We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kicking Horse Kabins

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kicking Horse Kabins
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Start your review of Kicking Horse Kabins
 Click to rate
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The cabin was beautiful and we loved the hot tub on the back deck. The beds were comfortable. Very quiet neighbourhood. The one thing we did regret was ordering the food from the owner. The food from the owner/"chef" was not good. The pizza was bland, the "fresh" eggs were fishy smelling, the bacon was so salty and not smoked,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We have been staying here almost annually since 2008 and we love it! So cozy, relaxing and Karen's cooking is unreal! My favourite thing about this cabin are the insanely soft and comfy beds and hot tub with a beautiful view of the mountains!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

thanks Diana. It was a pleasure to have you stay here again, and of course to cook for you and your party. I was so glad that you all had a good evening for your Private Chef Experience. It was fun cooking for you whilst hearing you all relaxing around the table and having great catch ups and laughs. See...

Edmonton
Reviewed 1 March 2017

We loved our trip to this cozy cabin. There were 6 of us (three couples) who slept very comfortably in our king sized beds. The owners were excellent, very accommodating and knowledgeable of the area. Everything was clean and tidy when we got there and have recommended this cabin to others for future use.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean_Strickland
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Hi Dean, thank you for your feedback about your stay. We pride ourselves in offering a comfortable and clean lodge, guests experience is very important to us. Thank you for recommending us to your friends, and we hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you to stay here again too! All the best, Karen

Warman, Saskatchewan
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Was a really nice and quite location and rooms were neat and tidy but as soon as we arraigned the place was freezing and it's not very good heating system so took forever to get warm and I wore my winter jacket for an hour. Once we got looking around there was dust bunnys under the furniture and beds and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenakrzak
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the time for a review. I am glad that overall you found the lodge comfortable. I was surprised by your comments into the cleanliness and warmth. As you arrived at the lodge two hours prior to the assigned check in time, I was still in the process of cleaning. We discussed this but I was still...

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

It was an amazing weekend away! The beds were comfy, kitchen was more than well equipped for what we needed. Loved the howling of the wolves at night! Very romantic weekend away with my boyfriend! The hotub was a nice addition and she checked the chemicals for us while we were there! Very relaxing and a cozy feel to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CandyB76
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. When you make another trip to Kicking Horse country we would welcome you to stay here again. Kindest regards, Karen

Reviewed 27 August 2016

The Kicking Horse Kabins were such a pleasure to stay in. Everything was thought of and included. The kitchen was completely equipped, the hot tub was a great end to a cold day, the room was very cozy and the shower was very comfortable to use, and the backyard was big enough to run around with our dog, it felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sofiya G
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Thank you Sofiya for your kind words about your stay here, we are so pleased that you consider Kicking Horse Kabins as your second home! Kind regards, Karen and Peter

Derbys
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We only stayed here for one night unfortunately as we would have liked to have stayed longer. The cabin is beautiful and is a real home from home. It is very well equipped and is immaculately clean. The bed was very comfy and the hot tub was great. Karen one of the owners is very friendly and made us feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THM1
Karen B, Manager at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

So glad your enjoyed your brief stay here! It was nice to meet you, albeit briefly! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation! Kind regards, Karen

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Booked a four nights stay for my parents at this cabin. Parents loved the place, very fully equipped. The owner Karen is a very nice lady, she showed my parents around the cabin and helped clean the garbage on a daily basis. Very spacious cabin and clean! Would recommend to anyone going to Golden, it is quiet and a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice X
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Your parents were the sweetest Alice, and we were so pleased that you chose us for their mountain adventure! I do hope to meet you one day too. Kind regards, Karen.

Alberta, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2016

We booked one night stay here on the way through to the Shuswap. Unfortunately we were not able to enjoy all the area has to offer but we did have a soak in the hot tub. We did find the cabin cozy and comfortable, the beds are all king size and very comfortable with good quality bedding. The kitchen was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KPinAB
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! We are saddened to see you would like more from the kitchen but would welcome feedback regarding what you felt you need? As seasoned cooks and Karen being a trained chef, we do try to provide all we think would be needed but are always looking for...

Bucks. UK
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This cabin (there seems to be only one) is a bit off the beaten track but in a beautiful location. It’s a good homely skiing-type wooden chalet with three comfortable double bedrooms (you can rent for 2 or 4 and use fewer rooms), two bathrooms (one downstairs and neither en-suite) and a pretty well equipped kitchen although everyone has their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helenakitt
Karen B, Owner at Kicking Horse Kabins, responded to this review

Hi Helena Thank you for your comments, we are very pleased that you did enjoyed your stay at Kicking Horse Kabins. Your travelling companions’ comments in our visitor’s book were also well appreciated. We welcome reviews and guest comments in both TripAdvisor and in our guest book. I would like to apologise with the trouble you had with the internet,...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Golden hotels
0.0 km away
Glacier Mountaineer Lodge
0.0 km away
Palliser Lodge
Palliser Lodge
#8 of 19 in Golden
138 reviews
0.0 km away
Cedar House Restaurant & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Chancellor Peak Chalets
Chancellor Peak Chalets
#22 of 42 in Golden
38 reviews
0.0 km away
Mountain View Cabins
Mountain View Cabins
#9 of 42 in Golden
62 reviews
0.0 km away
Rocky Mountain Cabins
Rocky Mountain Cabins
#19 of 42 in Golden
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Blaeberry Valley, just west of Golden, BC this stunning lodge has been designed and crafted from local materials. Inspected by the Canada Select program and awarded 4 1/2 Stars in 2012, this individually tailored retreat provides the perfect location, with beautiful views all around and under the 'watchful eye' of the magnificent Goat Mountain. Perfect for skiing, hiking, whitewater rafting and many other of the outdoor activities available in Kicking Horse country, or of course for simply just sitting back and taking in the mountain scenery... ...Kicking Horse Kabins, it is as individual as you are. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kicking Horse Kabins

Address: 1732 Oberg Johnson Rd, Golden, British Columbia V0A 1H1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Golden
Price Range: $179 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kicking Horse Kabins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kicking Horse Kabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kicking Horse Kabins staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mountain view rooms.”
KPinAB, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Choose room closest to bathroom. Great view from two windows.”
  • Bedroom we chose
  • Lounge room in Kicking Horse Kabin
nellyv71, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“There are three rooms available. We booked this cabin during their low season, so we paid for a picked one bedroom to use during our stay. The cabin sleeps 8 comfortably with a pull out couch in the main living room. We've never had a bad sleep here!”
  • you can't really beat this view of the stars at night. View from the hottub.
750erinb, 27 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Pick any...we took the one facing the mountains and the bonfire pit.”
Gypsy2012, 27 Jun 2012 | Read review
“There are 3 bedrooms all decorated different, the comfort however is the same throughout”
386SueD, 21 Jun 2012 | Read review
5 of 5