We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Walper Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Walper Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Walper Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Kitchener, ON
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Was great to spend a night at the Walper Hotel after it's remodel. Rooms are fresh and modern witch was a nice touch with the historic hotel. TWS is a great restaurant to have a meal or just drinks with friends. The central location gives you access to many of the shop and night life.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktowngalKitchener_ON
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hey ktowngalKitchener_ON, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Walper Hotel and for taking the time out of your day to share your feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the location and our restaurant downstairs. We see that you graciously rated us 4-stars, which we are grateful for, but we'd love to make that a 5-star the next...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here the night of our wedding and weren't disappointed. We are KW locals and we're so impressed with renovations! Beautiful. Love the hipster coffee set up in the rooms! We might take advantage of one of their 'KW locals' deal in the future for a staycation. Thanks to all the wonderful staff who made our stay so special.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank THtheTraveller
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 December 2016

It's great to finally have a real boutique hotel in KW. The quality of the rooms, cocktail bar and staff now finally match the beautiful exterior of the hotel. Have only had the opportunity to stay one night so far, but service was excellent, the room was great and cocktails delicious. Expect to be staying a lot more in 2017.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmlplunkett
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi cmlplunkett, Thank you so much for your review and for choosing to stay at The Walper Hotel. We love hearing feedback from our guests and are so pleased to offer our amazing Waterloo Region the high level of service its residents deserve in our boutique hotel. We're especially glad to hear you are planning on visiting us more in...

Reviewed 20 December 2016

On the plus side, beautiful hotel, quaint, with qualities you do not see at the chain hotels. I will definitely stay here again. The staff truly cared about the place and you could tell they had a lot of pride in their workplace. The bar and restaurant on the 2nd floor were excellent. Our crew spent a lot of time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim N
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tim N, Thank you very much for your feedback and for your review of The Walper Hotel. We truly value guest feedback such as yours. We're really pleased you noticed how much our staff care about our hotel. Your feedback about the coffee not showing up one morning as well as the delivery system itself has been noted. We...

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Couples visit, Pocket room King room. Nice room, bed is amazing and bath very modern. Room was quiet and had no issues. TV would cut in an out so not sure if all the TV’s are connected WIFI. Wifi for computers and phone was much better than most hotels. We would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shubsens
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi shubsens, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Walper Hotel. We love hearing feedback from guests and it's great to hear you would choose to stay with us again! We're not happy to hear the TV was cutting in and out -- we are going to do a service call on the connections of the entire TV network...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 2 December 2016

My wife and I were attending a family wedding being hosted at the Walper Hotel, so we decided to book a room so we could really enjoy the party. My wife booked a "Cityside King" room (502) which overlooked Queen Street. The hotel had been recently updated and it showed with the room having a "Hipster" feel. The shower was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromTO
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ChrisfromTO, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with The Walper Hotel. Thank you for all of your feedback. Our front desk ambassadors should have offered you coffee when you check-in for the chemex in your room. The reason we ask upon check-in is so that we can grind the beans fresh for each guest - it comes...

Welland, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I had a chance to return to The new Walper Hotel . This time as a couple . This is a very nice boutique hotel with upscale feel . Front desk staff are all excellent and there to help . We had a great room #501. A nice 2 room suite with a comfortable seating area . The most comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andy G, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us - twice now! We hope your significant other enjoyed themselves as much as you. It's so lovely to hear that you noticed & enjoyed the small touches we offer to make each stay a truly unique, boutique hotel experience. We hope you choose to continue staying with...

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2016

We stayed here for one night, only about 6 weeks after their re-opening. Lots of positives about this hotel. Friendly, efficient staff, beautiful large room. Bath products were lovely. Stopped at the bar for a glass of wine. Very nice bartender, with lots of interesting ideas for cocktails. Still could use a bit more art, perhaps, as some walls (including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne37
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maryanne37, Thank you so much for your feedback & for choosing to stay at The Walper Hotel. Hearing feedback about our rooms + new mixologist is great, as we are so pleased to be able to offer the only boutique hotel experience in Waterloo Region. Great tips about the art! We're huge art lovers so a suggestion of other...

Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and it was wonderful from start to end. When I arrived at the hotel I was an hour early and McKenzie at the front desk was very accommodating and she was super nice, she told me about some good restaurants in the area and took my coffee order for the morning. I got to my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeaShellz16
DBaldasaro, General Manager at The Walper Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SeaShellz16, Wow - thanks for all your feedback! It's so great when we can learn what our guests think of their experiences in our hotel. Each piece of feedback helps us grow and it is also wonderful when we get to hear how we are able to help make a guest stay truly exceptional! We hope you will continue...

Sarnia, Canada
Reviewed 18 November 2016

Stayed for one night. Room was clean and nicely decorated. Check-in staff were fast and professional. Hotel seemed pretty quiet for a Tuesday night ;) Not sure why they didn't have coffee in the room ... just had to call front desk and it was right up. Would agree with others that it was a little pricey. Parking was an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geekydaddy

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotels Waterloo
#2 of 9 in Waterloo
260 reviews
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in the historic charm of The Walper Hotel, an iconic 1893 landmark set along the quaint streets of one of Kitchener, Ontario's oldest neighbourhoods. You'll be captivated by this building's amazing past, and charmed by its contemporary flare. From Eleanor Roosevelt's preferred breakfast location on the interior terrace to Lennox Lewis' boxing match in the Crystal Ballroom, to the tales of Al Capone's liquor smuggling operation in the cavernous basement restaurant, every nook and cranny in this Waterloo hotel has a story to tell. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Walper Hotel

Address: 20 Queen St S, Kitchener, Ontario N2G 1V6, Canada (Formerly Walper Terrace Hotel)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Price Range: $161 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Walper Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Walper Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walper Terrace Kitchener
The Walper Hotel Kitchener, Region Of Waterloo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Walper Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are unique, and so you are likely to find a pretty room!”
 of 5 bubbles LynneKnowlts, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High up view, away from the Elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles cubaexplorer, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room was at the back of the hotel not on the street fronts and was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JanMontreal, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you're on the third floor above the party room it could get noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles O8445JWkarenb, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Interior rooms are dark but quiet”
  • Windows are not sound proof
  • Room 502
  • Room 502
  • Very nice shower
 of 5 bubbles ChrisfromTO, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5