We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Winston Lodge & Spa

Booking.comUSD 134*
View Deal
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 159*
USD 134*
Great Deal
USD 159*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Winston Lodge & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 103: English reviews
Start your review of Winston Lodge & Spa
 Click to rate
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Loved our visit to Kicking Horse, and I was glad we chose to stay at the Winston Lodge. It was rustic, homey, comfortable, clean and most importantly a short walk to the slopes. The restaurant next door -Corcks was fantastic, we had a very speciall dinner there and daily buffet styled breakfast. Overall a very good option for anyone traveling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorota M
Management response:

Hi, A little late in our response but a big thank you for your review. we are very pleased with your comments and happy to know you enjoyed every aspect of your stay including the meal at our sister property Copper Horse lodge's restaurant, Cork's. we certainly look forward to hosting you again should you return. Best regards from the...

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We had some concerns about the lodge before arriving. We had been attempting to add a room to our reservation and for several days there was no one answering the phone or responding to messages. I realize it's a smaller lodge and perhaps there was no on available to cover but an "out of office" message would have been appreciated....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin L
Management response:

Hi, apart from the problem you encountered with phones or front desk person not being always available you seem to have enjoyed your stay with all that was provided. A very in-depth review which I am sure was and will be useful to would be guests. We have since solved the issue of lack of response from the front desk...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I walked in the door and it was empty. I had to search for 20 minutes to find someone to check me in and that's the only time I saw someone the whole weekend. It was a beautiful lodge with cozy couches but it was a ghost town

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria K
Management response:

Hi, I'm sorry you walked into the lodge and had no-one to meet you. that is not what I would expect either and apologise for that poor welcome. Not knowing what time you arrived I have no answer without it sounding like an excuse, I do not want to do that. You have also stated that you saw no-one all...

Laval, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2017

The lodge is very well located and the rooms are big and comfortable. The outdoor Jacuzzi was not well maintained and we had to remind the staff to take care of it on a daily basis. The Jacuzzi cover needs replacement and was difficult to manipulate. The breakfast was very average, with the same things being served morning after morning.......

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Travelboy19
Management response:

Hello, Thank you for your review and comments raised are noted. The hot tub was used non stop due to the occupancy levels at that time. The tub is serviced each and every day, but sometimes took a little longer due to the use. Unfortunately the cover had suffered damage due to some guests getting a little carried away. It...

Edmonton, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016

My wife and I stayed here in September and had a wonderful time. Great location on the mountainside; the room had a huge deck with a spectacular view of the valley. There was a huge spa tub in the bathroom which shared that view! Each room in the lodge is slightly different, and when the room we were initially shown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougranson
Management response:

Hi from Winston Lodge & Spa. Thank you for your review and comments, they make a whole lot of difference to the staff when they know our visitors have enjoyed their stay. Each room is slightly different and offers a different perspective of the mountain. We look forward to seeing you again here at the Mountain and once again, many...

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

The team at Winston's lodge were great- nothing was too much trouble. The beer and food in the pub was delicious and the option of dining in Corks restaurant was nice. Our room was clean and a good size. We also took advantage of a massage in the on-site spa. A great start to our break! 5*

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dragon_in_exile
Management response:

Hi, just a big thank you from all the team here at Winston Lodge for your review. thank you for taking time to express your comments, these assist us and interested parties who maybe thinking of booking our lodge, once again, many thanks. Dave Woodman,

Carmel, California
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The amazing staff, attention to detail, massage and dinners at the Corks restaurant made the Winston Lodge the most enjoyable of the places we stayed for our vacation in B.C. and Alberta. Amy, Carla and Jemma were supreme in their attentiveness and making sure we had all we needed. Chef Halliday's meals were so DELICIOUS. They always included a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A K
Management response:

Hi, Both Copper Horse Lodge and Winston Lodge are owned and operated by Saya Hotels, Canada. The Corks restaurant is our semi fine dining restaurant within the Copper Horse Lodge. we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at both lodges and thank you for taking time to write your review. We hope you will visit us again. Dave Woodman

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

A short walk from the Kicking Horse Resort we headed there as it was the only thing open at 4pm! Was a great choice as the kids (1 & 3) were warmly accommodated. Beers and cocktails went down well. Didn't intend staying for tea but time got away from us so we ordered pizzas, ribs and burgers. Greatly surprised with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FamilyofGirls
Management response:

Hi, many thanks for your feed back and pleased you enjoyed the visit and of course the food. We look forward to your next visit. Dave Woodman

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Lovely place and rooms are big, great view but poorly equipped/bare e.g no mirror, only one bed side table, tiny TVs, a balcony but no table just chairs etc (lovely bathrobes tho!). Room 1 is very noisy! There is a rustic charm but everythng feels like a work in progress by a young and slightly inexperienced team e.g Breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
Management response:

Hello and thank you for your review. Both Winston and Copper Horse Lodges are owned and operated by new owners, Saya Hotels. We are currently working on upgrading and refurbishing the entire lodge and thank you for your feedback. Your comments help us move in the right direction and keep us mindful of guest requirements and their expectations. I apologise...

Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Booked Winston Lodge for an overnight stay in Golden, as much for its classic lodge look as for the strong TA ratings. It is a substantial drive up the mountain and away from Golden but the location is great as long as one doesn't need to go back and forth to the town. The Lodge is beautiful as promised. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Richard P
Management response:

Hello, and thank you for your review, your comments and feed back are important to us. We note the comment of the lack in furnishings and the size of the TV screen. As mentioned in an earlier review, we are now in the process of upgrading and refurbing the lodge. Thank you for the positive feedback and we are pleased...

110 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
9:23
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
15/06/2017 16/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.4 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.9 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
138 reviews
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
7.0 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
442 reviews
5.6 km away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Ski-In / Ski-Out
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The RoomsRomantic and extremely comfortable describes this rustic wood and stone western inspired Lodge. You can choose from 10 luxurious Silver (standard) or Golden (deluxe) rooms, or treat yourself to the Platinum (VIP) Loft suite. Every room is appointed with antiques and hand-crafted solid wood furniture, sumptuous feather down beds, soothing jetted baths or walk-in showers and private decks with stunning mountain views.The SpaWinston Lodge features an exclusive in-house spa that offers massages, manicures, pedicures and facials in a lovely window clustered treatment room on the second floor mezzanine.The LodgeEnjoy the large common areas that feature an outdoor hot tub, sauna, games room, library, fireplace, no-host bar and a sitting room that's just for our guests.The Saloon"Ya'll gotta eat, so you might as well enjoy it". Come to our classic western saloon or family restaurant. We offer tasty homestyle meals and a wonderful selection of micro-brew beers, wines and spirits. Have fun playing board games or our famous Giant Jenga. Listen to live music or the pop of our real wood burning fireplace, and don't forget to get deputized before you leave.Restaurant and Conference CentreOur second story conference centre accommodates up to 100 people and provides a perfect venue for weddings, reunions, celebrations, business meetings or training. The 2 big screen tvs will educate and entertain your guests while we feed them delicious appetizers, full meals and desserts.If your group exceeds 100 we have plenty of space for an outdoor tent reception on the grass pavilion beside the lodge.ActivitiesAbundant adventure and beauty surrounds the lodge on all sides. We're located at the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort where a multitude of winter and summer activities abound. The Golden area and local parks provide even more things to see and do.Ask the front desk to help you book your activities, they truly know the area like the back of their hands. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Winston Lodge & Spa

Address: 1593 Cache Close | P.O. Box 5, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $176 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Winston Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Winston Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Winston Lodge & Spa staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Winston Lodge & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room in the second floor they are less noisy”
Travelboy19, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony with a view of the valley (although all the rooms are nice)”
dougranson, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had Room 2. Lovely view, and a Jacuzzi tub!”
102ak, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor”
jajacob, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sky light get very hot.”
TravellingPal, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.comUSD 159
Hotels.comUSD 159
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates