We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Canterbury Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Canterbury Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 23: English reviews
North Bay, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2016

We stayed here Sept 29 to Oct 3. The owner Pierre and his wife Tracy were beyond accommodating. We felt like family. The room was small but very comfortable and clean. We sat on the deck while Pierre, Tracy and our son played guitar. It was such a fantastic time. This quaint motel is right in the heart of the... More 

Thank isis4247
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016

* I was charged more than I was originally quoted but could have dealt with that if the room was up to standard * beds are terrible they squeak every time you move * We stayed the weekend and they did not do room service or provide extra towels * TV reception was not clear owner said probably because too... More 

Thank SMGee99
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Friendly and helpful service. Rooms are clean and well kept. It is an older hotel but has been renovated and well looked after. There is a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker in the room. Would stay again. Close to Main Street, great for walking around town. Easy to find and close to a great pizza place.

Thank FroggerOK
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Called last minute cause that's how iam!! And lucked out with a last minute booking!! He was more then helpful. Got checked in by the owner of the property ! Very fun person would recommend anyone to stay here! Very happy with the stay and would stay again!! Thanx again boss!!

1 Thank gjbeam
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016

My wife and I stayed a number of nights here in July. As most places, it has a number of pluses and minuses. It is right downtown, hardly a block from the main street shopping and restaurants. Everywhere is walkable. It is considerably less expensive than the nearby Best Western. The room was clean, but very basic, no phone, no... More 

Thank John W
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

My wife and I spent a weekend at the Canterbury Inn and loved it! Basic accommodation with great value. Right in the middle of the downtown- close to shops, restaurants and the lake. Pierre, the owner, and Josh, the manager, are both wonderful people and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again

3 Thank Mike B
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Stayed here while attending a wedding, was allowed to check in early which was amazing. The HEAT was off in the room which seems hotel 101. The room was clean and fairly new, the pod system for the coffee was hard to use due to them only supplying one ceramic cup and it only wanted to work with that one.... More 

Thank VickyVicL
Joshua E, General Manager at The Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

VickyVic, so what I'm reading is the room was clean and fairly new, which I am very glad you noticed, but the heat was off in the room, which isn't entirely true... We keep the rooms at 15 C which is a reasonable temperature... The thermostats are super easy to use and will increase the heat with a simple adjustment... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for a wedding that was across the street. We stayed in a three double bed room for $149 in March.. Pretty pricey considering it's an off season for invermere. But they also charge for dirty dishes, and if you get makeup on the sheets or towels.. A little ridiculous for a motel. The beds and... More 

1 Thank Amy P
Joshua E, General Manager at The Canterbury Inn, responded to this review

Hey Amy P, I'm sorry we weren't your cup of tea... The rate you stated in your review is not, in fact, what your group paid, as the discount you were given for the wedding was significantly less than that... That being said, I would suggest you look around town and you would see that a two bedroom suite with... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Myself and a bunch of my golfing buddies stayed at the Canterbury Inn. We had 5 rooms and were treated like gold. It was not only affordable, it was right downtown, close to everything and was perfect for what we needed. We golfed in the area for 3 days. Josh and Kimberley treated us all like family....we found our new... More 

1 Thank Glenn C
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Busy weekend and staff quickly prepared a room for me, it was great! Coffee in the morning use of ice machine. The Norwegian elk hounds were nice company! The staff were playing guitar and singing! Nice and clean,friendly and informative. One suggestion is it would be nice to have kicking horse coffee in the rooms!

1 Thank ModLebowski

6 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (6)
Room/Suite (2)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Invermere
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Invermere Inn
13.1 km away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#20 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
90 reviews
13.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
#8 of 22 in Radium Hot Springs
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Copper Point Resort
Copper Point Resort
#1 of 3 in Invermere
1,265 reviews
2.5 km away
The Kanata Inns Invermere
The Kanata Inns Invermere
#3 of 3 in Invermere
239 reviews
4.8 km away
Mountainview Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"Located right in the heart of downtown Invermere, the Canterbury Inn of Downtown Invermere is your best choice for value, comfort and convenience in the Columbia Valley. Whether you are just passing through, or staying for a visit, our downtown location is walking distance from all the first class shops, cafes and restaurants, the famous Farmers Market, hiking trails and even Kinsmen Beach on the shores of Lake Windermere. We are also located within a 20-minute drive of both Radium and Fairmont Hot Springs, and half an hour from Panorama Ski Resort. Our room configurations range from 1 bed and 2 bed options or our popular 3 bed family suites (which include kitchenettes and a separate bedroom). All of our single queen room options have been fully renovated with your comfort in mind, and include flat screen TVs, slate tile washrooms and luxe bedding. There is free wireless internet throughout the building, and we have a bbq available for those who want to cook in the open air. The Canterbury Inn of Downtown Invermere recently changed hands, and is under new management and ownership. The Inn is now owned by Joshua Foy and James Lazarus, two local entrepreneurs, who also own and operate a historic downtown bookstore, called The Book Bar, a popular destination for visitors and residents alike. Local journalist, photographer and freelance writer, Joshua Estabrooks, and his fiancee, make up the new management team, and live on site to ensure your stay is safe and easy. So whatever your reason for visiting our amazing little valley, if you need a place to rest your head, make sure you check out the Canterbury Inn of Downtown Invermere; your most affordable and convenient downtown accommodation choice." ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Canterbury Inn

Address: 747 12th Street, Invermere, British Columbia V0A 1K0, Canada (Formerly The Invermere Boutique Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Invermere
Price Range: $112 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Canterbury Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Canterbury Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Canterbury Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all of the rooms have a mountain view; second-floor rooms only have stairs to get up there”
 of 5 bubbles brammatothreeboys, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“do not go to this motel there are plenty of better ones that cost about the same if not less.”
 of 5 bubbles drayt0np, 6 Jul 2015 | Read review
“All are air conditioned, clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles lisafO5660TM, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Good views, great eats, amazing staff”
 of 5 bubbles 570turnerm, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles TL516, 24 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay