We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Noir

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Noir
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,014: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Noir
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Visited the Hotel Noir on Sunday, what a lovely place, we were chuffed with our family room we were given. Everything was spotless, decor was lovely, the bed was soooooooo comfy. The Tassimo machine was great ( if your not used to using one, instructions are in the welcome folder ) we also had complementary drinks in the mini bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Bed is not comfort. Hotel is clean. Staff is friendly. Location is a bit too far from city. Have limited parking space. The beverage provided in fridge is superb. Very good services to book as Friends of Noir.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hui Min T
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Hui Min, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Sorry to hear you found us too far from the city centre. We are 0.75 miles from the city walls, around 10/15 minutes walk - I would always encourage looking online before you book to confirm if the hotel you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute, was pleasantly surprised. We booked a double room and although small it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Bathroom typical hotel bathroom with shower over the bath. 15 min walk from the hotel and you are at york minster and the shambles. Definitely recommend this hotel for a good value for money stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

a really nice hotel with a 15 minute walk into the city which is fine unless you don't like or can't walk much but don't let it put you off.Clean and warm room and we up graded for £12.50 which gave us a bath, mini bar, chocolates and a four poster bed ( but I personally don't like four poster...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Nigel, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

cambridge
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night with a friend. Good things first: the staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is immaculately clean, sparkling in fact. Unfortunately other aspects aren't as good. Going to our outside rooms at around 1am, we were unable to find any light switches and had to stumble down a dark corridor by the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CambridgeShoequeen
HotelNoirAdmin, Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found our staff and cleanliness to be excellent and will pass this on. I am however, disappointed that you had some issues during your stay which we didn't get the opportunity to resolve for you but to reassure both you and any readers of this review I will explain each...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Noir after reviewing the comments on trip advisor. We were not disappointed!! Upon arrival we were checked in promptly & the staff were warm & friendly. It was my birthday & my room was decorated with petals & balloons :) We booked a double room on the front & the room was fantastic!! The hotel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent two nights dinner bed and breakfast with my wife in this small but very friendly hotel. The place is spanking clean,, the rooms are comfortable and fully equipped and the meals are excellent. On the down side the service at dinner was very slow and the car park is tiny.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian a
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Brian, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! All our food is prepared by hand from fresh, so this can sometimes lead to a longer wait than some guests expect, but we do hope the quality of the food makes the wait worthwhile! Our car park is small, but...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful hotel in pleasant area of York, few minutes from minster. Lovely food, rooms, waitress and bonus of wine, beeer n chops in room plus free coffees anytime in hotel. Also tassimo machine in bedroom. Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaryNap295
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends of Noir scheme which...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. We stayed in the standard room. We were offered upgrade for an extra £7.50 for 4 poster bed, more luxurious room but declined as it was to the front main road so opted to stay at the back where it was quieter (car park). Room was small and bed was a little lumpy but the room had all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helene2507
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, as you say, you can join our free Friends of...

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my brother paid for an overnight stay at hotel noir for our parents as they were celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary.. it was a total surprise for my parents and the staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for them and also me booking it.. they laid petals on the bed and gave them a card with the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank clare741
reception H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Noir, responded to this review

Dear Clare, Thank you for leaving your feedback and I'm glad to hear your parents enjoyed their anniversary stay with us! I hope we can welcome them or you back to the hotel if you are visiting York again in the future - if you make your booking directly on the hotel's own website, you can join our free Friends...

318 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (69)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (176)
Viewed
Classic Room (22)
Viewed
Compact Room (23)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)
Viewed
Twin Room (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clifton
2.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,032 reviews
1.1 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 km away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 46 in York
1,722 reviews
1.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hotel Noir

Address: Clifton Green, Clifton, York YO30 6LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Clifton
Price Range: $93 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Noir 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Noir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Noir Hotel York
Hotel Noir York/Clifton, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Noir staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Noir staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pre-book breakfast is cheaper than PAYG.”
 of 5 bubbles RupertT_11, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 103 was good”
 of 5 bubbles crimson55, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some traffic noise on front - but these rooms have good outlook. Stairs steep but there are rooms lower down.”
 of 5 bubbles jandibroon, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms come with free mink bar etc, but join friends of noir to get this free if hotel is not full”
 of 5 bubbles fevladfrank, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 304 had a 4 poster bed with a large corner bath. Situated at rear, we had an excellent sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles rob_bailey, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5