Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Lylo Auckland

Traveller (6)
LyLo Auckland Double
Room & Suite (17)
Lylo Auckland a Kitchen Dining
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 59 hostels in Auckland
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Say hello to lower prices, higher comfort, and all the extras you could hope for to make your visit just right. Smack bang in the centre of Auckland, you’ll find three different styles of accommodation, multi-use spaces and that special North Island touch.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Self-serve laundry
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English
39Reviews1Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
kali wrote a review Dec 2022
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Lylo for 3-4 days and it’s probably the best hostel I’ve ever stayed at. You check in on a device however there is a receptionist near in case you need anything. The design is amazing as well as the communal rooms/work spaces, it’s very new and renovated at the moment so it looks really great. There’s free wifi, a communal kitchen and bathrooms on each floor. There’s also a restaurant and bar, you get a card for one free drink too! I stayed in a private room and shared bathroom, the floor was super clean and quiet. The room itself was cute and tidy, we were missing a few things such as a rubbish bin (didn’t know the rooms came with one until we saw someone else on our floor with one). I think it would’ve of been nice if the room came with a television or a safe, however the room was great for the price so can’t complain too much :) location is central and easy access to everything within the city.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your positive feedback thesunis! We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience at Lylo. It's great to know that you found the design and communal areas impressive, and that the cleanliness and quietness of your room met your expectations. We appreciate your suggestions for improvements and will take them into consideration. We're glad you enjoyed the central location and the amenities we offer. Thank you for choosing us as the best hostel you've ever stayed at, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christine T wrote a review Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When the hostel saw I had a bandaged leg and it would be difficult for me to climb up into a pod they upgraded me to a private room. It was greatly appreciated as I am elderly and was feeling quite weary. I have visited 80 countries around the world and stayed in many hostels and Lylo would have to be a top one. The kitchen is huge, kept spotlessly clean with lots of individual cubicles for bags of food. The staff are friendly and efficient. There is a travel agent, lots of quiet seating areas, a bar and restaurant where staff encourage all travellers to participate in different games each evening. The mattress and linen were top quality. Highly recommended with everything you need for a great stay in Auckland city.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Great location for Uber pickups
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay at Lylo! We're delighted that our staff was able to accommodate your needs by upgrading you to a private room due to your leg injury. We aim to provide a comfortable and welcoming environment for all guests, and we're glad you found our kitchen clean and spacious, our staff friendly and efficient, and our amenities such as the travel agent, seating areas, bar, and restaurant enjoyable. We take pride in providing top-quality mattresses and linen for a great stay in Auckland city. Thank you for recommending Lylo, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for another fantastic experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Leigh wrote a review Feb 2024
Australia45 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hostel is spotlessly clean and conveniently located in Auckland. If you're arriving from the airport, take the SkyDrive bus and it's just a 5-minute walk from the drop-off point! The shared bathrooms are clean, modern, and have fantastic (hot!) water pressure. The pods were spacious and had a few power points and USB chargers. Large lockers with keycard access.

Given the price, there are a couple of areas for improvement: ventilation (it got very hot in the pods/rooms), providing towels at no charge, providing toiletries.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hostel in Auckland. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our great location, cleanliness, and convenient amenities such as the modern shared bathrooms and spacious pods with power points and USB chargers. Your positive comments about our lockers with keycard access are also appreciated. We value your constructive feedback regarding areas for improvement. We understand the importance of maintaining comfortable room temperatures and will look into enhancing ventilation in the pods/rooms to address the heat issue you experienced. Additionally, we will consider your suggestions regarding providing towels at no charge and offering toiletries to enhance our guests' overall comfort and convenience. Your input helps us focus on areas where we can make meaningful improvements to ensure an even more enjoyable experience for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an even better stay. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your valuable feedback.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannes E wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all, the positive. The bathrooms are usually tidy, the pods offer privacy, the kitchen is good and has a lot of space and the Outlook with large windows offers views of Auckland. The WiFi is reliable and fast enough. So far so good.

Although I received confirmation for several nights in the same 8 pod bedroom, a few hours after check-in my card for the room was deactivated mid day without my knowledge and all my things including the valuables from the safe were carried out of the room into a staff room where other people occasionally go. There you are without a wallet, laptop, backpack, camera,…

The reason for this was that a group of 8 had booked to move into the pod during my stay. In my opinion it's a real disgrace! I was lucky because there was another pod available for me in another room that day for the period I had booked.

The whole thing doesn't seem to have happened due to a system error, but is not an exception. The same thing happened to a friend of mine, except that he didn't get another room and, without knowing it, had to look for somewhere to sleep in Auckland for the next few nights.

Despite politely addressing the problem, I received no compensation or anything similar. Furthermore, there was a fee when paying for the second stay, which the employee couldn't really explain to me. The same fee was not due the first time I stayed at Lylo, neither for me nor for my friends.

Overall, unfortunately a bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 15 Jan 2024
We regret to hear about the negative experience you had during your stay at Lylo Auckland. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the deactivation of your room card without your knowledge, resulting in the removal of your belongings. We understand the frustration and concern this must have caused. Please be assured that we take this matter seriously, and we will investigate and address the issue to prevent such incidents from recurring. We apologize for any confusion regarding the second stay fee, and we will ensure that our staff provides clear explanations in the future. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Traveler59441330238 wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed one night in a pod ( in a 4-pod room)
The pod was long enough for me ( 5 foot 11/ 180cm ) and the lockable store cupboard next to it felt ample sized.
The whole place feels modern and the staff are very helpful. I found the pod overly warm but I had my own small USB fan which was a godsend ( recommend bringing one ) I found the accommodation area quiet and clean and the communal areas very pleasant and comfortable. The attached bar was a bonus.
For the money, can't beat it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you found our hostel to offer great value for your money and that you enjoyed your time in our pod accommodation. We are glad that the pod size and lockable storage cupboard met your needs and that you found our facilities modern and well-maintained. Our team takes pride in providing helpful and friendly service, and we are delighted that you had a positive interaction with them. Your feedback regarding the temperature in the pod is valuable, and we appreciate your suggestion of bringing a USB fan for added comfort. We will also look into ways to improve ventilation in the pods to ensure a more comfortable stay for our guests. It's fantastic to hear that you found the communal areas pleasant and comfortable, and that the attached bar added to your overall experience. We truly value your recommendation and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay. If there is anything else we can do to enhance your next visit, please do not hesitate to let us know.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
C Town wrote a review Aug 2023
17 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Lylo twice during travels in Auckland. The first time I had a single room, it was spacious, comfortable beds, plenty of outlets and incredibly clean facilities. I returned to stay in a pod, which was also a great experience. Both experiences were quiet in the rooms and could barely hear a peep from the hallways. The reception desk is filled with helpful workers and
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Taco Tuesday is excellent!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your positive feedback Ctwon4170! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience at our hostel in New Zealand. Your compliments on the spacious and clean rooms, comfortable beds, and helpful staff are greatly appreciated. We strive to provide a quiet and pleasant environment for our guests and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and appreciate your recommendation!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex G wrote a review Jan 2024
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
LyLo is clearly a modern, purpose-built facility. The check in was really simple, the dorms with individual pods were really cool, and all of the facilities such as the bar, kitchen, bathrooms were very clean and modern.

Would definitely stay again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 23 Jan 2024
Thank you for your positive review S8775BTalexg! We're delighted to hear that you found our hostel to be cool and modern. It's great to know that you had a simple and hassle-free check-in experience, and that you enjoyed the individual pods in the dorms. We take pride in keeping our facilities clean and modern for our guests' comfort. We look forward to welcoming you back during your future travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TRip.girly03 wrote a review Aug 2023
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand29 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Best hostel in NZ!! Comfy beds, yummy food at the bar, fair price drinks! Location 10/10 - close to everything you need… on Tuesdays they have bingo, yoga… loved it!!!
The staff is nice and friendly
I’ll definitely come back and recommend!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check with reception what’s happening in the city so you won’t miss anything
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your kind words FHa2022nz! We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hostel and enjoyed our comfy beds, delicious food at the bar, and reasonably priced drinks. We take pride in our convenient location and are glad it met your needs. It's great that you had a chance to participate in activities like bingo and yoga during your stay. Our friendly staff strives to provide a pleasant experience for all guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ama wrote a review Aug 2023
Leicester, United Kingdom69 contributions24 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at Lylo for a week and frequently got a great night's sleep.
I stayed in a shared room. The pods are quiet and have enough space for your things. Every pod comes with a safe which is a great way to store your belongings.
The price is higher than other hostels in Auckland but that is because of the quality and service of the hostel/pod hotel.

The only negative about the pods is that it means that the hostel is generally less social than other hostels. But there is an adjoining bar and several communal areas which you can use and meet people.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thank you for your positive feedback wonderlustwonderland! We are glad to hear that you had a great stay at Lylo and enjoyed a good night's sleep in our quiet and spacious pods. The in-room safes are indeed a convenient feature for storing belongings. We understand that our prices may be higher compared to other hostels, but we strive to provide excellent quality and service. While the pod layout may make the hostel less social, we have communal areas and an adjoining bar where guests can still meet and socialize. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgia wrote a review Feb 2024
6 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hostel is very modern and had a good feel about it. I arrived early (2pm) but couldn’t check in until 3pm. The pod room was nice and modern but felt quite cramped as there was no window and the room was quite hot (the weather in Auckland was warm at the time). The bathroom facilities were nice and the showers were good. The cooking area was well equipped but personally I feel it was too small along with the dining area, for the number of people needing to use the facilities. The bar in the hostel was nice and had a good selection of food and drinks.

The beds were comfy and the duvet and pillow nice to sleep on. The locker was easy to use and big enough to fit all of my luggage. My only bad experience of the place was the heat as the fan in the pod did not work well (and was noisy) so I was very hot trying to sleep during the night.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lylo Auckland, Guest Services / Front Office at Lylo Auckland
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Thank you for your detailed and candid feedback about your stay at our hostel. We are pleased to hear that you found our facilities modern and enjoyable. Your comments about the room temperature, cooking area, and dining space are duly noted, and we will take them into consideration for future improvements. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the noisy and ineffective fan in your pod and will address this issue promptly. It's great to hear that you found the beds comfortable, the lockers convenient, and the bar area inviting. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a better experience in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at our modern hostel. - May, Lylo Auckland
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sezza :) asked a question July 2023
Kangaroo Valley, Australia1 contribution
Is there parking?
Answer from JoR
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Not for the hostel itself. There was a parking lot nearby, but I wasn't driving so I don't know the cost of parking there overnight if it was for anyone to park. It might be worth emailing the hostel to see if they have info on any local parking?
CW wrote a tip 6 Apr
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the intercity bussen, the come and go every where, perfect way to travel NZ, easy!"
Read full review
Summer W. wrote a tip Mar 2024
Queenstown, New Zealand2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Only street parking"
Read full review
Resort38245061584 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is not available for Lylo so plan in advance "
Read full review
Natasha Y wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go to Western Park, bottom end of the park for the biggest slide in a playground ever!"
Read full review
Christine T wrote a tip Dec 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for Uber pickups"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Auckland area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$80 - AU$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAuckland
NUMBER OF ROOMS
304
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LYLO AUCKLAND (AU$80): 2024 Prices & Reviews (New Zealand) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Lylo Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Lylo Auckland?
Nearby attractions include Sweet Axe Throwing Co. (0.2 km), Sky Tower (0.5 km), and Odyssey Sensory Maze (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lylo Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Lylo Auckland?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Lylo Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fondou Cafe, Cassia @ Skycity, and Tony's Steak & Seafood Restaurant & Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Lylo Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.2 km), Eden Garden (2.9 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.4 km).
All Auckland HotelsAuckland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in AucklandHotels near Lylo Auckland
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars