We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse

1120 14th Street North, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (12)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 16 hotels in Golden
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Come stay at Golden's newest hotel. Golden is an outdoor enthusiast dream for all seasons. We are located only minutes from the world famous Kicking Horse Mountain Ski Resort, at 4,133 feet Kicking Horse Mountain has one of North America's highest vertical drops. Nestled amongst three mountain ranges, look out your window and enjoy breathtaking views. Start your day with our Free Hot Breakfast in our great room or patio. Our hotel features 75 units; each unit is equipped with a fridge, microwave, safes, in room coffee and 40" flat screen TVs, we also offer suites, kitchenettes and a jacuzzi suite with a walkout balcony featuring a view of the Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. The Holiday Inn Express Golden Kicking Horse can meet all your business needs by offering a 24-hour business center, meeting room and boardroom. After a hard day of travel or play come take a dip in our heated indoor pool or hot tub.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Hindi
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
444Reviews5Q+A86Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 183
  • 49
  • 21
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Care B wrote a review Nov 2023
1 contribution
The owners of this hotel prioritize profits over customer service. They are fully aware that a specific staff member has received repeated complaints for rude behavior, yet they continue to employ her. After my horrific experience and upon reading reviews about the same person working at the front desk, it became evident that my awful experience could have been avoided. I was humiliated by her (initials G.O) and falsely accused. The manager is also fully aware, as their housekeeping staff informed me that they are all aware of this particular staff member’s nasty and demeaning behavior spanning years. However, she’s been there from the beginning, so she seems to get away with it at the expense of guests. As frequent guests of IHG properties, this was a significant loss for us, as we have decided not to stay with this brand again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 4 Dec 2023
Hi Care B, Thank you for sharing your experience and staying at the Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse. We appreciate you choosing to stay at the IHG Hotels and Resorts for your family travel. We’re determined to provide a space where guests can have a pleasant lodging experience, and I am sorry for the situation. I have alerted the hotel management about your comments and have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay. We hope you still choose IHG Hotels and Resorts properties for your future travels. We look forward to your response. Sincerely, Rosh D. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cathy L wrote a review May 2023
Toronto, Canada183 contributions110 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Great hotel. Service is great. Quick check in. Our rooms are modern and clean. Bed is comfortable. Complimentary Breakfast is great. Nothing much in Golden but a great stop on our journey between Banff and Vancouver.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John R wrote a review Oct 2023
Chilliwack, Canada13 contributions
Carpet in room was stained, ottoman had stains. Rear entry door was broken allowing anyone to enter. Breakfast room was ice cold, food selection terrible. Turkey sausage was dry and inedible. Hash brown squares were also hard and dried out. Coffee poor. We just left and ate elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for a clean room and fresh breakfast items.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 24 Oct 2023
Hi Robomedic, Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Express Golden Kicking Horse and for thinking of IHG Hotel & Resorts as an essential part of your travel. Here at our hotels, we offer an efficient stay in a place that feels fresh and focuses only on the features and services the guests need. I received your review and am sorry for the errors during your stay. I understand your disappointment about this and to this end, I forwarded your remarks to our managers. We evaluated your remarks and took the necessary steps to avoid this in the future. We all invited you to come and make us a part of your next travel adventure. We know you won't regret it. Thank you for your time, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Hotel & Resort Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BarbShea wrote a review Oct 2023
Calgary, Canada31 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
We checked in and were given a room. When we tried to go into the room that was given, someone else was already asleep in this room. Front desk didn’t believe us but gave us another room. New room had mildew on tile walls in bathroom, toilet seat would not stay up,clock did not work and water would not drain in tub when having a shower! Beds were sacked and two of the light fixtures did not work. NEVER AGAIN! I don’t know who is running this place but they are definitely running it into the ground!! Do not stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this place!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Hi BarbShea, We appreciate your feedback. It’s great to hear from our most valued guest. Thanks for your loyalty and for always staying with our Holiday Inn Express. We provide the best lodging experience for every guest, and I'm sorry for the issues during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with our hotel management for review. I've also sent you a private message to discuss this further. We hope to regain your trust and confidence in our service. Stay Safe! Carl J. Case Manager IHG Hotels and Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sabrina wrote a review Sept 2023
Chestermere, Canada3 contributions
I am discusted by this hotel. After spending every second weekend in hotels for the past 5 months, this is the first time I have EVER (Actually ever in my life) been changed for additional charges to the room. We arrived around 1030pm as a quick stop over on our way to Kamloops. Waited a good half hour to get checked in as the poor girl behind the counter was too busy for one to handle. Got checked in and when to bed. Woke to early to head back on the road. Couple days later see a change on my card for $150. Call the hotel and they told me I was charger for smoking in the room. He said the cleaning lady said it smelled like smoke so they had to do a deeper clean. I DONT SMOKE! MY HUSBAND DOESNT SMOKE NOR DOES MY 15 YEAR OLD. We were together the whole time in the room... NOBODY SMOKED. I called the hotel and spoke to the manager and he said the cleaning lady said we smoked and it smelled so they are charging us. WTheck.. is this even possible? I will not settle for paying for something we DIDNT DO. This is not over yet.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this place. They are thieves.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 11 Oct 2023
Hi Coastal51104104477, We appreciate you choosing the Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse for your leisure stay. We aim that our guests are comfortable and would have a lasting impression of the brand, and I'm sorry for the issues you encountered with us. It is not what we strive for at IHG Hotels and Resorts. Your comments will not go unnoticed, as I have shared them with our management teams. I know they appreciate your sharing your experience, and I am confident they will take steps to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to stop this from occurring again. I have sent you a private message to discuss this further. I hope we'll remain your dependable choice, as we promise to make your stay more memorable and exciting. Yours in hospitality, Melissa P Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elle009 wrote a review Sept 2023
Vancouver28 contributions38 helpful votes
Okay. I should have heeded the post from others. Just under 300$ for sheets with holes in them. My husband had to get the maintenance fellow to fix the door because the handle was coming off. The lampshade had holes in it. The kicker is, I had a shower. The hairdryer wouldn’t work. So we called the front desk. No one answered. Hubby went down and asked if there was a spare dryer somewhere. A dismissive blank stare and , sorry no. She walked away. I called and said you have got to be kidding me. My hair is soaking wet. Sorry. No other hairdryer. She finally left the front desk and told me I could use a dryer in a vacant room. Great. Get dressed, go two floors up. Fun. I called the company to complain. Was given a case number and was assured the manager of the hotel would call me first thing the next day. Still waiting. The food? Tasteless. Will I stay again? Not on your life. Ever. Terrible service. Really terrible . They don’t care, it’s a highway hotel. It blows. Bad service from start to finish. Corporate as well.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay here.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 28 Sept 2023
Hi Elle009, Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse and sharing your experience. We appreciate you for doing business with IHG Hotels and Resorts. We strive to give excellent and impressive service to all our guests, and I am sorry for what happened during your stay with us. I have shared your comments with the hotel management, and I'm confident that the necessary steps will be taken, so we can better serve you in the future. I’ve also sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your stay. We value your feedback and welcome the opportunity to serve you better. I look forward to your response. Sincerely, Crisel V. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terra L wrote a review Aug 2023
New Westminster, Canada5 contributions7 helpful votes
This hotel is fine. Rooms are clean, pool and hot tub are good, breakfast is passable. But don’t expect any level of customer service. When I walked into the lobby to check in there were 2 staff behind the counter. One was helping a family, the other was on her phone. When I stepped up she didn’t acknowledge me until I spoke and then she stepped back and said “no. It’s her.” Barely looking up from her phone. I waited and was checked in pleasantly enough. We realized we had forgotten an HDMI cable (so we could watch a family movie after the pool time) once we were upstairs so called the front desk to see if, like most hotels, they have a box of random left behind cables and chargers. Three attempts later we gave up and went downstairs to ask. The response was a shocked “oh, no!” Ok. Do you have one we could purchase? They didn’t even know what an HDMI cable was. Later when we realized there were basically only sheets on the beds and we wanted and extra blanket, we called down to the front desk. Sure we could get an extra blanket but we had to go down and get it from the front desk. “This is NOT a full service hotel.” Was the staff’s explanation. For $300 a night, it should be MORE service. I’m not looking for room service or in room spa treatments. I’ve stayed in a lot of hotels and motels. The level of service here is the worst I’ve ever experienced at any price.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Hi 997terral, Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse! We value your business and appreciate you banking on our hotel for your accommodation needs. We aim to be a great place where our guests can rest and recharge. I'm sorry to read we missed the mark this time. I have shared your comments with the hotel management team. We will certainly utilize your feedback to elevate future guests’ experiences. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with an exceptional stay on your next visit. Many thanks, Jonathan A Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Globetrotting99 wrote a review Aug 2023
Red Deer, Canada63 contributions56 helpful votes
Stay elsewhere! The first big turn off was the signage plastered all over the front doors about no vacancy and no public washroom. My daughter lives for going to the pool at the hotel and the pools/hot tubs here were disgusting with some gross film on top and murky waters. Definitely did not go in them! My daughter was super disappointed!! The whole hotel had a bad smell and the rooms were worse. My belongings stunk of the gross smell and had to be washed to rid the smell. The rooms were not very clean, many details missed and the other areas of the hotel were in much need of a big clean. Gross! The breakfast was bluh. I wouldn't stay again. Further, reading back to all the reviews of others over the past year, and the management just responded with the same generic response to everyone, yet nothing has changed with any of the dame complaints I have, tells me they are not too eager to make improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 10 Sept 2023
Hello Globetrotting99, Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse! We value your business and appreciate you choosing our hotel for your travel needs. I'm sorry to read about the issues you encountered during your visit. We always strive to consistently deliver friendly and comfortable accommodations to our guests. I have shared your concerns with the hotel management, and I'm certain that they'll look into addressing the issues you raised so they won't occur again. We hope you will allow us another chance to win you over! Best regards, Jonathan Abrigo eMedia Coordinator IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sarika f wrote a review Aug 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
Lots of positives but the pool and fitness area were GROSS. The pool had a three inch scum line that people were writing in. My spouse went to the gym.. no hand sanitizer and he said the machines looked they had not been wiped in weeks. No towels or wipes. Hot tub was closed ( perhaps a good thing based on the pool). Rooms weren’t serviced.. I had to go get hand towels as there weren’t any big ones left on the carts. We did get a knock on our door at 6 pm asking if we wanted our room done. No thanks. Otherwise staff are friendly, room was fine and the breakfast was replenished and good. However at $300 night (or at any price), we will not be staying here again. Was our second time here in about five years.. last time the pool and fitness area were fine.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Lots of other places to stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 9 Sept 2023
Hello, Sarika f Your opinion is very important to us. Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse. I talked to our management about your observations. I humbly apologize for the details you described. Our staff will make sure everything is reviewed and improved. Nothing makes us happier than delivering the best experience to our beloved guests. I hope you will visit again in the future. It would be a pleasure to host you once more. Stay safe and healthy until then! Alejandro G. Case Manager IHG Hotels & Resorts Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ccfishy wrote a review Aug 2023
Canada5 contributions1 helpful vote
I arrived around 8:15pm and had to wait almost 30 mins to check in, front desk said system issue and told me to wait in the lobby (nothing was offered). There was also a group tour at the same time, a lot of people were just hanging out at lobby. There was ONLY ONE FRONT DESK AGENT and the hotel was sold out. Hot water out, no towels at the pool, no one can bring something up to the room, since there was only one staff, sad!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Responded 25 Aug 2023
Hi Cindy L , Thank you for writing us about your experience and for staying in Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse. In our properties, we strive to provide a quality stay in an environment that all guests can enjoy. I received your comments and am sorry your stay was lacking our usual flair and excellence. I know this is not what you were hoping for when you reserve and thank you for allowing us to look into these matters. I forwarded your comments to our hotel management and the necessary steps have been taken to rectify our errors. I invite you to come and stay with us on your next travel. Respectfully, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Hotel & Resort Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Golden area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$189 - AU$331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CanadaBritish ColumbiaKootenay RockiesGolden
NUMBER OF ROOMS
75
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS GOLDEN-KICKING HORSE (AU$189): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Canada) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Nearby attractions include Kicking Horse River (0.9 km), Gorman Lake (1.0 km), and Dogtooth Climbing Gym (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bear & Bone Burger Co., Bluebird Cafe, and Q's Asian style Fusion Rrstaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and Hindi.
Does Holiday Inn Express Golden-Kicking Horse have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.