We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Dower Cottage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clayton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dower Cottage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Many thanks to the owners for helping us out at such short notice and for their flexibility in accommodating and fitting us in round other bookings during our 3 weeks stay. Its a lovely tranquil spot and the accommodation was cosy and fitted all our needs. The current owners are retiring so I think we will be one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beakybeak
Reviewed 15 August 2011

as you drive up you are impressed with th grounds of the b&b. The views are wonderful and you are met by a very warm welcome by the hosts. Warm cottage style rooms, coffee and tea in the room as you are amazed by the relaxed atmosphere. Thank you for a great stay, and a lovely country breakfast. Good luck....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lippencil
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2011

After seeing the setting for this property and the owners understandable but over enthusiastic description on their website, we could have expected something above the ordinary. In reality, this B and B represents poor value for the money asked. The room we were in is small. the linen tired, the towels greying with age, the bed uncomfortable and there were...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank 186370Disappointed
andydower, Owner at Dower Cottage, responded to this review

I give up!! You just can't please everybody I know, but this review is totally wrong. This room is not small! It is a lovely double room, with french doors out to a private walled garden, is bright and airy and has wonderful views over the gardens. The bed is very comfortable, we have tried all our beds and wouldn't...

Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2011

A great scenery to wake up to...however a shame that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Our room was clean and the breakfast delicious - a tip - do find out what is on offer for breakfast as it appeared that variety was limited. Also ensure that you have an ensuite as not all rooms do ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TTT007
andydower, Owner at Dower Cottage, responded to this review

I'm sorry this person wasn't aware that her room wasn't en-suite. She obviously didn't book her accommodation. We only have one room without private facilities and always make people aware of this.Our breakfast includes fresh fruit salad, grapefruit, many different cereals, several different yogurts and a full cooked breakfast with any type of egg requested. The only things we don;t...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This quientessential English cottage boasts wonderful views of the countryside, with fantastic grounds (great for trampolining & playing frisbee!) and a cosy library on the upper floor, a delightful place for an afternoon cuppa. The owners are extremely welcoming and friendly and the breakfast delicious with a good variety of choices. I would recommend this little gem to anyone. Thanks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fquick
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The service was personalised and we were offered a tray, in our room or could make our own tea & coffee in the kitchen. The room was delightful with far reaching country views, comfortable bed and ensuite bathroom. We enjoyed the quiet location and exploring the quaint village of Ditchling. And it's on;y 15 minutes from Brighton! We liked best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank squirt4567
Northwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2011

This was our 4th visit to Dower Cottage, the 1st with our children (4,2 and 1). We love it here and cannot praise it highly enough. The setting is beautiful, with amazing views. The cottage is very clean and well presented, and I am very picky about this! Our room was easily large enough to accommodate us all and after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Moogiechoo
London
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Haven't stayed at a B&B since we have had children - would be much more open to it now after staying with Chris and Andy at Dower Cottage. It helps that they have multiple grandchildren (I think it was over 10!) so the lovely grounds include both trampoline and teepee. The setting is lovely (although we didn't have that long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shawsieLondon
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2011

Great place, highly recommended, so tranquil, 10 mins to Brighton, great pubs near by!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshBreeze007
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Dower Cottage is an excellent place to stay - it is in a beautiful peaceful location, very comfortable, and with really welcoming and friendly hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjs36

7 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clayton
2.2 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#1 of 1 in Ditchling
201 reviews
1.8 km away
Tovey Lodge
Tovey Lodge
#1 of 5 in Ditchling
136 reviews
2.0 km away
Duck Lodge
Duck Lodge
#4 of 4 in Pyecombe
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
South Downs Way Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Dower Cottage

Address: Coombe Down Cottage Underhill Lane, Clayton BN6 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Clayton
Number of rooms: 12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dower Cottage staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best rooms are the master bedrooms with en suites”
 of 5 bubbles fquick, 3 Jul 2011 | Read review
1 of 1