We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Westwood House Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Westwood House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

847 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Westwood House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 817: English reviews
Kilkeel, Co Down United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have just come back from a wonderful 3 night stay here.. From the moment we checked in to leaving we were treated so well. The staff at every part of the hotel were so friendly and willing to help. The girls at reception especially were fantastic... Nothing was ever any trouble.. The restaurant staff were great, the food was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda T
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda T, Many thanks for your recent review of your familys stay with us here at The Westwood. I was thrilled to read how much you and your family enjoyed yer time with us, in particular our staff, reception, and our food. We always strive to provide the best 'Family Friendly' service we can, and it is always a... More 

Wigmore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Arrived at the Westwood House Hotel with our tour group with CIE Tours of Ireland. Rooms were ready on arrival and the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Evening meal included in the trip was very good but the restaurant for our group was tight for space and the air con did not work on this particular very hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roy G
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RoyG, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Westwood. I was delighted to read that you were pleased with your dealings with our Reception Staff and Waiting Staff and that you enjoyed your evening meal. We did indeed have a major issue with our air-conditioning on the dates of your stay and for this I... More 

Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious & comfortable, The bathroom was a good size and spotless. I can heartily recommend this hotel to my fellow travellers. You won't be disappointed. It's a half hour walk or approx €10 in a taxi.

Helpful?
Thank timfinnegan
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear timfinnegan, Thankyou for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time here with us and we look forward to welcloming you back again in the very near future. Kind Regards, David Kelly, General Manager. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I decided to pop down for a family meal with 12 of us on Friday night and the food was just dreadful. There was very little on the menu in the main restaurant, the choice was poor and the soup was more salty and I asked for a veg meal as I am allergic to most ingredients in dishes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nulla186605
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nulla186605, Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was sorry to read that your experience was not as you would wish. Our A La Carte restaurant menu offers a selection of 27 different dishes and our Value Dining Menu from which you dined offers a reduced total of 14 dishes (3 of which are Vegetarian) at a... More 

Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Westwood on a recent visit to Galway. The hotel is very nice and the location is convenient, only a short taxi ride from city centre. It is comfortable and has kind of a quaint European feel. The staff is friendly and accommodating; they were able to get us into our room well before... More 

Helpful?
Thank James L
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James L, Many thanks for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood. Your very kind comments in relation to our staff, rooms, and in particular our breakfast are very much appreciated and I have passed them on to all the team here. Once again many thanks. Kind Regards, David Kelly, General Manager. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed in this hotel for our wedding annerversary, room beautiful, room upgraded when mentioned our annerversary, staff so helpful and friendly, food excellent, breakfast and dinners !! Would stay here again without hesitation !!! Convenient location !!

Helpful?
2 Thank Flipper9999
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Flipper9999, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at The Westwood. I was delighted to read that you had chosed us to stay in for your anniversary, and in particular, how much you enjoyed all our food, our rooms, and our location. We look forward to welcoming you both back again in the very near... More 

fort collins, co
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My family of 2 adults and 2 teens found this place to be a hidden gem at a great price. Just a short drive to the main attractions in Galway (less than 5 minutes). Quiet and comfortable. Top notch staff that went above and beyond with directions and recommendations. We wished that we could have stayed more than one night.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 12travelfar
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 12travelfar, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at The Westwood. It was our pleasure to look after you and your family during your stay. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time here with us, and we look forward to welcoming you all back again at some stage in the... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed Tuesday nite,bar staff especially Craig were very pleasant,well mannered and very obliging.two ladies on reception were just as polite.there were 3of us in one room.we were not clostiphobic at all.room was very clean.would certainly stay again and recommend to friends and colleagues

Helpful?
1 Thank Tina D
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tina D, Many thanks for you review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood. I was delighted to read your comments, especially those in relation to our staff both in reception and in our bar, and I have passed your comments on to all of our bar and reception staff. It was our pleasure to take... More 

Newton MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My husband and I spent a lovely 2 nights and had the deluxe king room. Acres of space, comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom and fluffy robe and slippers. Even though there were two weddings going on during the stay, our room was perfectly quiet. The breakfast is delicious and the service is excellent. We have stayed at the Westwood before and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy Bradley
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy Bradley, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood. I was delighted to read such positive comments, especially as you are a repeat customer. Should you choose to return to Galway again, it would be our pleasure to look after you. Once again many thanks. Kind... More 

Belmullet, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I would recommend this hotel, while not flashy or ultra modern it is comfy (a wee bit old fashioned but ok) and has all the extras that you would expect in a good hotel (including interactive tv/ free internet etc) and more than that from the first contact with staff you feel at home. The staff go out of there... More 

Helpful?
Thank J0J0mc
GM1Galway, General Manager at Westwood House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JOJOmc, Thank you for your review of your recent stay here with us at The Westwood. It is always a pleasure to read such positive comments such as yours, in particular those comments relating to our breakfast, tv and wifi, and of course our staff who are the backbone of our business. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

344 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (237)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (35)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (35)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (37)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dangan
2.0 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
2,516 reviews
3.3 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
2,664 reviews
2.1 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 47 in Galway
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Menlo Park Hotel
Menlo Park Hotel
#7 of 47 in Galway
1,156 reviews
3.7 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the University District of Galway and nestled amidst a rural landscape of greenery, the 4 star Westwood Hotel is ideally positioned only minutes from the city centre and Salthill while also being an ideal base to tour the beauty of Connemara.At the Westwood we seek to exceed your expectations in all aspects of your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westwood House Hotel

Address: | Upper Newcastle, Dangan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Dangan
Price Range: $82 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westwood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Hotel Galway
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westwood House Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
New London, Connecticut
Cavan, Ireland
3 months ago
St. Louis, Missouri
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Westwood House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed on the second floor and the room was enormous”
 of 5 bubbles poboyle, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want to read at breakfast, bring a torch!”
 of 5 bubbles frankb740, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Explore. Lots of interesting ante-rooms, helpful reception.”
 of 5 bubbles DrDavidKJ, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were on a main road by not disturbed”
 of 5 bubbles DaveSpencer32, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Only stayed once and my 2nd floor was quiet and nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 49njg, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay