We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

439 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 381: English reviews
Start your review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked two rooms for one night for a quick trip to Heavenly. You can't beat the location -- it's a 5 minute walk to the Heavenly gondola. The price is great. Not a luxury hotel, of course, but everything was clean and working, and the breakfast was good. There were no glitches in the reservation, and they were able...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wc8
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel because its location (close to Heavenly Gondola). However this hotel does not have enough parking space for their guests. And complimentary breakfast was very poor. They offer only bagels, serials, orange juice, milk, coffee, plain yogurt. They don't offer fruits, sausage, eggs, etc. And breakfast start at 7:30AM. It is late for guests who want to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hiroshi K
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Hiroshi, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

My family and I went for a week of skiing. The location was great we walked around Heavenly Village and to the gondola. The room was clean upon arrival and spacious for 4 people. However breakfast was minimal and house keeping was HORRIBLE. Breakfast was a bagel or cereal. Housekeeping came one day took our towels, didn't replace them. Then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunham4998
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night so we wouldn't have to drive four hours in the morning before snowboarding. We arrived around 11pm on Monday night and the front desk guy was very kind and informative! When we went to the room it was heated and felt great as we were freezing. The room was clean and the bed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicolaQ Q
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you, thank you, thank you... Please come back soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Walking distance from Heavenly gondola at a relatively reasonable price. That's why you stay here. The room was OK, but a few reasons for why I'm giving it 3 stars: not enough parking space in the parking lot. My toilet required a lot of handle jiggling to get it to stop running. The maid service didn't take out the trash,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FuriousToast
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for your business and support. We will address your comment promptly to our housekeeping department. Again, thank you for letting us know.

Sunnyvale, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice hotel for the price. was expecting something run down and crappy. but overall it was a nice room, cool little fire place. only needed the room to spend the night after snowboarding, but ended up spending a little time in the room. Parking wasn't the greatest

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonyp012000
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Anthony, Thank you, thank you, thank you... Please come back soon!

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Convenient place to stay with a friendly and helpful staff, ample parking, a short walk to the Heavenly Valley Gondola and a good value for the money in the wonderful City of South Lake Tahoe, California.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jrmaerzke
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We truly appreciate your business and support! Thanks. Please come back soon!

Reviewed 2 February 2017

I would've given this hotel a good rating but they charged me for eating snacks that I never touched. They have a snack basket in every room I guess that has M&M's , chips, cup of noodles etc, and I had the cup of noodles but they decided to charge me for candy and gum as well. Makes me think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Matt, We apologize for the inconvenience, we are a small family business that works very hard to gain your patronage, but unfortunately mistakes happen in the process. Please email me your information so I can refund those charges immediately. Again, we are very sorry. Cordially, Ruben Z Admin@thebigpines.com

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

I have been coming here for almost 8 years and I always come back. A no-nonsense hotel very close -walking distance- to the Heavenly Gondola. Confortable rooms, super friendly staff and breakfast included. Some rooms have kitchenette and -sort of -a fireplace Also, they accept pets and even have the garbage bags for when they "have to go" :) I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen P
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Carmen, Thank you very much for your business and awesome review! Please come back soon. Again, thank you!

Placerville, California
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I think this hotel is good for the price and location. The rooms have everything you need like a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. They also have a small breakfast. They are in walking distance from everything. The actual design of the place is nothing to write home about. I think people need to temper their expectations because this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn259
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Jenn, Thank you very much for your business and support! We are a family business that works very hard every day to make our Hotel a great deal to all of our customers. Please come back soon. Again, thanks.

376 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
Double Queen with Fireplace (27)
Viewed
Double queen with Kitchenette and Fireplace (39)
Viewed
King with Kitchenette and Fireplace (35)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (28)
Viewed
Standard King (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.3 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#14 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
834 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#30 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
248 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#15 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#28 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
962 reviews
0.2 km away
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
3 Peaks Resort & Beach Club
#18 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $63 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need parking spot, check in early”
 of 5 bubbles hiroshik795, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, or choose a room on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 617karenh617, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good place, big rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles rolfs698, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs back corner all walls are paper thin in a very old hotel you can hear everything everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles KendallH_11, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the first floor if you don't feel like taking the stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles lauracP7040NK, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5