We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni

Save
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent9%
  • Very good20%
  • Average30%
  • Poor24%
  • Terrible17%
3 Oct 2017
“It was ok”
17 Sep 2017
“Weekend at the Fall Fair”
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Wheelchair Access
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Additional information
Offers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Special Offer: Save $8 off Per Night
Hotel deals
Offers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Special Offer: Save $8 off Per Night
Hotel deals
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
14
32
46
37
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
14
32
46
37
29
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

There is a restaurant at this hotel, called " BuckSnort Restaurant " that is outstanding! GREAT food, huge portions, excellent and very reasonable prices, that serve senior, children, and most types of dishes. Exceptionally friendly staff, quick service, in an old fashioned designed bar/restaurant setting.

Thank bigfella053
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

The restaurant located at the Howard Johnson was a horrible experience for me. Inside my green salad was a big chunk of totally raw chicken fat (looked like trimming off chicken breast). It was the length of my finger and by the time I found...More

1  Thank Jimb01974
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

The visit was ok. Although the room was clean and smoke free, the partying down in the other rooms was loud and went on until 3-4am in the morning! Not sure why the office didn't shut it down. My reason for the 3 star rating.More

Thank kaylal211
Response from PortAlberniHoJo, front desjk at Howard Johnson Hotel Port AlberniResponded 5 October 2017

we had the toy run that weekend a childrens charity that we accomidate every year and everybody not affiliated with that we informed them. as you would have been informed of before checking in and chose to stay anyway so im sorry you didnt enjoy...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017

would not resolve the problem with thousands on ants on the walkway into the lobby of the hotel, rundown lobby, old old box small TV, unprofessional staff.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Bonnie D
Reviewed 17 September 2017

When we first checked in, she told me Booking messed up our booking. I requested 3 rooms with Queen size beds, 2 needs per room. We were assigned a one double bed, so my kids would have had to sleep on the floor. The lady...More

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Tutuhsuhtaaqsa
View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
USD 78 - USD 81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
USD 78 - USD 81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (4)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Ask for a room with a good bed."
Read review
"The hotel has a small cafe downstairs.there is a lounge on the same parking lot"
Read review
"Any room is ok."
Read review
"Use the AC and keep the windows closed especially if your room is at the back of the hotel."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing