We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sands Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Sands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 126: English reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This pleasant pub hotel is tucked away in suburban streets and forms part of a small shopping complex a short walk from the beach. Our Deluxe room was standard format with a balcony and spacious bathroom. All clean bright and in good condition. We were weary from travel and rang ahead to see if we could check in early. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We know what it's like after a long drive, and were pleased to be able to wiggle our bookings around to get you the early check-in. Thank you also for mentioning how close we are to the airport and city. The express bus from Maroubra gets into town in only...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Reasonably priced accommodation for Sydney. Good location for a holiday stay, but unfortunately I was only there for the night so didn't get to explore or enjoy what they had to offer. Room was above the pub, so a little noisy in the evening. Good pub food on offer. Comfortable room with basic amenities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glen247
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Sands Hotel! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the food; we like to boast that you can feed a family for under $50 at our Bistro with our range of $10 meals. Today's Special is slow-cooked beef pot pie with a puff pastry lid that you'd wish went on...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Large deluxe room,excellent cleanliness. Great surrounding attraction. Friendly bar. Food served was great and served with a smile. Above all great people ,it was a pleasure just speaking to all and getting help when needed. Non smoking rooms, but with a large outdoor balcony for the puffers. Easy to get Taxi service and the supermarket and bottle store next door...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alfredjlobo
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Wow - thanks for the great review! We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and were treated with the country-style hospitality we aspire to in this big city of ours! Maroubra really is the undiscovered gem in the Sydney crown - far enough to be away from the chaos of the city (though still only a bus...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

Good standard rooms and very good bistro food, though we found the dividing room walls too thin to deaden the sounds from noisy neighbours. Fortunately they wound up by 11pm. Good location not far from Malabar Rd with an easy drive to Maroubra beach for breakfast across from the Mahon pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RnR M
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We have stayed for a night. It must be a wonderful place. Unfortunately we didn't get to explore the surrounding much as we have arrived after the sun went down and an early flight to catch the next day. Free parking is a plus point given it is rare to find this in or near Sydney. The room could have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eileenfong01sg
Gina H, General Manager at Sands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Sands Hotel for your recent stopover in Sydney. I hope that the next time you come, you will have some time to explore the area. The beach is just magic on a nice day, and there's a terrific ocean pool to swim in if big waves aren't your thing. Thank you for the suggestion to...

Berrara, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The sands hotel restaurant at maroubra is good value for money pub food. Service was fast and the serving sizes were big. Lots of variety to choice from on the menu with kid friendly meals as well. Will eat there again, easy quick food to go! Have eaten her quite a few times

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madstever
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Just average not great not too bad. Corridor s are bit shady rooms are OK bathroom needs upgrade and some cleaning improvements. Pub food and machines, not to interest me. Not recommended for business trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
Wodonga, Australia
Reviewed 14 June 2016

The location is fantastic and the room was perfect, but the best thing is the great people and service but above all the food is amazing. We have stayed there several times and will anytime we are in Sydney.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevemarg2016
Albury, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Great Location at a reasonable price, room spacious and clean, service very good and meals in hotel very goog and great value. had great facilities within 50m including supermarket, bakery, chemist and take-away food. one great asset was ample free parking available that is difficult to find in the Sydney area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Butkoeng
Batemans Bay, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

The room was clean and tidy. The location was very good with great access to public transport and the beach. Food at the bistro was nice and cheap. The only negative is some occasional noise from the outside bar, but this was solved by closing the window!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David V

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maroubra
3.5 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
3.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
3.7 km away
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Royal Hotel at Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 15 in Randwick
109 reviews
3.4 km away
Coogee Bay Hotel Heritage Wing
3.3 km away
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 7 in Coogee
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sands Hotel in Maroubra offers the perfect 3.5 star (AAA Rated) accommodation base for exploring the wonderful Eastern Beaches of Sydney. We are like a friendly, first rate country motel and pub - only ours is just 20 minutes from both the centre of Sydney City and the airport! The Sands Hotel Motel consists of 15 rooms, all with free WIFI, ensuite, balcony, reverse-cycle air-conditioning, fridge, kettle, toaster, free tea and coffee, flat screen digital TV's (with over 20 channels to choose from) and daily servicing. Our Deluxe rooms are larger and are positioned to the quieter rear of the building, away from the street. Some Deluxe rooms are available with inter-connecting doors; ideal for large families (please call to check availability). All our rooms are on the first floor (up a short flight of stairs), with the Bistro, bar, function room and bottleshop on the ground floor. We are a friendly, family-run pub in the South Maroubra Shopping Village. We are community minded, and committed to providing a fun, safe and family friendly venue with great value meals from our Bistro, and well-maintained facilities in our motel and bar. There's ping-pong, darts, pool and arcade games, KENO, TAB and of course... really good beer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sands Hotel

Address: 32-40 Curtin Cres, Maroubra, Randwick, New South Wales 2035, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Maroubra
Price Range: $150 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Maroubra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sands Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard rooms are spacious,have a microwave & crockery/ cutlery adequate for light breakfast/meal.Room 9 was quiet? bigger.Walk in showers”
 of 5 bubbles margaretgregor, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ask for fooms with double numbers as they are on the quiet side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dianne672014, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Speak nicely to the receptionist and do not be rude or demanding!”
 of 5 bubbles dadeba, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in two standard rooms, one with a crib, and the rooms nice and quiet. Both had little balconies which was really nice.”
 of 5 bubbles soovain, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request for a room away from the bar / pub”
 of 5 bubbles Glen247, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay