We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sword Motor Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sword Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 168: English reviews
Ennismore, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have been here a couple times now. Rooms were always very clean and staff very friendly and eager to help with alll our needs. Great place for snowmobiling as the trails are right next to motel.Pool was good also very clean well kept. We also enjoyed the sauna. We will be back again very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don R
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your super kind words. We appreciate your feedback and loyalty to our location. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays here each time. Thank you for standing by us! Hope to see you again!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading some of the reviews on here, I feel the need to pull the harp out. Its amazing how pitiful and 'uppity' some of you are. Your moaning because you had a spider or wee cobweb in your room. GET OVER IT!! I bet you have worse crawling through your house!!! You are expecting perfection. Be glad you live...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah H
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your super kind words. We appreciate your feedback and loyalty to our location. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays here each time and its great to see you come with your dog. Thank you for standing by us! Hope to see you and your dog again soon!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Worst place ever!!! Went to check In And girl at front desk complained about everything than told us that if we hear a snow pole to get up and move our car?? Really??? Than we get to our room and there is 1 double bed? Again really? The room was aweful we had to fix the toilet several times for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shannon V
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback. I am sorry you did not find the rooms satisfactory. Toilet issues are a common problem in any hotel and we do our best look after them. If the toliet is not working properly and we are told at the time we fix it or move to another room. I am...

North Bay, Canada
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Very clean, but dated. Bathroom is very small. Friendly staff. Pool and hot tub need to be cleaned. Our key would not work, had to switch rooms, key was hit and miss in 2 nd room. Many trips back and forth to front desk as we were locked out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sally44442016
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your door locks, even with having to move to another room. Unfortunately technology does that some times. Pool and hot tub have both been completely cleaned this weekend. Again thank you and hope to see you again.

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We booked a fireplace jacuzzi room. Arrived to find tub covered with hairs along with hair in shower...another type of hair on top of toilet (guess)..huge spider web on light.. A fireplace that was not even on (manual pilot off) and dirty and incredibly disgusting.inside and out.glass was beyond filthy...went to office..said would clean room while we were out..didn't...owner called...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank courtice_travellors
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that your stay with us was not to your standards, and for any inconvenience you were caused. I will pass on the information in regards to the cleaning of the room to the housekeeper manager so she can look into it. Thank You for you posting and your feed back will be taken and addressed accordingly.

Newcastle
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Customer service lovely, very friendly. Room is cramped and very small. Smells like it was formerly a smoking room. Bathtub is sized for a toddler. You literally turn around in one space to use facilities. Windows are circa 1970 and for air conditioning it is a small window unit. Bed is comfortable!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SBishop18
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful words about our staff, I will pass that on to them. I am sorry you found the rooms to be small and cramped. The windows are actually fairly new and the A/C units are new in the past two years. Sorry if they were not satisfactory. Hope to see you in the area again. Thank...

Midland
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I have just spent three days on Bancroft and staying at the Sword Motor Inn. Check in was scrambled with to front desk reps trying to process three guests in the lobby at the same time. We had booked a suite with another guest who had not yet arrived. We paid for our portion of the room and was promptly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry that your experience here was not fully satisfactory. We have updated our buildings and try to accommodate everyone the best we can. Sorry for your frustrations that the parking lot close to your room was full. As you said we were completely booked for the weekend and the parking is first come...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I have been using this hotel several times a summer for the last 10 years. (Funny thing though, no one has EVER said 'Nice to see you again' or some such thing.) IT has gotten much better in the last 5 years or so. Its a tragedy they closed the little breakfast restaurant they used to have and now only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobandKris2
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate you being a multiple time return guest. The inn has gotten new management in the past five years and I am happy to hear that it has been a positive change. I am sorry that you have never been told nice to see you again. If I am at the desk next...

Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Went to Bancroft on the hunt to find new properties with my family. Spent $340.00 on two rooms, side by side. There was apparently heating but it didn't seem to work only a/c. Should vacuum along the sides of the mattress to remove food and dirt. Was a cold sleep, taking the blankets from the other bed. No one slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyse B
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I hope you enjoyed your time in our area and that you did find some new property in this beautiful country area. We are sorry that your heating was not working properly, did you mention it to our staff to assist you? I will pass on the comment about the food and dirt on side...

Cobourg, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Staff was very friendly and helpful even late at night. Clean rooms, lots of parking. Pool was nice, however the hot tub didn't really work well. Office area is warm and comfortable. Over all my family enjoyed the night. I would not hesitate to stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sap136
Sunil P, General Manager at Sword Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that almost everything was great. The hot tub is a little dated and we are looking at getting it replaced so hopefully next time you are here we have a frsh one for you to try out. Enjoy the fall season and...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bancroft
2.5 km away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
61 reviews
0.8 km away
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
Bancroft Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Bancroft
12 reviews
8.0 km away
Teddy Bear Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Shamrock Hill B&B
Shamrock Hill B&B
#3 of 9 in Bancroft
29 reviews
26.0 km away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
141 reviews
22.4 km away
Benaaron Guest House
Benaaron Guest House
#1 of 9 in Bancroft
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are located just on the north side of Bancroft near the end of Hasting St. We accommodate Sledders, ATV's, Pets, Rock Hounds and just the passer buyer. We have a heated in door pool, Hot tub and dry sauna along with a games room. All our guest receive a complimentary continental breakfast in our lovely breakfast area with there stay. This includes Hot waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, choice of different breads and pastries, coffee, tea, juice and much more! We are with in walking distance to almost everything in town and have a park right beside us that the York river runs through and right behind our location as well. So if you are a canoeist this is the spot to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sword Motor Inn

Address: 146 Hastings St, Bancroft, Ontario K0L 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Bancroft
Price Range: $153 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sword Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sword Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bancroft
Bancroft Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sword Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
Toronto
over a year ago
Toronto
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sword Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms in central and back from highway very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles joanh515, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“the room they gave us was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles jaxson, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check the room, especially the bathroom, before you commit yourself.”
 of 5 bubbles rafraj60, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for one attached to the kitchenette/pool, so if it rains, you'll be Ok.”
 of 5 bubbles 997christianm, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go to this motel!”
 of 5 bubbles yellowtweety1980, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay