We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Albion Hotel

Hotels.comUSD 67*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Albion Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Albion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 98: English reviews
Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2017

We had dinner there last night as we are staying nearby while holidaying in Auckland. The meals are good hearty ones and quite ok . We had a lovely chicken salad and the special for the night was a good size rump steak for $15 , can't do much better than that. They have TAB facilities and the pokies there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roy v
Reviewed 30 December 2016

This hotel is literally across the street from sky tower in the middle of Auckland and for the price it is not that bad. It was our first and fourth hotel we staid at while on the north island and I say it is not that bad. There is not air conditioning but they do give you a fan for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcmmaxwell
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback about our hotel. We are glad that you liked our hotel and services. There is always a room for improvement and your feedback will help us to improve our drawbacks. Thank you for staying with us. Hope to have you here in near future. Kind Regards, Albion Hotel Team

New Zealand
Reviewed 28 December 2016

This Hotel is definitely overpriced but it was a fun atmosphere and well located in the city. The bar downstairs is a great place to meet up and hang out and the hotel was overall clean and nice. We were able to walk most places we wanted to be in Auckland from this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JiriLyndsy
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel from your recent stay. Your feedback is really valuable to us . We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. During summer and peak time the prices will be slightly up but is reasonable than other hotels in Auckland CBD. Sorry if you find it overpriced.Thanks...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I almost never write a bad review but I feel compeled to write this one. Though I had a poor feeling about this place, I choose it because it's located right in front of the bus terminal and we can to catch a bus early next day. It is totally not worth even half the money paid. The bar below...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MoniPeni42
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to write review from your recent stay. Your feedback is really valuable for us. Sorry to hear that you had bad experience with us. We would like to apologise from our heart. As our hotel is hundred years old our rooms are not sound proof. We have bar in the ground floor and we...

Taranaki
Reviewed 3 December 2016

After reading some of reviews about the Albion Hotel, it was with some trepidation that i decided to choose this hotel. I was wanting a single room for just one night. The receptionist was very welcoming and seemed genuinely interested in trip to Auckland. I was shown to room 103 and was pleasantly delighted. The room has been freshly painted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vomo2i
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write down some wonderful words for our hotel from your recent stay. We really appreciate your feedback for our hotel. We are glad that we meet up your expectation and you enjoyed your stay with us. We have started painting our hotel rooms and very soon we will renovate all the bathrooms....

Bristol
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

I think we were probably victims of not understanding how expensive new zealand is as this was our first hotel but we were so disappointed, even just for somewhere to sleep for our first night. The staff were friendly enough, it is close to the centre and the bed was comfortable. But that is where the positives stop. Outside our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly_CBristol
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to give your feedback. There is always a room for improvement and your feedback will help us to improve. We are extremely sorry to hear that our hotel didn't meet up your expectation. We understand that our hotel is very old hotel but we have maintained it to basic level. We have started painting...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Room was alittle small with a great shower,but we only wanted a room to sleep in..down in the hotel was awesome,excellent food,great bar staff that really joined in with people that arrived,in fact for that reason alone was a AAA+..great happy relaxing place to sit down..{they even have a fireplace,for them cool days/evenings}..to have a wine or 2,with high class...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank niteoutontown
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel from your recent stay. Thank you so much for your positive response. We are glad that you liked our hospitality and food. I will pass your comment to all the staff. Our main motive is to satisfy our customer. We feel really happy when customers are happy. Once again...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We were lucky to get a place at Albion Hotel during the high season in Auckland. We booked a horrible AirBnB and decided we could not stay there. We thought we booked the Shakespeare Hotel at Albert Street through Booking.com but it was a "false" reservation; Shakespeare didn't have a room. (Which means we needed to try get out deposit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write feedback about our property. We are glad that you liked our hospitality and service. We are well known for our central location and reasonable price in Auckland CBD. We are renovating our hotel rooms to upgrade our standard. Once again thank you for your time and effort you have invested to...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Although this Hotel is close to town it is in need of a serious makeover - mould all through the bathroom, towel rail falling off the wall, only 1 small light had a bulb, flannel left in room from whoever was there before us, dirty, paint peeling off doors, loo falling to bits, overloaded multibox as only had 1 powerpoint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natsr2015
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write review for our hotel. We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience you faced during your stay at our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us as we always strive for improvement. We always want to satisfy our customer but sometimes we lack behind. We are renovating all the hotel rooms to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 October 2016

After staying in dorms for the past two weeks, I was ready to treat myself and "splurge" on a private room before leaving New Zealand. I was nervous about this place after reading the reviews but my experience was fine. I have never stayed in a hotel above a bar so I didn't know what to expect. I was on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
Creseda M, Manager at The Albion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Sorry for the disturbance by the construction work next door, but we can't do much about that. We have requested them to start the construction work from 10 am so that our guest can have good sleep....

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Region hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
319 reviews
0.2 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.4 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.1 km away
Quest on Hobson
Quest on Hobson
#23 of 113 in Auckland
211 reviews
0.2 km away
Ramada Suites Auckland - Federal Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about The Albion Hotel

Address: 119 Hobson St, 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region
Price Range: $82 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Albion Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Albion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there is a certain amount of city / street noise which is unavoidable quiet during night but traffic in morning”
TonyS1, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel.”
MoniPeni42, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I really liked Room 306”
simonesM5970OU, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“quaint cheap well located if you can sleep thru all the noise”
160MichaelP, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose this hotel”
Dydsou, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
USD 67* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUSD 67
Expedia.comUSD 67
Booking.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates