We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sandman Inn Cranbrook
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sandman Inn Cranbrook
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My family was gathering in Cranbrook for an overdue family reunion. The plan was to fish, hike and enjoy the Cdn Rockies. As many were coming from long distances, we needed to keep the costs down where possible while not sacrificing quality and comfort. We booked rooms at the Sandman and were thankful we did. They offered exceptional rates for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelinjack64
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. We are a popular spot for family gatherings and in your case, that certainly rings true according to your positive review. Our rates are definitely competitive. Also, there are numerous activities in which to partake in our general vicinity. We hope you have another gathering at our property and we will extend the same...

RedDeer
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It's okay, we arrived late and tired, the rooms nothing special. The bathroom you have to go in , reach behind , shut the door then back up, to use the toilet. The girl at the front desk was very nice. Over priced, thats for sure. But I'm finding anything in cranbrook is high.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePolisher
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Admittedly, our bathrooms are small and that is why we have the sink, etc. located in a separate area. Thanks for your kind comments on the front desk girl. We hope you will decide to stay with us on your next visit. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Sherwood Park, Alberta
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Typical old hotel. Rooms were very small, bathrooms were even smaller. First room we were checked into was "supposed" to be a king suite with a pull out couch. Got up to room and only found 1 queen bed and a small chair....no couch. The inside access door to the adjoining room was broken as well. The deadbolt lock was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gator71
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The Cranbrook property was built in 1973 and as you say, it is not as bright and modern as some of our other properties; however, we are continuing to make renovations to bring the property up to more current standards. The first room you described is not our typical "king room" as it did not contain...

Edmonton
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here one night in July on our way to the US. The hotel has a good sized parking lot out back where we could park our truck and trailer for the night. The rooms at this hotel could use some updating but overall it was comfortable enough for a night. Everything was functional but dated. The hotel backs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nothatsyou
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thanks for providing a room tip for others regarding asking to be situated away from the train tracks. We are continuing to renovate the property in order to bring it up to more modern standards. I am happy that you did have comfortable night and we hope to see you again. Thanks for the review. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I recently had to travel to Cranbrook, British Columbia to assist a friend in hospital after an accident. I had no clue where to stay but decided to chance the Sandman Inn and I am so very glad I did! The gentlemen on the phone was very polite when taking my reservation and friendly as well. The hotel was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd R
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. "Friendly, Accommodating and Spotless" are definitely encouraging and rewarding words to see when reading a review. I am glad that your experience was a good one. We at the Sandman Inn Cranbrook do promote excellence in service to the guest. Also, we want to be empathetic, especially to those who are experiencing a...

Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend and her kid we're on our way through town Sandman got recommended to us by somebody in town I'm very glad that I ran into that person in town because it was a great hotel great stay great people management when above and beyond to make sure we were happy and they were also very helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerm M
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

It is very rewarding to read such a review as yours. We endeavour to provide excellent service, as we believe this action is the cornerstone of the hospitality industry. We pride ourselves in going above and beyond in providing service. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you, soon. Regards, Dan Schellenberg General Manager

Blainville, Canada
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've been to a lot of hotels in BC. But stinky and dirty like this one is a first. Even with a febreeze can and the windows opened, I slept lousy because of the hard smell of the rug. There is also a railroad transit right beside the hotel and you hear a lot of trains passing by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WorkDude
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We welcome all types of reviews. I am sorry that you had a negative experience staying with us. We do steam clean our carpets on a timely basis, so we may have overlooked the room you occupied. Regarding the railroad tracks, the sound of the train definitely does bother some...

Prince George, Canada
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the Sandman Inn Cranbrook in April 2014 because our convention was nearby and they offered us a really reasonable group rate. The room we had was quite small and the bathroom was very tiny, but everything was clean. Denny's was next door (accessible without going outside) and that was convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizardlegs
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is greatly appreciated. I am happy that you had a positive experience during your stay. We do take pride in our high housekeeping standards and it is good you found that the room was clean. Many of our guests also feel that having Denny's on site is convenient. We hope to see you on...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I am with a touring group across Canada, and I had to film myself doing a monologue via video audition. This can be very challenging when you are in a hotel across Canada, as private space is not always readily available. However, the lady at the front desk was kind enough to open up a private room for me where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajcbill
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that our staff was so helpful in arranging the use of a private room for the filming of your monologue. It sounds like this really helped facilitate your stay with us. Regarding a gym, it would be convenient to have one on site. Unfortunately, the nearby gym that extends a discount to our guests only...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2013

There are six of us so finding a room that would fit us all in can be tricky. We arrived after 10pm and we searched the main street for hotels and found this one to be accommodating for what we needed. They have a Denny's attached to it for convenience too and with us needing a feed late at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LargeAussieFamily
Sandmandan, General Manager at Sandman Inn Cranbrook, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I can appreciate that arriving late at night with a family of six is challenging when looking for accommodation. We are glad that you chose the Sandman Inn Cranbrook. Denny's is certainly a convenience for our guests. Also, it is great that you could spend some time at Lussier Hot Springs, which is one of...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranbrook hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Cranbrook
Days Inn Cranbrook
#5 of 17 in Cranbrook
177 reviews
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Cranbrook Hotel
7.7 km away
St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Model A Inn
Model A Inn
#10 of 17 in Cranbrook
63 reviews
1.5 km away
Prestige Rocky Mountain Resort and Convention Centre
2.6 km away
Super 8 Cranbrook
Super 8 Cranbrook
#6 of 17 in Cranbrook
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Boasting more sunshine hours annually than any other city in BC, Cranbrook is surrounded by miles of lush forest and many glacier-fed lakes. Comfortable guest rooms, a relaxing indoor pool in addition to modern conveniences like high-speed Internet access, a business centre and on-site dining, make this Sandman property the perfect destination for business or pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sandman Inn Cranbrook

Address: 405 Cranbrook St N, Cranbrook, British Columbia V1C 3R5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Cranbrook
Price Range: $110 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sandman Inn Cranbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sandman Inn Cranbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sandman Inn Cranbrook staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't stay here”
  • Mold in shower
  • Screw about to fall out adn obvious dirt from many many days.
 of 5 bubbles O8324LDjanetc, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the front. The back is around 70 feet from a very active rail line.”
 of 5 bubbles SteamRestoration, 17 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Don't pick ones on the side of the train tracks. Don't choose Room 289.”
 of 5 bubbles LorneInKelowna, 28 Aug 2015 | Read review
“No elevator for those who have difficulty with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles agchristie, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“avoid this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 334greg, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay