We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ross Castle B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ross Castle B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Start your review of Ross Castle B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was an amazing experience! My daughter and nieces wanted a haunted castle experience and this surpassed their expectations! Jackie, Richard, and Stephanie had great stories and created such a homey environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WTLTT
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent an amazing weekend in Ross Castle. Jackie and Richard were fantastic hosts. The location is beautiful on the lakes and the evening was passed in front of a roaring fire with a glass of red wine. In summary " Just go".

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AideenR
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The drive to Ross Castle is gorgeous and sits along the shore of Lough Sheelin. When we arrived Jackie greeted us and showed us around; there was a fire going in the large front fireplace, candles lit and every where you turned their were antiques and books. She also informed us that we were the only guests and we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheWanderingHarts
Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We absolutely loved staying here. And as luck would have it we had the entire castle to ourselves (family of 6) for the night. The kids are still talking about it and had fun looking for the ghost and exploring outside the next day. We stayed on the first floor in the family rooms but since no one else was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasMerlot
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked the upper bedroom, at the top of the castle, for one night in January 2017. The castle is gorgeous - it's absolutely stunning. And incredible that we got to stay in a 16th century castle with so much history. The modern updates still keep with the castle feeling as well. Well done. Our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin M
Peter S, Manager at Ross Castle B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, we thoroughly enjoyed having you to stay at Ross Castle and hope to see you again.

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Me and my friends could not have been happier with our stay here. We rented the entire castle to ring in the New Year together and it was simply perfect! A perfect mix of retaining all the old castle features, but with a few (very appreciated) modern features, including heating in every room, WiFi, and a VERY well equipped modern...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blaith_L
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Ross Castle is not 5 star accommodation, but it is an authentic experience of staying in a genuine castle in the beautiful countryside of Meath County. It is the character of the place and experience of communal dining in the wonderful living areas (complete with antique furniture, suits of armour and buffalo head trophies mounted on the walls) as well...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard C
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We visit Ross Castle on particularly cold day and it was very cold inside as well as out. The facilities were very good, the food was lovely - communal dining was helped by the fact the the other guests were charming. The bed was comfy and the room spacious and well appointed. When I complained about the cold - a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lindaW955XA
Peter S, Manager at Ross Castle B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Ross Castle and your candid review. We have made some significant upgrades to the heating system in recent years, however making a 500 year old castle as warm as a modern home is next to impossible. We are working to improve the castle on a continuous basis to ensure that all of our guests enjoy...

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

My family stayed in Ross Castle on the 27th and 28 th of Dec. There were 11 adults and 8 children under six. We had a most relaxing and brilliant time. The castle had ideal accommodation for our large family. Very exciting for the children. The hosts Jackie her husband and daughter and Vanessa were amazing. Nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annevcamp
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

What an amazing place full of charm and mystery. An enchanting castle rich with history myths and legends a great atmospheric place for a getaway. Myself and 7 overs gathered by the fire yesterday evening as we settled in for the night great for a group get together or just if you fancied playing king and queen for the evening...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley D

204 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldcastle
36.5 km away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,208 reviews
3.5 km away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
24.1 km away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
3 reviews
12.8 km away
Hotel Castlepollard
Hotel Castlepollard
#1 of 1 in Castlepollard
92 reviews
0.0 km away
Riversdale Country House B&B
Riversdale Country House B&B
#35 of 274 in County Donegal
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ross Castle is situated on the shores of Lough Sheelin, County Meath, in the heart of Ireland. It features unique en-suite bed-and-breakfast accommodation in a historic setting. The castle offers beautiful waterfront views across a lake, famous for trout, perch and pike fishing. Our tourist accommodation is ideal for family holidays and romantic couple getaways while touring in Ireland. This remarkable Irish castle provides the fitting base for your Irish vacation. As a B&B, we provide the flexibility of individual travel combined with the comfort of Old World charm, history and modern conveniences in a location, which is as central as any can be in Ireland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ross Castle B&B

Address: Ross Castle | Mount Nugent, Oldcastle, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Oldcastle
Price Range: $163 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ross Castle B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ross Castle B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Ross Castle B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It would be difficult to navigate up the spiral staircase to the tower rooms if you have limited mobility/strength.”
 of 5 bubbles TexasMerlot, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the high tower have incredible views, but they may come with their very own ghost! Ask the hosts for the old stories!”
 of 5 bubbles Blaith_L, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The tower rooms are for castle lovers”
 of 5 bubbles 685RichardC, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Tower rooms are definitely the coolest place to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Fintan_Miller, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All Rooms are great but would pick one farther down if you have mobility issues”
 of 5 bubbles ShelbySolski, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5