We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biggin-by-Hartington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Biggin Hall Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Slough
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

A last minute decision to stop in the Peak District left us struggling to find accommodation, but we were so lucky that Biggin Hall had vacancies. A charming building, furnished in an old fashioned but classy style, the rooms are well sized and comfortable. The grounds are lovely and the pigs and chickens in the garden were a bonus! We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PSMYTHMAN
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in room 3 for two days in the main building, the breakfasts were fresh and hot .The room was very comfortable .The evening meal had a good choice of menu and was well presented . There was complementary pimms before dinner and complementary half Carafe of wine with dinner Leslie&Judith

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Julemar42
Whitby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2015

The hotel is warm, comfortable and staffed by really friendly people. It has an old world charm with modern facilities in the bedrooms. The dinners on an evening are excellent and packed lunches included in the price. We will certainly stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

This is a lovely old building in a pleasant rural setting half a mile off the A515 Ashbourne to Buxton road. The welcoming arrangements are unusual. Customers are not greeted on arrival in fact their presence goes quite unnoticed by the staff. You walk in to an ancient waiting room and - wait. Our party of four arrived at 12.15....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PeterPlumtree
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

I was taken to this establishment by my cousin and her husband. The surroundings were lovely and apparently on a nice day you can sit outside if you like to dine and can see chickens,piglets etc nearby. The waitresses were very pleasant and we enjoyed a jug of pimms in the library before being taken through to the dining area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jessie999999
Barnsley
Reviewed 20 July 2015

we had a good weekend to celebrate a special occasion.food was very good for dinner.breakfast was poorly served .hardly any staff about , so was constantly looking for things example no spoons on table,and food buffet running low. hotel is an old building with character,and was rather shabby in parts in bedrooms,and dining tables.saturday night service attentive but friday staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank V6846GCelizabethc
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Came here on our golden wedding anniversary day, we found the service poor, no communication skills with waiting on staff, and no response when mentioning this was a special day. Food was good, but overall was disappointing for us.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janice B
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

The hall itself is a very well preserved historic place with big log fire and a nice restaurant. Set in lovely countryside I would stay again. However I would need to be in the main hall, not the alternative. The room we had was ok but I would not give it more than three stars. Due to the quality of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lezconnecting
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2015

Food was ok, have had better,would not go back again,service was very poor,needed to ask for tea spoons,didn't see staff one they delivered our food,no servietts,no one asked if the food was to our satisfaction very poor.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Gaynor H
james84451, Owner at Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Clearly something went wrong with the service on the day of your visit - this is most certainly not our usual standard. Please let me have your details together with the day of your visit and I will arrange a full refund.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Unlike a previous reviewer we obviously didn’t “get” this hotel. Unfriendly service, misleading advertising and shabby furnishings aren’t what we’re looking for in a hotel. We booked it from the Signposts Hotel website. After experiencing it we were very surprised that it’s included in Signposts hotels. It doesn’t match their other hotels nor does it come up to its own...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ladybentley
james84451, Owner at Biggin Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review

I was pleased (and a little surprised to find in the middle of this litany of withering criticism!) that you enjoyed the meal here and, I think, thought the dinner bed and breakfast option good value. I am sorry you did not like the hand made Burgess Balmoral mattresses or the cushions on the settee and easy chair stuffed with...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggin-by-Hartington
8.8 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
2.5 km away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
843 reviews
11.1 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
16.8 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
994 reviews
12.6 km away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Biggin Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Biggin-by-Hartington, Peak District National Park SK17 0DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Biggin-by-Hartington
Hotel Class:2 star — Biggin Hall Country House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Biggin Hall Country Hotel
Biggin Hall Country Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Biggin Hall Country House Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Biggin Hall Country House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book room19 in the Bothy extractor fan out side windows and boiler comes on early.”
 of 5 bubbles caroline18071, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the Hall are quite large and full of character - the ones in the courtyard are a bit cheaper”
 of 5 bubbles chrisdC2720BK, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you were underneath someone a bit heavy on their feet it might be annoying as you can hear moving about upstairs. We were in Room 2”
 of 5 bubbles gremlin82, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms were quiet. We've stayed in the main house and the annexes.”
 of 5 bubbles richardX9148ZK, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1 is stunning!”
 of 5 bubbles , 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5