We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cloudside Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Cloudside Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cloudside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 340: English reviews
Ottawa
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in extremely comfortable tamarack suite on the 3rd floor. Delicious breakfasts served with yogurts, fruit, cereal, and hot items which varied by day from eggs and bacon to souffle and fresh muffins. Beds comfortable and hosts exceptional. STAY HERE.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OttawaShell
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Dear OttawaShell....Thank you so much, you have made our day, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and the Tamarack Apartment. We do hope we can be your hosts again if you pass this way again. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 14 July 2016

My room had a great view of the mountains, and was a short walk to downtown Nelson. Everything in the room was spotless, and my bathroom was cleaned while I ate breakfast. And breakfast was always delicious, with lots of choices. On my last morning, I had to leave before breakfast sadly, but was given a yummy brown bag breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duth650
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Duth650 for your great review, we really appreciate you taking the time. I am so glad your enjoyed your stay at Cloudside Inn and everything Nelson has to offer. We were happy to be able to send you on your way with a breakfast to keep you going during your travels. We hope to see you again one...

London
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Very comfortable beds, a warm welcome and a fine breakfast are slightly let down by the general tiredness of the fixtures and fittings. They're not quite old enough to be charming, or even quirky, but not new enough to suggest the quality to which the Cloudside aspires. Nevertheless, a great location within a short walk of all that Nelson has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentfiler
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you frequentflier for taking the time to post a review, we seem to have got the main elements for a B&B ("very comfortable beds, a warm welcome and a fine breakfast") all covered. I am disappointed you consider this a 3 out of 5 review, as these are the keys elements, and slightly shocked you found our fixture and...

Mission, Canada
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed for one night in the Willow Suite. Very comfy king sized bed with a separate sitting room and large bathroom. Loved the location. We were able to walk everywhere as its just one street back from the main street. Breakfast was Great. Homemade blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs and bacon. Will definately stay here again if we make it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey O
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tracey for such a lovely review, so happy you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to see you again if you pass this way. The suite you stayed in is due to have some french windows added at the front, so it will have its own private entrance and sitting area on the porch. This should be happening...

London
Reviewed 12 July 2016

This is in a great location, just one street back from the main street in Nelson, close to plenty of lovely restaurants, coffee shops, shops etc. It feels very homely, Chris and his family are obviously extremely committed to making it a good experience for their customers. There were a few elements that strayed over the line - eg by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank viewfr0mabridge
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing us a review, we are glad you enjoyed your time In Nelson, we really do appreciate all feed back. Its so good to see how different people perceive things, we put the hand sanitiser there in the Winter, to try to help our guests keep cold and flu free, and...

Charlotte
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed here for two nights. It's a lovely early 20c Victorian home on the fringe of a residential area, but only a block from Nelson's main shopping street. You can walk to all of the top restaurants in town. Our first floor Willow Room was a large suite with a separate sitting room with flat screen TV. large bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so glad you liked the Willow Suite, and enjoyed your stay at the Cloudside Inn. We are sorry we didn't live up to expectations for interaction with us, we try very hard to see everyone, everyday but with private entrances for guests, and eight rooms this...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We had a great single night stay here. The building was over 100 years old but beautifully restored with every creature comfort you would have in your own home, and only a couple of minutes walk to the main street. The room was very spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. Our hosts were very polite and friendly and gave us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drue I
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we too wished you could have stayed another night, Nelson is a great little town with so much to offer. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in Canada.

Canada
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We planned a visit to Nelson at a very short notice and didn’t have enough time to find out a good place to stay. Hence, we almost solely relied on the reviews and decided to stay here. We showed up sometime in the afternoon. This B&B was well located in downtown and looked like a nice large house full of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellalone
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

As we have a chance to comment I would label this 'Unacceptable review!' despite the positive comments that you made about our service and breakfast. As we have five rooms with private bathrooms it is not fair to misrepresent or misquote us. You chose to pre-book via a third party and had selected our 'Fir' room before you arrived, one...

Armstrong, Canada
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay at this quaint Inn. Our hosts were wonderful. We were privileged to eat breakfast with eight other guests and had lively conversation. The breakfast started with granola, fruit and yogurt. Later we were served French toast. The rooms were charming, although we did share a bathroom with other guests. We loved the warm and relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolynnie
riotambopata, Owner at Cloudside Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and the experience with other guests, its a a good way to find local information and travel tips from others. We are excited to be doing some renovations in the fall, and we will no longer have the shared bathroom. We will be adding some new...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Cloudside Inn and we were delighted the entire time. There were so many comfortable areas, inside and out, to relax. Inside, everything was spotless and very nicely finished and decorated. Outside, there were many nice sitting areas featuring lots of views and attractive landscaping. There was off-street parking as well. For a house as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iGrok

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.2 km away
Hume Hotel & Spa
Hume Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Nelson
645 reviews
0.6 km away
Alpine Inn and Suites
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Baker Street Inn & Convention Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Prestige Inn Nelson
Prestige Inn Nelson
#9 of 9 in Nelson
235 reviews
0.3 km away
The Adventure Hotel
The Adventure Hotel
#6 of 9 in Nelson
190 reviews
0.8 km away
Prestige Lakeside Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Although our heritage-listed building dates from 1900, Cloudside is a totally new hotel right in the heart of Nelson's historic downtown, offering stylish, contemporary alternative to standard accommodations for the discerning traveler. With just eight guest rooms (three of which have two separate bedrooms), we offer a high level of personal service and attention to detail. All of our individually-designed, modern rooms have private bathrooms, high-speed Internet access, refreshment facilities with fridges, HD satellite TV, a/c and individually controlled heating. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cloudside Hotel

Address: 410 Victoria St, Nelson, British Columbia V1L 4K5, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nelson
Price Range: $121 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloudside Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cloudside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cloudside Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Cloudside Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay in any room you will love them all”
 of 5 bubbles muffindipper, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“bark in the back if you have mobility issues easier access in the alley”
 of 5 bubbles 903wendyk, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you don't do steps this place could prove to be a little difficult!”
 of 5 bubbles davidbmwsetd, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room will be nice, since you can spend time in the common room. I had the smallest room, with a private bath. It was just fine.”
 of 5 bubbles CalgaryMarcoPolo, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One of the rooms has it's own en-suite, a small room but nice to have your own facilities.”
 of 5 bubbles 309natet, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5