We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Walper Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Walper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Walper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 10 November 2016

I stayed at the newly renovated Walper a few days before it's grand opening. The stay I had was so terrible that the hotel comped me a room. It was honestly one of the worst hotel stays that I had ever had. The other people staying on our floor were very loud, and were hanging out in the hall in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sp_lawrence88
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi sp_lawrence88, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We value all our guests' feedback, positive or negative, as it helps us grow and be more accommodating & welcoming. We would love to speak to you directly in order to address certain issues you had with your stay, so if you are interested in providing more in-depth feedback,...

Stratford, Canada
Reviewed 6 November 2016

We were married at the walper and return yearly for our anniversary.we were excited last year as the hotel was about to undergo renovations to the tune of $3M. we returned and we were absolutely horrified. They took a beautiful old hotel and turned it into an IKEA showroom. its lost all its turn of the century charm, and im...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mike, Thanks for your feedback. We're so pleased that you were married here at The Walper and that you have been returning yearly ever since. As you know, we underwent a massive $10 million renovation and many assets in the hotel were changed. Fortunately, we were able to upgrade all of the old HVAC systems while preserving some historic...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 4 November 2016

hotel is newly renovated, staff were very good, friendly and accommodating, the room was clean, modern but small, only 1 mirror in room making it a bit of a task for 2 getting ready for a night out. We were there for a wedding and it was in a unique room, very enjoyable The location is the best park of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank golfngord
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi golfngord, Thanks so much for your feedback. We're pleased you found our staff friendly and accommodating - we value them greatly and they take great strides in making sure our guests are welcomed with warmth. We're so sorry about the construction on nearby roads, the ION Light Rail Transit System is a work in progress that effects us all....

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2016

10/10 would recommend. You would pay double for this sort of experience downtown Toronto. We tried to get into 2 other boutique hotels for our wedding anniversary before we heard of this one. The Walper is gorgeously renovated with great big, very modern rooms and a king size bed. The building is gorgeous and the staff very helpful. We appreciated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 416expat
Windsor-Essex-Pelee Island Region, Canada
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Walper reminded me of a "theme park hotel" - eg mid-century - nothing quality. Paper thin walls, no box spring on the bed, just a very average mattress. I looked out the window and the frames on the exterior are shabby and peeling. They have not even been painted or clad with aluminum -- very budget reno both interior and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S4722EK
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Trying to be optimistic, but the reality is I felt that the price was high for the amenities/services rendered. This is a recently renovated, centrally located hotel (more on that later) near downtown Kitchener. Lots of people on bikes and walking the sidewalks. The location is close to several restaurants in walking distance. Although recently renovated, the building is most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan P
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ryan P, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of your stay in our hotel, we value it greatly. It sounds like some of our design picks weren't up your alley and we definitely respect that. In terms of the wrinkles we had not yet ironed out at the time of your stay, we are truly...

Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in this newly renovated hotel recently. The decor is fantastic even though there are a few finishing touches that still need to be completed. The room and common areas were very clean and well maintained. Front desk service was excellent. I would definitely recommend The Walper!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bvanbeezy
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed in this newly renovated hotel while attending a wedding. It is an old hotel that has been beautifully restored, keeping its original charm while adding modern fixtures, colours and conveniences. Here's a quick list of pros and cons: Pros -extremely friendly, helpful, eager to please staff -our room was large and airy (though our friends' room was half...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lucyandmoosey
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We loved our two night stay over the Thanksgiving weekend. The renovations to this hotel are beautiful! The attention to detail that has gone into each room and the focus on preserving the buildings unique characteristics is truly impressive. All the staff, from the front desk to housecleaners, were extremely friendly and accommodating. It is also clear the management has...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JLSutherland
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We live in the KW region and wanted to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. So, we booked a room at The Walper Hotel and had ourselves a little 'staycation'! Well, from the fabulous new decor- such an amazing renovation job, wonderful staff(love the bow ties at the front desk), warm and cosy rooms, thoughtful card and yummy goodies to congratulate...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel G
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel G, We are thrilled you chose to hold your anniversary staycation with us! Thanks for taking the time to review us and share your feedback (we love the bow ties, too!). Congrats on 10 years! That's awesome! We wish you many more happy years and maybe we'll even see you the next time you're in need of an...

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
260 reviews
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in the historic charm of The Walper Hotel, an iconic 1893 landmark set along the quaint streets of one of Kitchener, Ontario's oldest neighbourhoods. You'll be captivated by this building's amazing past, and charmed by its contemporary flare. From Eleanor Roosevelt's preferred breakfast location on the interior terrace to Lennox Lewis' boxing match in the Crystal Ballroom, to the tales of Al Capone's liquor smuggling operation in the cavernous basement restaurant, every nook and cranny in this Waterloo hotel has a story to tell. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Walper Hotel

Address: 20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Price Range: $165 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Walper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walper Terrace Kitchener
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Region Of Waterloo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Walper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are unique, and so you are likely to find a pretty room!”
 of 5 bubbles LynneKnowlts, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High up view, away from the Elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles cubaexplorer, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room was at the back of the hotel not on the street fronts and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JanMontreal, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you're on the third floor above the party room it could get noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles O8445JWkarenb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Interior rooms are dark but quiet”
  • Windows are not sound proof
  • Room 502
  • Room 502
  • Very nice shower
 of 5 bubbles ChrisfromTO, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5