We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gladstone Motel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Gladstone Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Westport, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. Great location, handy to main road when departing Nelson, short drive to airport and friendly helpful staff. Close to Richmond Mall for a good variety of cafes, shops etc. Excellent location for sports groups as across the road from sports ground.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rcb95
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Very very rude manage would never ever stay. Would not listen or allow communication from us at all which was so rude, he has no ability to manage clients and should not hold the position. In our view not a pleasant place to stay in Nelson Richmond. We definitely had a pleasant stay in other motel in Richmond and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23,702,370
gladstone2014, Manager at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi Linda, your review is based on you booking at our motel and then arriving at a different motel and staying there. You were rung by me and asked if you were booking in at which point you advised you were booked into Parkside motel. The other motel should have called us to check if you were booked in with...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Due to unfortunate weather events this weekend we were unable to land in Nelson and unfortunately had to cancel our trip. Gary at Gladstone Motel was extremely helpful and we will definitely be staying at Gladstone Motel on our next trip down to Nelson. Thank you for your help

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pykerbs
New Zealand
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We often travel around NZ supporting our children in their sport; I would highly recommend this motel as a great location, clean premises and brilliant service. The owners are kind, considerate and very accommodating which is refreshing!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pannells
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Me and my 2 kids have stayed here a couple of times in the family unit. Is stylee & clean, with comfortable beds & lots of space for everyone to not be on top of each other. Owners and staff were really friendly and helpful & it was really easy to get to different places from. Highly recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelina P
Christchurch
Reviewed 19 May 2016

Well, the title probably says it all, we had a friendly welcome - local milk provided, the two bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean, modern and tastefully decorated. I loved the fact that they had a surround sound sound media system (although my wife didn't care so much!). We had a very enjoyable stay and would definitely use this motel again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CantabRob
gladstone2014, Manager at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your review. Look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

There was a muck up on the booking dates from booking.com, which was very distressing. However, Chris from the Gladstone Motel was very understanding and helpful. Thank you Chris for being so accommodating. Regards Rohan.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan W
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2016

After reading the great comments about Gladstone Motel in Richmond, and how everyone enjoyed their stay and raved about the management, I felt this was the ideal place, so I booked a studio unit on Saturday 30th January for 1 night stay on the 7th February 2016. Nothing was mentioned at the time with regard to the cancellation policy (of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jude R
gladstone2014, Owner at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Hi Jude, Our cancellation policy is clearly spelt out in your reservation confirmation, on our website and on our partner websites. We went to extraordinary lengths to assist you even dropping our room rate to try and let the room you cancelled. We were unable to do this and therefore your room charge was not refunded. The industry standard is...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 February 2016

I've stayed at this motel a number of times in the last 4 months. The unit is always immaculate and the welcome's always friendly. Very close to town! But what impressed me most was that these people genuinely care about their guests. I became ill during my last visit and the motel manager noticed that I hadn't left my unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saphira2016
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 January 2016

Wonderful ammenities! Absolutely perfect for my elderly mother and myself visiting family and friends in this region. Excellent friendly hosts, loads of room and very tastefully decorated. Couldn't have asked for more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 289PossumDunedin
gladstone2014, Manager at Gladstone Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay!

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (35)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.5 km away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
53 reviews
5.1 km away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
10.8 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Oxford Court Motel
Oxford Court Motel
#1 of 4 in Richmond
152 reviews
0.4 km away
Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
0.6 km away
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gladstone Motel, Richmond,Nelson offers immaculate modern Nelson region accommodation in beautifully appointed units at an affordable price. Choose between fully equipped suites and fully serviced studio units. Everything that you would expect from a modern motel but with Gladstone's extra touches of hospitality and comfort that you would expect in a Four Star Plus rated Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gladstone Motel

Address: 19 Gladstone Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand (Formerly Destiny Motels)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Price Range: $149 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gladstone Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Gladstone Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Motel Richmond, Nelson-Tasman, New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Gladstone Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room 803 was perfect for us. Parked right outside the door.”
 of 5 bubbles ravnf, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room further away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles hurtle1, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Our suite was right beside the office. 2 bedrooms, outside patio table, right beside a lemon tree. Perfect!!”
  • Kitchenette
  • Jet Tub
  • Nice clean Bathroom
  • Smaller room with 2 single beds
  • Larger room with 2 larger beds
 of 5 bubbles knsqueakers, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
“If you dont want to leave your room ask for a varied breakfast the nite before”
 of 5 bubbles liz759559, 18 Sep 2014 | Read review
“My room had good double glazing, couldn't hear anything from the outside world once the doors were closed.”
 of 5 bubbles EkantV, 30 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay