We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 1 August 2015 via mobile

Looks amazing from the outside and the lobby was nicely done.......but the rooms need upgrading. We arrived and the temperature was 36°C and our air conditioning unit was blocked my the entertainment unit :/ luckily my husband and I were able to move it over so we could access the ac unit and start cooling down the suite. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank taw2012
PortAlberniHoJo, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are doing some renovation to our Hotel and hope you will come back and enjoy the. Thank you for your review.

Mission, Canada
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Good Hotel for a few nights. Lots of restaurants near by. Only 1.5 hrs to Long Beach National Park. The rooms were clean but need some upgrading. Continental breakfast was so so, but we expected as much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank berniestravels
PortAlberniHoJo, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to comment favorably about the Howard Johnson Hotel. Please come back again soon

Orange
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
PortAlberniHoJo, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 30 March 2015

While I agree that this could do with a bit of a freshing up - I found the staff wonderful. We were given a room to store our hockey gear in. They gave us access to a room for the guys to play in - with a fooze ball table, pool table and shuffle board. The complementary breakfast was set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mawsym2
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return. Thank you very much for your comments.

Edmonton
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Reviewed 28 November 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annaliese F
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Langley City, Canada
Reviewed 24 November 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank I5671VQmichaelg
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 17 November 2014

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanwZ845QK
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewed 13 November 2014

This hotel is in need of extensive renovations. Water pressure in shower was great. Rooms are dirty, smell, & have dated TV's.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed F
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are happy to hear your comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay. we are a very economical Hotel for hockey teams especially with the Continental breakfast included. We are very pleased that you have passed on your comments to us and we would just like to let you know that we are in the midst of renovating our...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We were meant to spend two nights here but a party in Parksville restricted that to one, even though two were paid for so we have no comment on breakfast, even for the second night,which will be explained later. It has a rather drab appearance ex and internally that would might need as simple a fix as a decorators brush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billmayhols
PortAlberniHoJo, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent comments about our staff and Hotel. Just to let you know we are now in the process of renovating our guest rooms. new TV"S new bathrooms etc We hope you will come back and see us again really soon

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
2.6 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
293 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
1.0 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
0.3 km away
Somass Motel & RV
Somass Motel & RV
#4 of 9 in Port Alberni
131 reviews
2.8 km away
Redford Motel & R.V. Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Address: 4850 Beaver Creek Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Port Alberni
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel has a small cafe downstairs.there is a lounge on the same parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles bitsme, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles berniestravels, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Use the AC and keep the windows closed especially if your room is at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles G3991TDjohnw, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I don't think there is a "good" room.”
 of 5 bubbles echo2010, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“Speaking to them prior to booking really helped me a lot in getting optimum value. Staff were super-helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymus_Reviewer, 17 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5