We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

368 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The air conditioner in our unit did not work. Maintenance was sent up and said "I cannot do anything I am just the janitor". I asked for a credit off of our bill due to a bad night's sleep. The manager who didn't even bother coming to see me offered me $25 - very disappointing experience given that everything else...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DGB_TTT
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DGB_TTT: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this Tripadvisor review. We checked the air conditioning units after you had left in the morning and found they were both working fine. The only thing I can think of is that when the outside temperature drops to 60 degrees Fahrenheit, the air conditioner which has a...

Reviewed 9 July 2016

Every member of the staff at the Barclay was amazing! We couldn't thank the office staff, the restaurant staff, and the cleaning staff enough. We've never been treated with such kindness and concern at any hotel in the past. My 91 year old dad and 86 year old mom were so well taken care of by everyone that I don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky E
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky E: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had the opportunity to enjoy Stamps Café while you were here. Stamps Café has become a favourite among our guests and locals alike. We look forward to welcoming...

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Best overall service I've experienced in a hotel. Everyone from front desk, to bar staff, restaurant staff, and housekeeper. Made us feel welcome in a genuine way, a friendly way, not just from some customer service training handbook. Rooms were immaculately clean, with solid ammenities. Food in bar and restaurants were good portions, hot, and delicious.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bonnie C: Thank you for taking the time to fill out this Tripadvisor review. We are all happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and the entire team was very proud to read your comment that this was the best overall service you have experienced in a hotel. We always try to provide the best service and product...

Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here the weekend of Canada day the hotel was beautiful even the room so were happy to have a good night sleep after a busy weekend. It wasn't until we went to bed that we had the hardest time sleeping because the mattress was so firm and hard that we couldn't get comfortable so got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rae l
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rae l: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in this Tripadvisor review. We are sorry to hear you found your bed uncomfortable, we generally get great responses in this area. I will review our room standards with our Housekeeping Team as it is standard to have coffee packages in all of the rooms, and I...

Crofton, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Central to everywhere, lots of parking, quiet. There are lots of gentle hiking trails nearby and lots of hard climbing trails. We could see the water from 5th floor. The quay has a new aquarium with touch ponds that are filled with local ocean life, collected from the local waters, Definitely must see for $5.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tawny M
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tawny M: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. Their are many things to enjoy in the Alberni Valley and you definitely had the opportunity to enjoy some of the beauty of the surrounding area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward...

Bowser, Canada
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We stayed at the BWP Barclay Hotel because it is well located and a well respected Hotel in Port Alberni. While filling in time prior to the wedding festivities we walked to the waterfront Quay Drive and admired the waterfront near the Canal Marina in the morning. It was a delightful stroll along the river and on the Quay, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan012014
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan012014: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us during your recent stay in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room well appointed and comfortable. We have recently completed a renovation of all of our guest rooms and the results have been very well received...

Victoria BC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

The facility has lots of parking. The lobby & rooms all seem fresh and updated. Our room was very clean and came with a queen size bed, pullout couch, small fridge. It also had all the amenities in the bathroom including a hairdryer. The bed itself was on the hard side, so if that is a factor then longer stays...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GordonHeadFamily
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GordonHeadFamily, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be clean and updated. We recently completed a renovation of all of our guest rooms. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We spent one night here in a large very comfortable room which was spotlessly clean. King size bed had very good quality linen and the room was attractively furnished. The bathroom is small but also spotlessly clean and equipped with everything required. The room had coffee maker, fridge and microwave. We had dinner and breakfast in the cafe, both meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AussieBE
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AussieBE, Thank you for taking the time to write this Tripadvisor review about your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel spotlessly clean. Our Housekeeping team will enjoy hearing this feedback as they take great pride in keeping the building clean and well maintained. Also happy to hear that you...

Reviewed 24 June 2016

While I was here for work related activities, this location offered relative closeness to the Tofino and/or Ucluelet areas in the form of day trips. The hotel itself is very clean and comfortable. Front staff are extremely helpful and competent. Rooms were decent size and well organized. The bar/restaurant offered decent food selections and reasonable prices. This hotel is close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy P
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tammy P: Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable. We are centrally located in Port Alberni and close to all attractions. Many of our guests choose to stay in...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and highly recommend it. Staff is very friendly. It is very clean and the rooms are decorated very nice. It was quiet and had a great nights sleep. It has a great breakfast and a nice bar/lounge area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank thesimpsons46
BWBarclayGM, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thesimpsons46: Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay with us in this Tripadvisor review. It is always nice to hear reviews from repeat guests to let us know we are on the right track in providing the services and products our guests look for in an enjoyable stay. Our team takes great...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Alberni
1.4 km away
The Hospitality Inn
The Hospitality Inn
#2 of 9 in Port Alberni
295 reviews
64.0 km away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,270 reviews
1.2 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Port Alberni
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
80.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Tin Wis Resort
0.3 km away
Riverside Motel
Riverside Motel
#3 of 9 in Port Alberni
102 reviews
2.7 km away
Cedar Wood Lodge Bed & Breakfast Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Best Western Barclay an exceptional Port Alberni hotel on Vancouver Island, BC. Come be our guest in Port Alberni and enjoy a leisurely stay in warm, comfortable accommodations with tasteful décor. We are located 50 miles (80km) northwest of Nanaimo and is the midway point on Highway 4 to Vancouver Island’s West Coast. Situated in a valley surrounded by mountains and water, Port Alberni's beauty is breathtaking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel

Address: 4277 Stamp Ave, Port Alberni, British Columbia V9Y 7X8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Port Alberni
Price Range: $124 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Alberni
Port Alberni Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hayward, California
1 month ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Barclay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had rooms on the 4th and 5th floors. Liked the king room on the 5th floor the best”
650SherryB, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The suite is worth a few extra dollars with a family.”
HockeyDad86, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in a suite. Plenty of room to stretch out with the additional living area”
Rainy_Vanc0uver, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pet friendly room with king bed and sofa bed was easy accessed by elevator from the lobby. Nice and quiet.”
Tyson_13, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on the 2nd floor and it was fine.”
371ellenk, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5