas day buffets have become a tradition for my wife and I. In the past we have had the regular buffet but this year we chose the breakfast (6:30 am - 10:00 am). There is a touch of elegance including white tablecloths. Potted plants provide a slight tropical atmosphere. Table service is reliable. The food is varied, both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eztourist
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loyal Customer I am thrilled to hear you are a regular at our Christmas day buffets. Nice that you mixed it up this year with the breakfast buffet and enjoyed that as well. Thank you for taking the time to write about it on TripAdvisor!

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
765 reviews
3.9 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
490 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
378 reviews
7.9 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Cuisines: International, American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Westerly Restaurant
Westerly Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range: $116 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Best Western, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“views from the even numbered rooms in the new wing are terrible”
Kate181793, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Suggest asking for a westerly room if you want a nice view of the mountains”
Colin1062, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Chalks side if you have kids. There are drunks everywhere and you have to get past them to get to your room”
66karlau, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
Gramma57, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra to get a renovated room”
Victoria_BCTall_Guy, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5