Surf Camp Australia
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Surf Camp Australia

Gerroa, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales Australia
Traveller (106)
The size of the smile is what counts
Pool & Beach (28)
Room & Suite (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 2 lodges in Gerroa
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
568Reviews1Q+A39Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 443
  • 79
  • 28
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
YenteVDB wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Surf Camp Australia is by far one of the best experiences I've had during my stay in Australia. The surf instructors taught us all the basics we need to know in order to surf (how to properly paddle, how to stand up, how to lay down on your board...) . All the staff members are really helpful, make sure you enjoy your stay at the camp and love to have a chat with you. The kitchen staff made sure there were food options for everyone (vegetarian, vegan, lactose intolerant ...) and the food was always on time and tasted really good. Moreover, the staff members also arranged activities in the evening, one of them was a silent disco at the beach which was so much fun. After my 5 Day Experience, I can proudly say I've surfed a green wave and had the best time of my life. Thank you Surf Camp!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess H wrote a review Nov 2020
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The two day stay with the Surf Camp team was all fun and completely stress free! The team are so relaxed and helpful, making everyone feel welcome. One on one surfing tips were given, the gear was in good condition and you’d never go hungry. Highly recommend for all ages, give it a go!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Liam Hammond wrote a review May 2022
43 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I arrived at the camp on the Monday morning after being picked up from the local train station, upon arrival, you get stuck in straight away! I arrived with one surf lesson under my belt an was just about able to stand on a surf board on the white wash. After 8 lessons between Monday and Friday I found myself being able to get out behind the waves comfortably, read wave direction and judge the right time to catch a wave on my own! This really sets you up to solo surf in the future. I was shown a range of small helpful techniques but also explained why I was performing them in this way aswell. Most importantly I was taught how to be safe whilst surfing and how to be courteous to other surfers. All of the instructors and volunteers where extremely helpful, sociable, knowledgeable and alot of fun to be around. The food was good and filling, the dorms were clean and spacious and the company was always awesome! I'd like to give a specific shout out to Noah for his dedication to us as surfers even offering future advice if we needed it! I'd also like to mention Margot and Matty who were my main two instructors for the week, both were incredibly pasient and really helpful with the learning process Al whilst being enthusiastic!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: My advice for future travellers would be to pack light for this trip and be prepared for a lack...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Juzzzz wrote a review Feb 2022
Newcastle, Australia3 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We did the weekender trip (2 nights) and we really enjoyed it. Could not fault the instructors, they were friendly, entertaining and welcoming. Their lessons were engaging and they were really supportive in the water.
The whole experience was very humbling, there were no ego's in the water. Everyone was just there to have a good time, no matter their skill level. The instructors were really encouraging and it was contagious, everyone started cheering each other on and it made the whole experience alot of fun. There was no pressure, no competition, just wholesome fun in the ocean.
The accommodation was hostel style, but definitely comfortable enough for a few nights. The food was great, nothing fancy but it was tasty, filling and there was plenty of it! We were served things like burgers, wraps, pasta bake, salads, and continental breakfasts.
The camp was only basic, but had all the essentials and was just what you would expect for a Surf Camp. Very chilled vibe, good people, and good fun!
I would definitely recommend this camp to anyone looking to try surfing, and who wants to experience the whole coastal, surf trip vibe!
Big thanks to Surf Camp Australia for the weekend. Yewww 🤙
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Margot B wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As tiring as surfing can be, the staff manages to keep it fun and takes care of all the rest for you always with a big smile, which is amazing !
Food is fresh and amazing, made with so much love, and there is enough for everybody’s tastes and appetite.
If you are scared of getting bored, it is not even a possibility on surf camp. Between the surf lessons, the sunset walks, the board games, the beer longs, for sure no time to get bored.
A special big thank you to Diogo, one of the surf coaches, who did not give up on me no matter how much I was struggling. I owe him being able to not give up and try to push my boundaries. As normal as it might seem to the surf coaches, feeling accompanied and motivated through rough moments in surf is such a special feeling that i wish everyone to feel one day by coming to surf camp.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
W G wrote a review Oct 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A fantastic way to try surfing and spend time in a beautiful place.

I booked the 2 night, 3 day weekend experience and had a brilliant time that felt like great value for money.

Split into groups we had 2 instructors who were with us for all our sessions. Chico & Elliot were knowledgeable, friendly and happy to answer our questions and help out. I really liked that they don't just cover technique but also items like reading the conditions so you can use this in the future when you surf again. Once in the water they took time with everyone, giving really good advice and ensuring we all remembered we were there to have fun and not to be too hard on ourselves.

The support staff are hero's, the food was great, on time and all done with a smile.

I really liked the relaxed but social atmosphere, as a solo traveller it was great to meet new people who became friends.

Thank you for an amazing weekend, teaching me how to stand and turn, I love my new found passion for surfing!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hanna E wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Good concept and excellent surf instructors (shout out to Nori and Simon!). Nice area/atmosphere and really good food. Other than that it could’ve been so much better. Unfortunately no A/C in the rooms, and the rooms were very small making it extremely warm with seven people sleeping in it.

Too many people at the camp at the same time. We were 90 people there, and even half of it would be enough.

Too much of a party vibe for our taste. The 10pm-noise curfew was good, but waking up at 6am the next morning made it hard to get a good night of sleep even then.

Would’ve appreciated changing rooms closer than the toilets provided by the holiday park. Those toilets were very appreciated though.

Wish we could rate it higher, and it has a lot of potential but unfortunately it didn’t meet our expectations!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guy Olbourne, Owner at Surf Camp Australia
Responded 29 Jan 2024
Hi Hannae, Thanks for taking the time to review surf camp australia. We would love to ad A/C but due to our low price point its not possible for our beach style cabins. However for anyone reading this we do have upgrade options that have A/C . These rooms are private and fully self contained and start at approximately and extra $100 per night for 2 people. The paty vibe is variable depending on the guests that attend. New surfers like to celebrate theire achievments from the days surfing. We find that the 10pm curfew works for most and yes we do get up early as that is part of surfing. Usually the best conditions are early in the morning. We do cater for 90 people. Again for those reading this we split the groups into 2 x 45 people. That group of 45 than gets split into 3 x 15 people for surf coaching. Each group of 15 has 2 instructors . We than have a extra head coach working between all 3 groups making it 7 surf instructors on the beach when we have all 45 surfing. With 7 miles of beach we have more than adequate space for everyone . We have wash room facility a mere few steps from the cabins, and yes we offer extra facilities approx 50 steps away. Warmest regards and hope you continue your surfing journey.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Beth L wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was such good vibes. There was 2 lessons a day which was exhausting but it helped you improve with muscle memory! If you felt too tired, you could sit out or surf for a bit of the lesson. The food was lush, they catered for every dietary requirement (there was quite a lot of different requirements around the group) and there was plenty of it which meant you had enough energy between lessons.
Everyone there was just good vibes tbf, deffo recommend and debating going back in the future. It’s surprising how quickly you learnt in 5 days
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ellie c wrote a review Dec 2023
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was such a fun trip I did whilst solo travelling up the east coast.

The surf instructors are so good at their jobs and also just really cool people who managed to teach all 90 of us to surf! Shoutout to Simon for pushing me onto tons of waves I dunno what I’ll do without you

The food was so delicious and healthy! Shoutout to all the kitchen staff for serving us up the grubb - pasta bake and burgers were the highlights!

And the camp we stay at is so friendly and cool, right near the beach, a cafe and a small shop for any extra snacks.

100% recommend this trip to solo travellers, friends in groups or anyone wanting to learn to surf!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Megan wrote a review Sept 2022
Brighton, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Came with welcome to travel tour group and had the best time here! Instructors were incredibly helpful and patient when learning to surf. Food served was excellent and great fun vibes in the evening. 7 mile beach was beautiful and a great spot to stargaze and see the galaxy on a clear night. Cute little possum guest comes out at night. Staff were fun and helpful. Room was cosy and heaters brought the warmth. Fun!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Put the heater on an hour before bed to get the room warm before sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rahil R asked a question Apr 2020
Guildford, United Kingdom2 contributions2 helpful votes
Hi there, I was wondering if there was much nightlife during the evening we’re there?
Julia G wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Be aware that nearly all participants are European backpackers in their 20s"
Read full review
Edward wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring alcohol"
Read full review
Galabina B wrote a tip Dec 2023
Sydney, Australia14 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just bear in mind it’s a camp.. and you will be put in a room with 5 other people unless you opt in for the private room"
Read full review
Fabian N wrote a tip Dec 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring flip flops!"
Read full review
Akke V wrote a tip Nov 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book the surfcamp as long as possible, because every day is worth it."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Gerroa area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesKiama MunicipalityGerroa
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Surf Camp Australia - 2024 Reviews (Gerroa) - Photos of Lodge - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Surf Camp Australia
What are some of the property amenities at Surf Camp Australia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, breakfast buffet, and shuttle bus service.
What food & drink options are available at Surf Camp Australia?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.