We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge

Booking.comUSD 108*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 163*
USD 108*
USD 109*
USD 109*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 193: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Was passing through and needed somewhere to stay for the night. This place is a motel with hotel prices that are unwarranted. Room cleaner permeated the place making breathing stifling. Coffee machine broken. Breakfast was crap. Positives ? Bed was comfy and it was pretty quiet

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Silver G
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We have noted your input and will look at ways to improve regarding your concerns.

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Reviews sounded good, so we booked this hotel as a cheaper alternative to staying in Lake Louise. Hotel and room were tired, old and worn. Bare bones breakfast. Located off the main street which runs parallel to the highway, divided by ugly concrete barriers. We're on a 3 week trip and this was the worst hotel by far and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeTes
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are nestled in the midst of the most beautiful area and many come here just to see our town. Many enjoy our hotel park area and the back drop of our mountain view. Perhaps you did not get the chance to actually go into our town as there as...

Medicine Hat, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed in the golden Travelodge on Sept. 13/2016. My oh my. no where to hang a jacket or clothes to be found. When the rubber mat was unrolled to place in tub-- the suction cup side was black with mold. Room was nice but should not be rented, Also, for $144.00 per nite -- way too pricy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are in the midst of upgrades and are replacing those racks we found inconveniently placed to close to the beds. We can assure you the black markings was not mold but do apologize for the oversight of this stained mat and no clothes rack. We appreciate your input.

Courtenay, Canada
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Really would not stay here again, we had a less than adequate room for the price, we were on the bottom floor at the very far end of the Motel, supposed to be non smoking rooms but people were sitting right outside their rooms on chairs provided by the motel plus ashtrays smoking!! - really. Maybe the rooms on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are sorry to see you did not enjoy your stay. Yes all our rooms are non-smoking but to alleviate all the cigarette butts on the property we have provided ashtrays for guests to smoke outside the rooms. We will take your input into consideration on alternative ideas.

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

No complaints at all. Not perfect but does a busy breakfast room matter? Very friendly and helpful staff. Fun in the jacuzzi. Sat nav kept trying to put me on highway 1, but that was obviously illogical

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Sao Paulo
Reviewed 20 September 2016

I just stayed one night. I think all hotels in Golden is a bit pricey comparing to other cities near the rockies. This was good enough for the night. Cleanliness is good, internet is good, breakfast is good, bed's ok. I would recommend for one night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trlife22
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate your input.

Somerset
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Room was clean and reasonably comfortable and web were only staying two nights, but there was a total lack of anywhere to hang clothes, nothing! The breakfast experience was not great, there were so many people cramped into a small area that getting food and getting seated was not a comfortable experience. In the end we took breakfast back up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s34107
Manager46704, Manager at Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We appreciate your input.

Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here twice while passing through. What I like best is that it's super dog friendly and only charges an additional $15 pet fee. There's a large field owned by the motel to exercise your dog, friendly staff and a continental breakfast on your way out. The room itself is pretty much what you'd expect. Good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lori B
North Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were just passing through so we weren't expecting much. Older property could use a Reno. The staff were very nice and we were able to park right outside our room. The included breakfast wasn't anything to write home about.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heatherdenley
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here on our way to Vancouver. Nice location just tucked away off the highway. Beds were comfortable, room was clean. Small fridge that worked well. Continental breakfast included. Grounds appeared secure, lots of lights, and 24 hour security. Also pet friendly - important to me. Nice little patio area for morning coffee. Will stay again on our next visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ginger245

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.2 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
442 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.3 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
338 reviews
0.3 km away
Prestige Inn Golden
Prestige Inn Golden
#4 of 19 in Golden
178 reviews
5.3 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Travelodge Golden boasts pool with waterslide, hot tub and sauna. One of only 2 accommodations in Golden with a great FREE continental breakfast. One of Golden's most popular accommodations centrally located within walking distance from a dozen restaurants, service stations and a 15 minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort. Great package deals all year round. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge

Address: 1200 12th St N, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada (Formerly Sportsman Lodge)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $99 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sportsman Hotel Golden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book a corner room near the stairs; especially the jacuzzi room!”
  • Our room
  • The amount of light coming in from every window in our room, We had 2 solid walls of windows!
  • Our room
PortlyTravellers, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“13 was a clean room.”
JulyChild, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are quieter i feel, great view from all the rooms.”
1pujand, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Simple & Quiet. Was clean at the time I stayed”
  • Coffee Maker In the bathroom with the toilet
stefr247, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“go somewhere else”
23TonyA, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 108* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 109
Hotwire.comUSD 109
AMOMAUSD 163
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates