We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whistling Frog Resort

Save
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (5)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good45%
  • Average26%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“lamb”(3 reviews)
“toilet block”(2 reviews)
“fries”(2 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
5
10
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
10
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambtoilet blockfriespieaward winningthe staff were greatcamper vancafecampersstandcabinstopcampingfallsfacilitiesbuymeal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reception for the resort was located at the Restaurant, although it wasn't immediately apparent. The listing for the property spoke of shared facilities, which I thought meant the bathroom down the hall shared by various rooms; The room was actually a stand alone cabin,...More

Thank chatulita1
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Campervan holiday with teenage daughter and wife. Arrived just on 5.00pm. Bar and Cafe closing. While understandable, I recommend they stay open later. We would have fined and no doubt had a few beers etc. Were able to buy a frozen award winning pie with...More

Thank Bernie D
Reviewed 20 April 2018

We stayed here for just one night. Location was great for visiting the Catlins, and we really enjoyed the dinner served in the onsite restaurant though having to eat by 6pm would not have been our first choice. The room itself was rather disappointing. It...More

Thank Martin M
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This place is lovely. Delicious, thoughtful food in the restaurant. The owners have sustainability in mind. The rooms are quaint we stayed in 313 but clean and comfy. We hiked around the property and of course to McClellan falls. We had suchanged a great time.

Thank Kelplady
Reviewed 20 March 2018

The resort is a handy place to spend the night in the Caitlins. However, the room was a bit cramped for the price. Additionally, the checkin counter and the cafe apparently closes at 3pm on Tuesdays. We arrived around 5pm. It took us forever to...More

Thank DanielH1981
Response from Mich2535, Guest Relations Manager at Whistling Frog ResortResponded 24 March 2018

Hi Daniel, Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. We are sorry that you didn't receive our message about closing early on that Tuesday. We tried to notify everyone through our confirmation email, sometimes booking through a third party such as...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Papatowai
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Business Centre with Internet Access
Multilingual Staff
Self-Serve Laundry
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Details
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Kitchenette
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (7)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (5)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Whistling Frog Resort staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"We were in a smallish room but adequate."
Read review
"Lots of options to fit various budgets"
Read review
"Choose the chalet."
Read review
"Accomodation ranges from camping to serviced, checkout their website"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing