We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Show Prices
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 375: English reviews
Start your review of Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe
 Click to rate
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Convenient place to stay with a friendly and helpful staff, ample parking, a short walk to the Heavenly Valley Gondola and a good value for the money in the wonderful City of South Lake Tahoe, California.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jrmaerzke
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi, We truly appreciate your business and support! Thanks. Please come back soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would've given this hotel a good rating but they charged me for eating snacks that I never touched. They have a snack basket in every room I guess that has M&M's , chips, cup of noodles etc, and I had the cup of noodles but they decided to charge me for candy and gum as well. Makes me think...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Matt, We apologize for the inconvenience, we are a small family business that works very hard to gain your patronage, but unfortunately mistakes happen in the process. Please email me your information so I can refund those charges immediately. Again, we are very sorry. Cordially, Ruben Z Admin@thebigpines.com

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been coming here for almost 8 years and I always come back. A no-nonsense hotel very close -walking distance- to the Heavenly Gondola. Confortable rooms, super friendly staff and breakfast included. Some rooms have kitchenette and -sort of -a fireplace Also, they accept pets and even have the garbage bags for when they "have to go" :) I'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen P
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Carmen, Thank you very much for your business and awesome review! Please come back soon. Again, thank you!

Placerville, California
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I think this hotel is good for the price and location. The rooms have everything you need like a fridge, coffee maker and microwave. They also have a small breakfast. They are in walking distance from everything. The actual design of the place is nothing to write home about. I think people need to temper their expectations because this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenn259
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Jenn, Thank you very much for your business and support! We are a family business that works very hard every day to make our Hotel a great deal to all of our customers. Please come back soon. Again, thanks.

berlin
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Lucked out and got the very last room for a busy MLK weekend as a last minute booking. Front desk check in was quick, friendly, and informative. The room gave a good 1st impression upon entering, as the fireplace was blazing, making the room welcoming and warm on a cold day. This was weirdly romantic since I was there with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank karen h
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you, thank you, thank you.... Please come back soon!

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

TERRIBLE service and average room, not worthy the price! Hotel was too full so they couldn't provide us a spot in the parking lot (even if I paid for a room with parking), when I tried to complain or find a solution the staff was SUPER rude and told me to go find other hotel in the middle of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bianca M
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Bianca, We are very sorry about your experience. We take your feedback very seriously and we'll take steps to prevent this from happening again. Again, we are very sorry.

Reviewed 10 January 2017

We arrived at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe two hours before our check in time. We were not allowed to check in early and if we would of been allowed to there was a fee of $20.00 for checking in early... Which is a first..The smoke alarm was beeping. Overall they did their best to to make it an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariaelena C
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Maria Elena, We’re sorry you were unhappy - we’ll work hard to fix the issue you experienced. Thanks for letting us know.

Reviewed 6 January 2017

Our room was big,we had all what we needed, all was good, we was content and we enjoyed our time here. First two days we can't see the lake because it was really two snow days. The third day was really beautyful, the sun was shining. The breakfast was really okay and enough. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rolf S
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Rolf, Thank you, thank you, thank you....

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We decided to go to Tahoe last minute for Christmas. We booked over the phone on Friday and arrived on Christmas Day. We brought our dog and toddler. We enjoyed our 2 night stay. The room was nice and warm with the fire going when we arrived. The walls are thin, but the neighbors tried to keep it down. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica H
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Jessica, Thank you so much for your business and support! Please come back soon!

Carlsbad, California
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Given we came up over the Christmas holiday everything was booked and prices of course reflected this. The room itself is a nice size with an electric fireplace and nice size kitchenette. There was no phone in the room but it tells you to dial the operator if you have questions. It was not dirty but I wouldn't say it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendall H
Ruben Z, Manager at Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe, responded to this review

Hi Kendall, Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

376 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (214)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)
Viewed
Standard King (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Queen (28)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
2.3 km away
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
Beach Retreat & Lodge at Tahoe
#13 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
817 reviews
0.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
246 reviews
0.2 km away
Stardust Lodge
Stardust Lodge
#4 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Azure
Hotel Azure
#16 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
764 reviews
0.9 km away
Americana Village
Americana Village
#6 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
363 reviews
0.1 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#30 of 68 in South Lake Tahoe
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Big Pines Mountain House is conveniently located in the center of South Lake Tahoe, within walking distance to major attractions - Heavenly Ski resort, the casinos and the Lake itself. We offer clean, comfortable and affordable rooms. Free wi-fi, complimentary breakfast, heated seasonal pool and the location make us the best value in town. Do not leave your pets behind, we will be happy to accept them in our hotel. Come visit us! Our friendly staff is always here to help you to make your Tahoe getaway simply fun! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe

Address: 4083 Cedar Ave, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-6979 (Formerly Viking Motor Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $68 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Pines Mountain House Of Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Big Pines Mountain Lake Tahoe
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Big Pines Mountain House of Tahoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper, or choose a room on the 2nd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 617karenh617, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good place, big rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles rolfs698, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upstairs back corner all walls are paper thin in a very old hotel you can hear everything everywhere.”
 of 5 bubbles KendallH_11, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the first floor if you don't feel like taking the stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles lauracP7040NK, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Non smoking room with a nice bed.”
 of 5 bubbles lomeliflores2014, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5