Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant

Traveller (632)
De Luxe room
Room & Suite (208)
Pool
Pool & Beach (80)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#10 of 36 hotels in Labuan Bajo
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant Flores, is a modest hotel, located in Labuan Bajo, a city at the tip of Flores Island in Indonesia. Labuan Bajo is a base to explore the surrounding islands for the world class diving, wildlife viewing and for some of the least crowded beaches and tiny islands and of course the infamous Komodo and Rinca.Golo Hilltop is a small Boutique Style hotel run by two Dutch women and presents a pleasant family atmosphere. It is situated on top of a hill about 1 km from the city centre, this makes it a quiet and relaxing place but everything is still on walk-able distance. This hotel is a haven for nature lover and adventurous and is away from the town area. The bungalows are spacey, bright and clean. Each bungalow has its own balcony providing nice views of the ocean and a daily sunset. It provides comfortable stay with a variety of guest’s rooms - deluxe, superior and standard rooms. With all these services, this hotel provides a perfect camp to 'explore' Labuan Bajo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Diving
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Mosquito net
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Taxi service
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
1.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mountain View
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian

Location

Jl. Binongko, Labuan Bajo, Flores Indonesia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 58 out of 100
58
Mutiara Airport
Ruteng Airport
690Reviews16Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 387
  • 226
  • 58
  • 10
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Paul Lambie wrote a review Nov 2022
5 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Labuan bajo was the first place we visited in Indonesia. Golo Hilltop set the bar high for the rest of our trip. This is a smaller hotel with very clean and comfortable accommodations. It’s on a hill slightly out of town so it is much quieter. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is a great swimming pool overlooking the bay. It’s a bit of an uphill walk back from town but you can rent a motorbike or get a taxi if you don’t feel like walking.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin S wrote a review July 2022
19 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful time there ! The staff is lovely, we loved chatting with them. They gave us very good recommendations for activities and tours. And they shared interesting informations about Indonesia, local people, Flores, etc. The hotel is great, well integrated in the nature, but not too far from the center, you can rent a motorbike directly with them. You have an amazing view on the sea from each part of the hotel (room's balcony, restaurant, swimming pool) and the sunset there is stunning. The breakfast was great also.
I would definitely recommend this place. For the quality of the amenities and the services for the price you pay, I think than in comparison to others hotels in Labuan Bajo it is the best one or one the best at least.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marke B wrote a review July 2023
San Francisco, California12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Labuan Bajo is usually an overnight tourist stop on the way to Komodo Island and beyond, and it's rapidly getting built up with new mega-hotels, so we didn't expect much from a hotel stay there. But the well-established Golo Hilltop Hotel was such a terrific experience that we're considering returning just to linger around the pool again and witness the glorious sunsets.

The staff was so friendly, the rooms were great (we stayed in the deluxe view room for one of the nights before we sailed to the islands, and then a "regular" room for our return night, which had a lovely view of its own). The breakfast—choice of egg dish, pancakes, or cereal when we were there—hit the spot and the owner helpfully directed us down the hill to the fish market, but the real highlight was relaxing in the pool with a cold Bintang, and enjoying the exquisite gardens.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The deluxe view room is well worth the splurge, but all the rooms were nice. It was easy to...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dawn O wrote a review Feb 2023
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada55 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We absolutely loved our stay at Golo Hilltop.
It’s about a 15 minute walk from town, so it is very quiet but still easy to get to.
The daily breakfast was fresh and delicious.
We loved relaxing in the infinity pool.
Staff was helpful and friendly.
The room had everything that we needed.

We felt very at home here. A wonderful stay in paradise.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wander51205100499 wrote a review July 2022
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We loved our time at the hotel. The swimming pool is great and so are the stunning views with a perfect sunset. The lady owner is a joy to chat to and is incredibly knowledgeable and helpful as are her staff. The rooms are very clean and spacious. You will enjoy your stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Texonesian wrote a review Mar 2016
Dallas, Texas112 contributions542 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Since 2007, I have been ALL OVER Indonesia. I love it more than any other country I've ever been to (with Japan coming in at #2, but it's not really close)... Anyway, I was having trouble sleeping last night, because I suddenly began thinking about the wonderful couple of nights that I spent sleeping in Golo Hilltop. As literary as I frequently aim to be in my reviews, I struggle to think of the appropriate terms to use, for successfully describing this place. It's difficult, because phrases like BEAUTIFUL and AMAZING and WONDERFUL are all too easily overused. But not in the case of Golo Hilltop. If I had to use just one word to describe the location, the service, the quality of everything received for the value of every rupiah/euro spent... I'd say PERFECT. That's a pretty good start, at least. I'm probably never going to make it back to Flores/Komodo (sorry, too many other places to see - before they're gone)... But if I do return, I will make it my mission to stay at least one more night at Golo Hilltop! Nicest people, best view, and most relaxing night I could have asked for!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ksu wrote a review Jan 2013
Tel Aviv, Israel113 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel consists of several bungalows on the hill slope with a fabulous view of the nearby islands. The rooms are pretty basic but they have air conditioning, hot water and mosquito nets. It is a fifteen-minutes walk downhill to the port. The pool (also with a view and with additional towels) is very nice, and there is free wi-fi in the restaurant area (the food is also good but beware - the portions are huge!). The hotel owners arrange pick-up from the airport at a fair price. We also had our boat trip to Komodo and Rinca islands and a car trip to Kelimutu lakes arranged by their employee Pieter - and we couldn't be more pleased: everything was organised very well and went off without a hitch, the boat was very comfortable and clean. I highly recommend both the hotel and their organisation of trips.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Seapen wrote a review Mar 2015
Connolly, Australia27 contributions56 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was an excellent introduction to Flores hospitality! From the moment I walked into Reception I was helped to feel completely at home. Then there was the stunning view from the verandah of the neat, clean bungalow.

It didn't matter that there was no TV in the room - the view outside surpassed anything you'd see on the box anyhow! They were working on getting consistent wi-fi to the rooms, but the connection in the resto was reliable.

Breakfast choice & quality were good. The lunch/dinner menu was a bit short on choice, which was understandable for a small establishment. For those craving greater variety, it's only a short walk to town.

The walk is easy for anyone with at least a moderate level of fitness. However, caution is required due to the narrowness of the road and the absence of verges - a bright torch and highly visible clothing is recommended for any 'evening strolls'.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TimnJane wrote a review Jan 2013
Courtenay, Canada75 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 5 days at Golo last March. The view.... the view! Nice pool & pleasant restaurant, clean rooms and great owners and staff. We would return in a heartbeat!
Ingrid & Judith put together a great tour for us from LBJ to Maumere. Peter arranged our boat to Rinca / Komodo Islands (too bad about the weather) and a delightful afternoon at the "Tourism School".
Our trip across Flores was stunning. You can find photo's on our You Tube channel "McCarrollish".
Read more
Date of stay: March 2012
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The deluxe rooms up top are best by far
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ignasius wrote a review Dec 2019
Ubud, Indonesia26 contributions51 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Despite the kindness of the manager, our journey was ruined by the behaviour of one of the employees who encouraged us to take a cruise (even it was forbidden for him) with one of his friend (agency in town : revolusi, hallobajo.com) who came to the hotel and finally cheated with us with the boat which was dirty (sticky, bad smelling), small, very unconformtable and extremely slow (dont rely on pictures they show you!), and the program of the cruise was not respected at all. Such horrible that we needed to quit the boat and arrange ourselves our come back to the city.
We truly regret that this situation was not avoided despite it is not the first time it happens as we can see on other tripadvisor comments... What a shame ! We definitly won't come again, and suggest you to beware of such bad persons.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from kakamax, Owner at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 Dec 2019
Thank you for your review and as we already told you we are so terribly sorry that this happened to you and spoiled your experience in our hotel and in Labuan Bajo. As we explained to you, our staff is not allowed to organize trips for guests because we, as a hotel cannot guarantee the quality we want for our guests when we don't know which company is organizing the trip. We have told our staff to advise guests just to go into town and find a trip at one of the many agencies over there. And as you mentioned it happened before even after we had warned the employee in question already a few times, so after what happened to you we had to discharge him. We hope in the future it will not happen again. And again so sorry for this
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
issycampbell23 asked a question June 2018
Christchurch, United Kingdom6 contributions
Can you come here for the pool if not a guest?
Answer from girlcanbeanything
7 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi, I don’t think so but you can call them and ask whether you can use their pool if you eat at their restaurant. The restaurant menu is super simple though. Not fancy at all. Cheers
ScubaDiverZa asked a question Mar 2018
Umkomaas, South Africa49 contributions3 helpful votes
Good day. Do yiu have a website?
Answer from juuding
labuan bajo18 contributions7 helpful votes
Yes we have but Tripadvisor is not allowing us to post it here. Just use our name and it will pop up. Greetings, Judith and Ingrid
Answer from SavageE
Montreal, Canada67 contributions40 helpful votes
Hi there, it's a a bar reserved for guests but yes it's a great place to watch the sunset, especially from the pool area. But all rooms have balconies facing the sea so can grab a beer and watch the sunset from your own private balcony. Otherwise, there is a public bar between the town and the hotel, closer to the hotel, called Paradise bar which offers booze, food and reggae music on top of a stupendous view of the sunset. ENJOY ! Eric
Answer from Zoe S
54 contributions35 helpful votes
Not a bar as such but you can buy a beer, and the view of the sunset from the restaurant and pool are amazing. If you want a bar vibe just walk down the hill to the Sunset Bar.
Answer from juuding
labuan bajo18 contributions7 helpful votes
Our hotel is about 1 km from the city center. You can walk into town in about 15 minutes (downhill) or order a car (rp 50.000 per one way). In our hotel we have a small menu with some simple dishes (sandwiches, fried rice, fried noodles). Paradise bar and restaurant is about 5 minutes from our hotel but for other restaurants you will have to go into town.
Marke B wrote a tip July 2023
San Francisco, California12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The deluxe view room is well worth the splurge, but all the rooms were nice. It was easy to arrange a ride to and from the airport and city "
Read full review
Tom wrote a tip Oct 2019
Hong Kong, China159 contributions113 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"rooms further up the hill"
Read full review
Mary Helen R wrote a tip May 2019
Japan32 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Any of the rooms are good. The delux are a little higher up so the view is better."
Read full review
Dan W wrote a tip Apr 2018
Portland, Oregon1,936 contribution788 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms have views of the bay - the higher floors have the best views."
Read full review
Julian L wrote a tip Nov 2017
Bali, Indonesia11 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"All room facing to the ocean so...its cool!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Labuan Bajo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$57 - AU$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
golo hilltop hotel and restaurant
LOCATION
IndonesiaEast Nusa TenggaraFloresLabuan Bajo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

GOLO HILLTOP HOTEL & RESTAURANT (AU$57): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Labuan Bajo, Flores, Indonesia) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include SO Bajo Night Market (0.9 km), Kampung Ujung Beach (0.8 km), and Magnolia Boutique Komodo (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Escape Bajo, Copper Bonnet Bistro & Bar, and Baccala Bajo.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant have airport transportation?
Yes, Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Indonesian.
Are there any historical sites close to Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Tado Village (3.5 km).
Does Golo Hilltop Hotel & Restaurant have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
All Labuan Bajo HotelsLabuan Bajo Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Labuan Bajo
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars