We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hume Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#1 of 10 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hume Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

650 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 643: English reviews
Start your review of Hume Hotel & Spa
 Click to rate
Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nelson doesn't have amazing hotel options. The Hume hotel is a pretty decent selection if you have to stay there. Lots of upgrades in the past few years with quite a few different options for grabbing a drink and some food. The rooms seem updated and are comfortable. You get some street noise, but it is not too bad. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joel C
Onoway, Canada
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Great room, food is excellent. Staff is absolutely terrific. To give less than 5 stars would be doing a great injustice to the hotel staff! If you are spending 1 night or more, in Nelson, you must stay here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan W
Midway, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband booked a one-night stay at the Hume as we were planning a short visit to Nelson and it was close to my birthday. The lovely, welcoming staff had noted the birthday mention and surprised us with a complimentary upgrade to a spacious suite with a view of the lake. The room was spotless and beautifully furnished, bed incredibly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cathstewart14
Grand Forks, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a deluxe room which, while nice, does not meet the level of deluxe. Bathroom is small with a pedestal sink and a small glass shelf over the toilet to hold your personal kit, no granite counter tops in this room. The white tub/ shower tile had black mold in the grout. Rooms are comfortable but more standard than deluxe....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rick H
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Hey Rick, sorry you weren't more impressed. It sounds as though you booked one of the two rooms that has just a shower only. We actually call and sell the room as "Deluxe Queen Shower Only" and we make sure we mention in the write up that "This style of guest room has a smaller footprint than all of our...

Trail, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to love our stay at the Hume. It's a beautifully renovated hotel close to restaurants and shopping. The room was immaculate and comfortable. The view was excellent. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and generous. However, between the heat and noise, we had a restless night. We couldn't cool down the room since the air wasn't on yet. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drollighansel
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear this. Had you let us know we could have made every effort to move you into a more comfortable room. With winter being over, we can switch our units over to AC mode now so this will not be an issue. Thanks for the feedback.

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a charming 1890’s hotel that has been almost totally renovated. The rooms are spacious and totally modernized while maintaining the historic integrity and charm of the old west. It is evident that the owners spared little expense in all the details like high thread count sheets, great beds and expensive tile bathrooms. I slept like a baby. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman14
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this detailed review of your stay. For somebody who travels as much as you do, it is nice to hear how amazing the staff were. We have a very accommodating crew of people here who will do what it takes to keep our guests coming back. We look forward to seeing you back again real soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a bad place, beautiful building and great surroundings. Decent food too for the quality of hotel, better than it needs to be. My only complaint would be that the heating runs very hot and tends to cook you out of your room. Tried to fix this but front desk didn't seem to be able to - old building I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank variousforms
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. I find it odd that you think our food is "better than it needs to be". I can't say that I have ever heard that comment before. It as though you were very overwhelmed by the food quality but underwhelmed by the character and service of the hotel? We are committed to serving up amazing food...

mission
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed in a room on the 3rd floor with a frosted window i.e. no view. that is the only negative thing I can think of. (I did however, call as I arrived in town- very little notice on my end). every single staff member was in a pleasantly fun joking mood. alot of smiles and super helpful. the downstairs cabaret...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patrick d
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Thanks for celebrating our 119th birthday on St. Patrick's Day, Patrick. We are happy to hear that you fell in love with our town. Come on back for the big 120th next year!

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Great staff throughout. We got rained out of skiing so they let us check out 2 days early. So accommodating. Spotless. Great character in the halls and rooms. Old photos are great. Perfect location for wandering the town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2travel33388
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The good points; Beautiful building that has been tastefully renovated. Excellent location to walk to restaurants Pleasant staff Well furnished rooms. Excellent breakfast with the room price. The bad points NO SLEEP! We asked for a quiet room and were placed on the fourth floor. The band in the basement was so loud that with our windows closed, and earplugs...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Bayleafroses
Ryan M, Owner at Hume Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

We apologize that you were kept awake. With our lobby renovations, the sound seems to travel more than normal. It is not often we have electronic shows at the hotel anymore and last Saturday evening we had one. I hope you will return so that we can give you a better stay. Please contact me directly and I will make...

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
0.8 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
Alpine Inn and Suites
#5 of 10 in Nelson
196 reviews
1.0 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#10 of 10 in Nelson
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cloudside Hotel
Cloudside Hotel
#4 of 10 in Nelson
350 reviews
0.2 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#7 of 10 in Nelson
190 reviews
2.4 km away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#8 of 10 in Nelson
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hume Hotel is a full-service Nelson landmark originally built in 1898 and is a must-see part of your trip to the area. In 2016 finishing touches were put on the last wing of guest rooms. All three floors have been renovated beautifully, maintaining that heritage charm that it is known for while incorporating some new technology like air conditioning and flat screen tvs. Centrally located, it includes the Aura Spa & Salon, General Store Family Restaurant, Mike's Place Pub, the Library Lounge, the Spiritbar entertainment venue, the Liquor Boutique and Banquet Facilities. Overnight stays in any of the guest rooms include a full hot complimentary breakfast in the morning made to your liking. This hotel is full of history, character and amazing staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hume Hotel & Spa

Address: 422 Vernon St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4E5, Canada (Formerly Hume Hotel)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: $157 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hume Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hume Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hume Hotel Nelson
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nelson
#1 Family Hotel in Nelson
#2 Business Hotel in Nelson
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nelson
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hume Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hume Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for a view”
P1261GUpatrickd, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are noisy”
Bayleafroses, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not over the bar.”
jimmyrocket2017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some have fire places!”
284jons, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The Horace Hume Suite is perfect for a longer stay”
mumsy_11, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5