We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Llangoed Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Llangoed Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 545: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A disappointing visit to the most beautiful hall. We recently called into the hall on bank holiday Monday 2 nd January 2017, we had not booked but it was 1.35pm and the signage at the bottom of the drive advertised lunch. We were greeted by a member of staff, and asked them were they serving lunch,the lady member of staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nico333cham
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear nico333cham Thank you for your review. Its not a case of being Selective , its more a case that the couple after you had reserved a table and were running late , hence we were accommodating to them . I would always say to people - phone in advance to avoid disappointment particularly, A hotel or restaurant your recommended...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed recently for my wife's birthday (having stayed for my birthday earlier in the year), and both times thoroughly enjoyed it. Peaceful, relaxed, excellent food and good wine list. Heaven! Not for ravers, but I've done those years and like it chilled these days. We stayed in the room with the original Laura Ashley wallpaper on each occasion (not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Merv_is_Write
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Merv_is_Write Firstly Happy New Year . Secondly Thank you for taking the time to write a review . Pleased to see how much you enjoyed your return Visit . If we can tempt you back then I would be pleased to say thanks with a Personal tour of the Gardens with Mandy our Head Gardener . Springtime here at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here during the Christmas period (3-day package) and really enjoyed the experience. We were welcomed in the car park and helped with our bags as soon as we parked up (for the Christmas stay, not the summer). The room was stunning. It was smaller than the room we stayed in during the summer but the smaller room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Mrs C & Family Happy New Year . Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review . Delighted to see how much you, hubby & the pooch enjoyed your stay and as a gesture of Goodwill if you rebook for Christmas 2017by end of January, I shall happily upgrade you a room category for the Package...

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent Christmas here for the second time and the hotel was as lovely as ever, well-appointed room with luxury bathroom, excellent food, but even more outstanding are the staff, who are so pleasant and helpful, always at hand but not obtrusive. As the guests from hell, arriving a day late through illness and one still unwell, we were made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naomi_Stringer
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Naomi_Stringer Happy New Year ! Thank you for taking the time to write a review . Delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay , I do hope Mr S. is feeling better now ..... As a Gesture of goodwill please the next time your staying with us let us know in advance so we may offer you...

Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at this gorgeous hotel a few times and each time has been just lovely. The public rooms are fabulous and the decor in the dining room where we enjoyed a delicious lunch on our last stay is so serene. We have tried the afternoon tea and dinner aswell and think all the food here is to very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria T
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Maria T, Firstly & foremost may I thank you for taking the time to write a review . Im so pleased you had a most enjoyable stay . I shall pass your comments on to the Team & Brian . As a gesture of Goodwill may I offer you a Complimentary Cream tea for two the next time you...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been organising an event here every year in December and the staff never disappoint. The hotel is beautiful and definitely should be on everyone's bucket list to visit. Thank you Callum , Brian, Lynsey and the rest of the team for looking after 44 of us so well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank s-pestic
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear s-pestic. Friend & Loyal customer of 23yrs . Thank you !- you are always a pleasure to look after . Noted Mr P. Missing this year :-( . Hope he is well soon & when well , come overnight as my guests Complimentary B&B . Fondest wishes & Merry Christmas S&G P Calum

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An impressive building which has been a country house hotel for a number of years but now benefits from a substantial and clearly expensive updating . Fortunate to have a State Room overlooking the garden with the river in the distance and the Brecon Beacons beyond . The room was large with a clear indication that much thought had gone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rstanier2014
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Rstanier2014 I very much appreciate you taking the time to write - so thank you Naturally, Pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at Llangoed , As a gesture of My gratitude please the next time your staying do let us know in advance so that we may offer you a complimentary room category upgrade ....

north of england
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent one night at Llangoed Hall two weeks ago . This was our third visit and yet again we had a delightful stay . The weather was very cold and frosty , but inside the hotel all was cosy and warm with the log fires . The view from our gorgeous room of the frost covered hills was just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank combover11
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear combover11 I appreciate you taking the time to write - so thank you Pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at the hall . As a Wee gesture of My gratitude please the next time your staying do let us know in advance so that we may offer you a complimentary room category upgrade . Merry...

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our 2nd stay at the hotel and would return again. Not the cheapest of hotels to eat and drink in, however the surroundings, ambience, open log fires, plenty of staff and staff attentiveness represents the prices. The rooms are beautifully decorated with plenty of complimentary items in the rooms. Though we only ate breakfast on this stay it...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank vasmagee
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Vasmagee, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review . Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay , I shall your feedback with the team . Next time you plan on Staying do please contact my team or I for a complimentary room upgrade Wishing you a very Merry Christmas & Peaceful New Year...

Shropshire
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

We are three couples who have met up at Llangoed over the past 15 years. The last time we visited, the hotel had been taken over and standards had definitely slipped. This time there was a noted improvement. The rooms had been refurbished and painted and the hall felt more luxurious. The waiting staff particularly were very professional and it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lady_from_Ludlow
C C M, Owner at Llangoed Hall, responded to this review

Dear Lady_from_Ludlow Thank you for taking the time to write a review . Delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay . I shall pass your comments onto Brian & the team who looked after you as its very much a team effort . As a gesture of goodwill and should your group revisit in 2017 ( valid in...

438 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (294)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (77)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (123)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (107)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llyswen
13.9 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
809 reviews
18.9 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
839 reviews
10.9 km away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Three Cocks
169 reviews
14.0 km away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
723 reviews
23.9 km away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the banks of the River Wye amidst 17 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this elegant Country House Hotel enjoys the full scenic beauty of the Welsh Countryside, within easy reach of the main A40 and the main town of Brecon. Enjoy the finest Welsh cuisine in the 2 AA Rossette award-wining restaurant, or just soak up the ambience by the blazing log fires. In the summer enjoy the views of the River Wye and the Black Mountains whilst relaxing with a drink on the outdoor terrace. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and free parking. Dating from 1632, Llangoed Hall is rich in local history, a fact that is expressed in its numerous period furnishings and antique fittings and a distinguished collection of paintings and drawings from such notable artists as Whistler, Herman Dudley Murphy and James Cowie. Such refined splendour has contributed to the hotels enviable reputation for hosting weddings. From large lavish parties with a marquee, to smaller affairs with a just few close friends and family, guests can relax safe in the knowledge that there every need will be catered to. Indeed, with such a picturesque location, including breath taking views across the Black Mountains, it is hard to imagine a more perfect venue for that most special of days. Each one of the hotels twenty-three en-suite bedrooms has been individually designed and exquisitely decorated with a full refurbishment in 2013. As well as the classic room types we also offer graceful four-poster rooms and luxurious suites. Every room is complete with all the necessary creature comforts one needs for a relaxing, stress-free stay including a flat-screen TV, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit and mineral water. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Llangoed Hall

Address: Llyswen | Brecon, Llyswen LD3 0YP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llyswen
Price Range: $184 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Llangoed Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Llangoed Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llangoed Hall Hotel Llyswen
Llangoed Hall Brecon
Llangoed Hall Hotel Brecon
Hall Llangoed
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Llangoed Hall staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Llangoed Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a pleasant view as surrounded by beautiful grounds but there is no lift if accessibility is a concern.”
 of 5 bubbles Naomi_Stringer, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are superb . There doesn't appear to be a lift .”
 of 5 bubbles combover11, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view of the Breacons.”
 of 5 bubbles LyndaT78, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all superb although I understand that two are very small (I do not know which ones)”
 of 5 bubbles BertieSouthWest, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“North wing rooms or suite rooms recommended”
 of 5 bubbles robertonions56, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay