We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank michellei8
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Port Alice, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PA-IslandGirl16
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

vancouver
Reviewed 12 October 2015 via mobile

We only stayed here cause we had too. Everything booked elsewhere as here for a hockey tournament. It is clean but desperately needs a Reno. The beds awful. Why not fix it up and customers will come. The ground floor windows don't open so stuffy. Nice staff. The pub next door also a sad state. Empty no food and closed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank terrynoodle
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are renovating this Hotel and hope you will try us again. Thank you taking the time to comment.

Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed there till our new home was ready 2 or three days,, it was the mistake of our lives, mold everywhere, sink taps were loose and ready to break off, chipps in sink porcelin, window in bathroom had piece fall out when I opened it, just plain horrible, did a review and they gave me $60 back off the price,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are sorry you had a bad experience with us. We are working on our Hotel to make it better. Please give us try again and I hope you have a great experience. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Great location--within walking distance to many good restaurants. The hotel itself is old and tired. However, our room was clean with fresh sheets and fluffy, white towels. We could open our window for fresh air. The wifi worked fine. There was also a compact fridge and microwave in our room which were clean and worked well. Continental breakfast was included....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank notso799
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our Howard Johnson Hotel. Please come again when in Port Alberni.

Gibbons, Canada
Reviewed 19 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel is very noisy with working crews partying till the early hours in the morning. The room door had been kicked in once before and the locks had not been repaired. The bathroom door didn't latch and the paint is peeling off the walls and frames. The room was very stuffy and the windows didn't open. There is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JETWarner
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are very sorry about the crews working in our vicinity and that the noise bothered you. We are improving our Hotel with renovations and hope you will return and try us again. Thank you.

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This place is family friendly, and the staff is very friendly and engaging. We stayed there for 3 nights and met 3 different hosts. I must say all of them were very friendly, courteous and guided us on the best places to visit and how to get around. The room was nice and clean, recently upgraded and had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Asifalikhan1978
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

Thank you your positive comments about our Hotel. We appreciate your support. Please come again and see our further improvements

Kamloops, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Our room was tiny, it smelled of mold, our window was left open with a floor portable air conditioner sticking out of it. The paint on the walls of the bathroom was chipping, the bottom of the bathtub was yellow. There was no soundproofing at all in the walls. Terrible value for your money. The continental breakfast was awful as...

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank schndeids92
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are very sorry you had a bad experience at our Hotel. We completing renovations her and hope you will give us another try when you are in Port Alberni. thank you for your constructive comments.

Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlon M
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I booked a room here because it was pet friendly. We got in late after sight seeing, around 10:30 p.m. and was told they didn't have any pet rooms left so sorry, you can't stay here! We asked to speak to the manager as it was late and we were exhausted hoping they would be sympathetic to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PortAlberniHoJo, Front Office Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were turned away form our Hotel. We will be certain that this never happens again. Please accept our apologies.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Alberni hotels
2.6 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
294 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
1.0 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
0.3 km away
Somass Motel & RV
Somass Motel & RV
#4 of 9 in Port Alberni
131 reviews
2.8 km away
Redford Motel & R.V. Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Address: 4850 Beaver Creek Rd, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7C8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: $80 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Port Alberni
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel has a small cafe downstairs.there is a lounge on the same parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles bitsme, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Any room is ok.”
 of 5 bubbles berniestravels, 29 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Use the AC and keep the windows closed especially if your room is at the back of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles G3991TDjohnw, 13 Sep 2014 | Read review
“I don't think there is a "good" room.”
 of 5 bubbles echo2010, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“Speaking to them prior to booking really helped me a lot in getting optimum value. Staff were super-helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymus_Reviewer, 17 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5