We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Trailhead

Booking.comUSD 125*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Trailhead
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

44 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for The Trailhead
See the most recent reviews
Showing 44: English reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016

Stayed 1 night - Queen room. Cleanish - clean linens but Interiors and fixtures were very worn and in need of updating and paint. We had a leaky tap but the water was really cold. It can get loud and the walls are thin. Garbage cans outside fill up quickly and get knocked over - assistance of the two-legged kind...

Thank 905
Union City, California
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Central located. Walking distance to the ski resort and heavenly village, close to casino and beach. The view on second floor is very nice. I drove up from bay area and this place is on the right side of highway 50 with a tall sign. The decor in the room is unique and nice. New AC Unit in my room....

Thank RR12340521
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 10 February 2016

The hotel was a complete disappointment for the price (~$150). Location of the hotel is good and it stops there. The hotel is more like a motel were people just grab rooms on the fly. There is a passageway to the rooms which is also more like a common patio. people were blocking the way, partying loud and smoking. Rooms...

Thank marirsk
Brian A, Front Office Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello guest! I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our quaint hotel. Thank you for addressing any issues we may have, and were not aware of. I have gone over this with the staff to ensure everything is in working order. And for future reference, we do in fact have rooms with tubs, upon request. We have 36...

Reviewed 19 January 2016

I was in South Lake Tahoe to do a bit of gambling and enjoy the snow, and chose The Trailhead motel for my two night stay. I checked in on a Thursday, the 14th of January, and checked out on the 17th. My single King bed room was clean, had a good heater for the main room, and also included...

1Thank firedog13814
Brian A, Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hello Guest! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and for your next visit, we do offer coffee pots to take to your room at no extra cost. Just let Front Desk know at check in. This building was built in 1947, so the bathrooms tend to be a bit smaller than what we are used to, we...

Dublin, California
Reviewed 24 November 2015

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a trip to South Lake Tahoe for skiing at Heavenly and Kirkwood resorts. Heavenly is right down the road, and you can walk to the Gondola from the hotel. It is about a 10 minute walk so it is helpful if you can have someone wait with the...

1Thank AJH798
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Super clean rooms. Great,friendly, helpful staff, close to casinos, close to grocery stores and lake. Lots of parking. Breakfast and coffee. Most comfortable hotel bed ive ever slept in. Clean bathrooms. Quiet. Pool. Non smoking rooms. I think there are jacuzzi rooms.

2Thank Rachel W
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Rachel! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back soon!

Reviewed 20 August 2015

Pros Close to Nevada casino hotels Parking close to room Sheets clean Cons Carpet within room and outside in hallways severely stained. It was dark brown but still the stains were plainly evident. Very noisy. I asked via email for a rear room but was given the one right next door to the office (next to the road). I asked...

1Thank Darran A
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Darran, We have gone over your review with the entire staff and will be fixing any and all issues to the best of our abilities. Unfortunately, we do not have rear rooms. All of our rooms face the parking lot and highway. The pool is structurally unsound and we can not fill it up, it floods onto our neighbors...

New York
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

This review is actually an edit to my a previous review. We booked two rooms and as I previously described mine was adequate. Unfortunately I discovered on the day of departure that the other room although designated non smoking smelled like smoke and old cigarette butts were under the air conditioner. The two people in that room knew that the...

Thank Alison H
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Alison, I'm sorry your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I just wanted to inform you that all of our rooms are non-smoking. If there was an issue regarding smoke and cigarette butts, we encourage you to inform the front desk immediately so that we can resolve the issue. I have also shown this review to our...

Reviewed 7 August 2015

Maybe we got lucky but our room was perfectly clean, save there was only a trashcan in the bathroom not the room. We stayed during the week, it was pretty quiet. The donuts for breakfast were nice, but there was nowhere to sit. The front desk was nice and helpful going so far as to book us a trip on...

1Thank Tarun P
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Tarun, Thank you for your feed back. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. We actually just bought some new buckets for trash cans and placed them all in the rooms this week. I hope to see you again in the future!

Sf Bay Area
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We made last minute reservations and were left with a few choices. We ended up at the Trailhead. From the minute we left our car, we were confronted with dirty entryway, overflowing garbage cans, to ash trays filled with cigarette butts. I could feel debris under my feet in our room and it made me feel that our room had...

Thank Ann C
Ashleigh R, General Manager at The Trailhead, responded to this review

Hi Ann, I am sorry to hear that your stay wasn't as pleasant as you had hoped. I have sat down with my cleaning staff and have gone over the reviews with them and hold them accountable and to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you change your mind about our establishment, we try our best to make...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (21)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (1)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Room/Suite (10)
Hotel & Grounds (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these South Lake Tahoe hotels
0.1 km away
No photo provided
National 9 Inn - South Lake Taho...
#45 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
15 reviews
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Area
Econo Lodge Heavenly Village Are...
#52 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
193 reviews
0.6 km away
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
Bluelake Inn at Tahoe
#27 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
Rodeway Inn Casino Center
#34 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
253 reviews
1.5 km away
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
Howard Johnson South Lake Tahoe
#57 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
481 reviews
5.1 km away
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
Motel 6 South Lake Tahoe
#37 of 66 in South Lake Tahoe
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe is located in a picturesque area of California in Lake Tahoe, just a few minutes from the Casinos, Lake Tahoe Beaches, and Heavenly Ski Resort. Adventure awaits, exploring all this great area has to offer. The opportunities are endless, from hiking, biking and skiing, to fishing, swimming and sailing the clear blue waters, Lake Tahoe is truly America's playground. When you stay with The Trailhead in South Lake Tahoe, you can unwind in one of our newly renovated rooms, watch cable TV with HBO and enjoy free high-speed WiFi. The Trailhead promises to serve you with our friendly and knowledgeable staff, ensuring a memorable Lake Tahoe experience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Trailhead

Address: 3892 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-8906 (Formerly Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe)
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > South Lake Tahoe
Price Range: $106 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trailhead 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Trailhead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn South Lake Tahoe Hotel South Lake Tahoe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Trailhead staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Trailhead staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the jacuzzi rooms are awesome & the sweet Is one of my favorite rooms they have here. they even have rooms with bunk beds for the kids :)”
jyoubeij, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second floor are quieter, there is good lighting in the walkways.”
firedog13814, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
“It's good for the price! And pet friendly!”
516tarunp, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“For those looking for a romantic vacation, request a room with the in room hot tub.”
lindahO100PE, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Some rooms have jacuzzis with tiny bathrooms; some have huge bathrooms with regular bathtubs - your pick.”
Bouncy_8, 30 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
USD 125* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUSD 125
PricelineUSD 125
Hotwire.comUSD 125
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates