We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clansman Motel

Expedia.comUSD 98*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 100*
USD 98*
USD 100*
USD 100*
USD 98*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clansman Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of The Clansman Motel
 Click to rate
Old Perlican, Canada
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We have been staying here every time we take the boat to and from Newfoundland (since 2006). The staff are wonderful, the food is great, and the rooms are very clean. We have always travelled with our little dog and we get a room on the back, so close to pet area. Shopping is close by as well. A perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret01052017
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We do our best to make our customers stay as comfortable as possible, an are glad to hear you enjoy staying with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are passing through. Melanie

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Just checked in with a 6 year old shepherd. The room is great with drive up access. The room has a fridge and microwave. There is also a trail right next to the hotel which is suiting to let the dog run.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee-Ann D
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Lee-Ann D, Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback, we appreciate it. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area. Melanie

NovaScotia
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Stayed the night of December 17/17 with my sons hockey team in room 203 The team meal was very poor but was addressed at the time, however the rest of the food was very good. The rooms are very dated but clean. My major issue was that the room was freezing when we arrived and even with the heat on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JRod1969
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear JRod1969, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We are pleased to hear that your meal issue was handled immediately by the kitchen staff. You are correct there was a heating issue with our upstairs rooms that we were unaware of because we rarely use the upstairs rooms this...

Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed during a stormy night, with another couple in a two bedroom cabin at the Clansman hotel. It is perfect for couples travelling together. There are separate washrooms, a full kitchen and nice sitting area. There is a nice porch on the front but we didn't use due to the weather.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Terry C, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are ever back this way again we would love to welcome you back. Melanie

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Once again on our return trip from Newfoundland we stay at the Clansmen.....after our Ferry trip from Newfoundland....we spend the night there and start our travels the next day..this place is pet friendly...very clean...quiet...has on site restaurant.the staff are very helpful and courteous..they have a pool as well and are very close to Ferry..highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bert B
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay & that you continue to choose us whenever you are in the area. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Wingham, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We needed a place to stay and the prices in Sydney were all closer to $200 a night so we came here. A room with 2 beds was about $145 with the tax. Older motel, with some updates, it is clean. The beds are older and not the most comfortable, and we had one smallish older bath towel each. Thankfully...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara d
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are an older motel, but we pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and are glad you appreciated that. Extra towels are available upon request at the front desk. We are happy you enjoyed our onsite restaurant. Would love to have you stay with us again if you are...

Port Alberni, Canada
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Stayed for one night prior to taking the ferry to Newfoundland. Very conveniently located, just a five minute drive. Friendly reception. Hotel grounds are nicely set among a grove of trees. Room was a little dated but comfortable enough. Microwave, fridge, flat screen tv. Internet worked well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Landcruiser78
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

It is always a pleasure hearing from our guests who enjoyed their stay with us. thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests. We would love to welcome you back if you are ever back in this area again.

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

This motel was very good. We had no issues whatsoever with our accommodations. We actually got upgraded to a bigger room for no apparent reason and we enjoyed all the amenities that came with this. The restaurant on site, had many choices of food and it was very good. We had their breakfast also and service was fast and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Hello Sharon, We are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took the time to write us such a lovely review. We do our best to make all our guests stay with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Happy to hear that you enjoyed all of our amenities including our restaurant. We look forward to...

Reviewed 14 August 2016

Though this motel needs a little TLC, the staff is what makes this place Fantastic. The first night I went to the restaurant to see about take out( yes they do) and I met the cook. She told me about what I wanted to order and how she would put it on 2 plates for me. She even asked me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Nancy R, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us. We are thrilled that you were so impressed by the service our staff provided you during your stay. We look forward to seeing you if you are ever traveling in the area again. Thank you.

Reviewed 10 July 2016

We recently stayed at The Clansman Motel, first impression I knew it was dated and I can usually see past that. Our first room had a flooded bathroom floor and the room smelt of mold. They were accommodating enough to give us another room and although it was in the "addition" or newer building it was still very dated and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Melanie L, Public Relations Manager at The Clansman Motel, responded to this review

Dear Amanda C, Unfortunately your first room did have a leak so we happily moved you to another room. Had you mention any problems in the second room to the front desk staff then we would have tried to accommodate you in any way we could. All of our rooms have a standard hotel mattresses. Your experience is not our...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Sydney
1.6 km away
At The Harbourfront Bed & Breakfast Inn
10.9 km away
Hotel North
Hotel North
#1 of 4 in North Sydney
65 reviews
10.3 km away
Cambridge Suites - Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Sydney
11.4 km away
Hearthstone Inn Sydney
4.9 km away
Kow's Inn
Kow's Inn
#1 of 1 in Little Bras d'Or
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clansman Motel is a family owned and operated business in the heart of North Sydney. We strive to make each guest feel like a part of the family. Our property supplies everything you could need on your vacation including its own restaurant and bar. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clansman Motel

Address: 9 Baird St | PO Box 216, North Sydney, Nova Scotia B2A 0A9, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > North Sydney
Price Range: $124 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clansman Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Clansman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clansman Hotel North Sydney
The Clansman Motel North Sydney, Nova Scotia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clansman Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Clansman Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We are always at the back, and it's quiet and excellent for our little dog.”
Margaret01052017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Face the pool, from small single rooms to 2 bedroom cottages. Just a fantastic place to stay!!”
Dougeight, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Cabins looks nice and newer”
Greyhoundlover, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“There is a second floor with outdoor stairs. There are some larger cabins which accommodate families, etc.”
V2403RSlindab, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the front and not one in the back facing the highway.”
746williamm, 17 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 98* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 100
TripAdvisorUSD 98
PricelineUSD 100
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates