We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ponderosa Motor Inn

TripAdvisorUSD 83*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 83*
USD 84*
USD 83*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ponderosa Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ponderosa Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 122: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 25 August 2014

we stayed at this property in August 2014. I am a bit budget minded, and this place was fairly low price for the area. The room is very clean, everything is pretty good except breakfast. They have one table for breakfast and the place has about 65 rooms. The breakfast is advertised as continental and when you get there the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigjim5551212
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bigjim Glad to hear that everything was to your liking except the breakfast we are working on improving the breakfast area for seating and the variety of items, we do say it is a lite breakfast upon checkin , cereal , toast muffins , coffee , tea and juice . We hope to see you on your next trip...

Port Coquitlam, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Ponderosa for the second time in my life. First time was 8 years ago and I'm sure no renos have been done since. REALLY needs some TLC and up dating but otherwise it is clean and reasonably quiet. The Coffee pot in the room spat out about an 1/8 of a cup of hot water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leefboy
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Leefboy , Sorry was stay was not want you expected we are trying to improve our workers attention to the workmanship and cleaniness of the rooms . We take care to improve our customers experience and want the best for them . Hope we will see you again to see the changes we are making and the improvements with...

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This has all the trappings of a family owned business, and they seem to do very well at it. Nothing fancy, nothing romantic, but near the Trans Canada Highway. It is an older property but well maintained for its age. Staff were helpful at the desk and check-in was quick. They have separate rooms for people with pets which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob137
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good day Bob , Glad to hear that your stay was very comfortable , we are trying to make each guests experience very good and comfortable . We looking forward to see you on your next trip .

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed one night in this motor inn right on the trans Canada highway on our way through the province. Front desk staff was friendly, room was clean and comfortable. Price included a bit of breakfast in the front lobby of cereal, toast, muffins, coffee and juice. Perfect to start our day. Would definitely stay here again. My only complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ValleyDoll123
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Valleydoll We are trying in everyway to improve our rooms and the exterior we appreciated any insight into what changes we can make to make our quests and customers happy . I am looking forward to watching these changes happen as I am sure on your next visit you will be happy with the updates and improvements ....

Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This just made the average rating. The hotel is quite dated, the room door was dirty on the inside and the bed linens are of minimal quality. Very basic continental breakfast, However the front desk attendant was pleasant so hence the average rating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhatView2
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Whatever, I am sorry about the condition of the doors we are slowly working on improvements to the conditions of the rooms and the steady of the staff . I am happy to hear that the staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful . We are trying to improve in all fields and customer service...

Burnaby, Canada
Reviewed 7 July 2014

On a stop over back to Vancouver. After a long day driving, we checked in, had dinner at the restaurant next door, then hit the sack. A clean basic room. The front desk clerk was friendly and found us a room (we didn't have a reservation). The place looks a bit run down on the outside, but the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carrie M
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Good Day Carrie, I am greatful for your comments or concerns about the conditions of the rooms we are slowly starting to work on tidying up things around the outside. Please bare with us and you will notice a change or improvements on your next stay with us . Thank you Holly

Burnaby
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms are very clean. I work for a hotel and get creeped out easily and found no cleanliness issues. Very basic rooms with standard amenities but great if you are just driving through town and just need a room for the night. Hotel offers free basic continental breakfast too. NO bed bugs. Good location right off highway. We checked a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank SNelson12
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we appreciated people comments and their concerns rather good or bad. I am glad to hear that your stay was good hope to see you again on your next visit ! We take pride in our rooms and hope that our customers are happy and comfortable .

Merthyr Tydfil
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ok for one night, comfortable bed, coffee making facilities. Hated the sink to wash your hands after you used the toilet was in the bedroom, I suppose you could use the bath though, but not ideal. Fridge in room which unfortunately froze our food we had bought for breakfast (we left too early for breakfast at hotel). We stayed as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rainbirds
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry about your stay with us and that the bathroom sink was not in the bathroom , You stayed in one of the new rooms . I hope we can help you better on your next stay . We are trying to improve things with comments or questions from our guests .

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were traveling through and had called ahead to make sure this place allowed dogs. We have a very large dog and some places would not accept that. They had no issues with us having him at all. Room was clean and bed was quite comfy. We would definitely stay here again if we were heading through the area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jazzyo
Delta, BC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If you are only looking for a night or two, this is a great stopover for the price. Room was one of the cleanest we've experienced and front desk staff very friendly and helpful. King bed was comfortable, in room coffee and fridge with light breakfast included. Dozed off to the soothing sounds of a running stream. Bathroom amenities basic...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GetAboutGal
holly l, Manager at Ponderosa Motor Inn, responded to this review

I am greatful that your stay with us was enjoyable . We are trying to accomdate everyone with their stays . We have made many changes and improves to our quality of service and rooms . I am always interested in comments or concerns on things that could be improved on .

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
2.1 km away
Days Inn Golden
Days Inn Golden
#5 of 19 in Golden
442 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Mountainview Inn
0.3 km away
Travelodge Golden Sportsman Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Golden
0.1 km away
Ramada Limited Golden
Ramada Limited Golden
#10 of 19 in Golden
336 reviews
5.5 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ponderosa Motor Inn

Address: 1206 Trans-canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $81 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ponderosa Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ponderosa Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponderosa Hotel Golden
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ponderosa Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It's nice to park just outside your room. Easy loading and unloading. Easy access.”
brianmU8957GU, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you have any problems with your room ask the front desk to see another one, some rooms are upgraded a little more than others”
tokyotiger2015, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our rooms were on the North side of the back section which was quiet with not much traffic noise.”
JD419, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“also has a nice resturant in the same parking lot”
glewcrew, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a good room is you want one. Haha.”
calgaryal, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 83* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 84
Booking.comUSD 83
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates