We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

587 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Ottawa
Reviewed 9 February 2017

My business uses this location to base out of for adaptive skiing for people with physical / non visible limitations. We are always treated to outstanding customer service and a fantastic experience! Will definitely stay again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joe K We are absolutely thrilled that we were able to provide you and your athletes with a friendly place to stay. We are very proud of our team and the detail they pay to customer service. Thank you for recognizing them!! We look forward to your next visit!

Burk's Falls, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as a park and fly package. It gave us unlimited underground parking. Each guest receives a $7 comp. ticket for exchange in either restaurant affiliated with the hotel. We chose to use our tickets towards dinner in the pub/sports bar which had a nice vibe to it. Rooms were clean and spacious with lovely view overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
debbiebrowning, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy B How nice of you to take the time to write about us! We appreciate it so much. Clean rooms and comfortable beds are the key to a good nights sleep but the extra perks such as on site facilities and vouchers for food or drink are the ways we provide our clients with "going beyond" the ordinary....

Bellevue, Washington
Reviewed 1 February 2017

The Westerly Hotel needs a big league facelift! You can tell it is state of the art for about 1982........if even that. The carpet is old and disgusting, the rooms are small, and the property is a maze, you could get lost for hours trying to find your room! It reminds me of some cheap two star hotel! The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seahawksteve
debbiebrowning, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear seahawksteve We are very sorry to hear you were not happy with our product. We have a very large operation with many services which makes staying with us very convenient so you don't have to get in your car to go to a pub, lounge, restaurant or fitness facility. However because of the size of our operation it takes...

Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2017

First the power went out ,and the back up generator failed to start. Then the fire alarm went off ,and I had to evacuate the hotel .I was checking out that morning anyway ,so I loaded the car and left.I have received no follow up e-mail or telephone calls, explaining, apologizing,or just checking to make sure all got out!!!!! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 926doug
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 926doug We are so sorry for the confusion!!! When the BC Hydro's generator on the street that supplies power to the hotel blew, the Fire Chief wanted a voluntary evacuation. We phoned all the rooms after the alarm was sounded to make sure everyone had vacated. If anyone did not pick up we went to every room to make...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We treat our granddaughter and daughter to a stay in Courtney to go skiing. This year the service at the Best Western was ridiculous. First, in order to pay for the room with my credit card over the phone, I had to scan my card back and front, download a form , sign it, scan it in and send all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janine L
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janine L Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your ski vacation. To address your concerns with the credit card, it is purely for your benefit. When we talk over the phone and take a credit card we could be booking using a stolen card. That is why we do the procedure we do. I am sorry...

Parksville
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Room was clean and comfortable. The bed was also very comfortable. I missed having hand lotion supplied in the bathroom. Also the coffee maker only made one cup of coffee at a time which was a disappointment. I did think it was a bit pricey. We have stayed in other Best Western hotels and paid quite a bit less.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gail B We appreciate you deciding to stay with us and then taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. Clean and comfortable are what we aim to achieve. So glad we were able to deliver. The staff always goes out of their way so they will love your nod to them. Cheers

Victoria, BC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We booked a room with 2 queen beds for our family of 4 in the renovated building (mountain view wing). The rooms were nice – and special mention to the bathrooms – they were quite nice with glass walk-in showers. We had reserved a corporate rate but at check-in I saw an ad posted on the front desk advertising a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria_BCTall_Guy
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BCTall_Guy Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your ski vacation. We were happy to assist you in getting the better rate! I thank you for mentioning the state of the games room. Sometimes when we have sports teams staying at the hotel it can disrupt the working order of the room. I will definitely look into...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

The are two clear sections to this hotel: the new "Mountain" side and the old "River" side. The new side is great, and deserving of a rating of 4 stars. I have been staying there on and of for the last 8 years. I cheaped out recently, and opted for a room on the older side, after a bad stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Verbz
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Verbz I am very sorry this stay wasn't up to par with your previous stays. The new wing is of course in tip top shape and it costs a bit more to stay there. The older wing is about to get a do over. It is a large operation and we are only able to do the renovations in...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We had an amazing check in experience. Destiny was the front desk agent and went above and beyond to help us with changing our reservation to get us the ski and stay package. Room is clean and very affordable. Would. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your ski vacation! We appreciate the positive review you gave our hotel and employee. It is a great ski season this year so we hope to see you back before it finishes!!

Victoria
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The room did not come with a fridge which was disappointing. I opted to pay $10/night for a fridge. It was necessary as breakfast was not included with the room and I normally like to have a juice and coffee in the morning before heading out. I was placed on the ground floor in the back building facing the river....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra C
Managing O, Managing O at BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra C Thank you for taking your time to write up about us. The superior rooms do come with a fridge but not the cheaper rooms. As you know you can rent one for $10.00. Our superior rooms are in the new wing. We are glad you enjoyed the pub and the food there.

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Courtenay
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
0.1 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
759 reviews
3.9 km away
Port Augusta Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
BEST WESTERN Austrian Chalet
#4 of 16 in Campbell River
489 reviews
1.2 km away
Travelodge Courtenay BC
Travelodge Courtenay BC
#6 of 9 in Courtenay
373 reviews
8.0 km away
Kingfisher Oceanside Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Flying Canoe West Coast Pub
Cuisines: International, American, Bar, Pub, Canadian
Westerly Restaurant
Westerly Restaurant
Cuisines: International, Canadian
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Courtenay's Only Full-Service Hotel Centrally Located in the Heart of the Comox Valley our location offers convenient access to all that Comox Valley has to offer. Our property features 139 guestrooms and suites, inclusive of our newer 36 room Mountainside wing. We are pleased to provide high-speed wireless Internet, local phone calls and parking. We have three on-site food & beverage outlets including a restaurant, lounge and pub and Specialty Liquor Store. Additional hotel facilities include a heated in-door pool, hot tub, sauna, fitness facilities, business centre, ski & bike storage, guest coin laundry, games room, sports team locker rooms and meeting facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel

Address: 1590 Cliffe Ave, Courtenay, British Columbia V9N 2K4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Comox Valley > Courtenay
Price Range: $115 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus The Westerly Hotel And Convention Centre
Best Western Courtenay
Courtenay Best Western
BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel Courtenay, Vancouver Island, Canada
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Courtenay
#1 Business Hotel in Courtenay
#4 Family Hotel in Courtenay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN The Westerly Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest asking for a westerly room if you want a nice view of the mountains”
 of 5 bubbles Colin1062, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from Chalks side if you have kids. There are drunks everywhere and you have to get past them to get to your room”
 of 5 bubbles 66karlau, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles Gramma57, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pay the extra to get a renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles Victoria_BCTall_Guy, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try Kingfisher Resort or Old House Hotel for a relaxing experience”
 of 5 bubbles Y8221QQkims, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5