We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macquarie Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Macquarie Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

33 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 33: English reviews
Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

The Macquarie inn features beautifully maintained rooms, set in a great location, the inn gives you access to the adjoining club for meals and breakfast, staff are fantastic, the only downside is the occasional train. Food within the club is great and very reasonably priced and huge!! A must stay for having everything available on your doorstep

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jody262016
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We've been doing the race day package with Macquarie Inn for about 5 years now. We find it great value for money. Our rooms at the Inn have always been spotless. Staff are always welcoming & friendly. The adjoining club offers meals, pokies, tab area, function rooms etc. We always look forward to our next race day out & coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Japhay
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear Japhay, Thank you for your post. This is one of our most popular packages and many guests come back year after year. We look forward to seeing you at Macquarie Inn for your next race day outing.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 April 2016

This Inn does a package for a raceday at Broadmeadow Racecourse. A nights accommodation, pick up in a hire car and return again to and from the Racetrack at Broadmeadow, entrance to the races and a 3 course meal at Chevals restaurant plus a bottle of wine and a racebook between two people and to top it off a breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMF4454
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear LMF4454 - Thank you so much for taking the time to post this great review. Our raceday packages are very popular and excellent value for money. We have groups who come back every year, like you, to enjoy the weekend away. And as per our review below our golf packages are very popular too. We look forward to seeing...

Reviewed 8 April 2016

A group of 15 golfing ladies thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at Macquarie Inn. The accommodation was 1st class, clean and roomy, the beds comfortable and the room well stocked with coffee and tea facilities. Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed a lovely meal both nights in the club's restaurant. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear Michael K What a fantastic group of ladies you all were. We loved hosting you here and we are so pleased that you enjoyed all that our accommodation and Club have to offer. I know our Chef Craig impressed you ladies so much on your first night that you booked in for a second. He was very happy to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2016

We were up at Lake Macquarie for a nearby football tournament and this property was recommended. We booked the family room which had a comfortable king size bed in the main room and 4 single beds in the adjoining room. The rooms have air conditioning, 2 tvs, a good size bathroom and were clean and comfortable. There was no issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear Donna D, Thank you for your recent post. We are delighted Macquarie Inn provided you with an enjoyable stay. Our location to the newly built soccer fields at Speers Point is perfect for visitors using the complex as well as our proximity to the vibrant shopping and café precinct of Warners Bay. We look forward to seeing you at...

Port Macquarie, Australia
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Booked this motor inn as it was not far from our daughter's home and looked like it would be fine for a 2 night's stay at a good price, which also included hot/cold buffet breakfast. Booked connecting rooms for ourselves and our other daughter's family, which worked out great that the grandson could come to our room as needed. Both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gandm84
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear gandm84, Thank you for taking the time to post your favourable review. We are pleased that your stay at Macquarie Inn was enjoyable for your family. We do see ourselves as a family friendly business so its nice to hear we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you again.

Wallsend, Australia
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a family room for my girlfriends wedding. The room was adequate in size for the 5 of us and we had enough room for a makeup artist and hairdresser to do their thing with us all in there too. Rubbish disposal for a room that can sleep 6 people was not adequate, especially being a family room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicprice
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear nicprice, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The rubbish disposal issue has been addressed as of today. Usually 2 bins would be placed in the room but must have been overlooked on this occasion. Had our staff been made aware they would have certainly provided more bins for you. On arrival on Tuesday our staff...

Australia
Reviewed 4 December 2015

We did not sleep for 3 hours. The children were grumpy next day. Dinner.......closes at 2000....more like a factory canteen. Breakfast....worst breakfast in Australia that I have ever seen or experienced. The food offering was a disgrace.RSL clubs should be doing stunning roasts. Whomever is in charge needs to change the dinner product/concept and breakfast. Clearly no one is interested...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hotelsareourlife
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and express your views. Unfortunately on the night of your stay we did have some guests who ignored our no party policy, creating a disturbance. We were not made aware of this until guests came to reception the next morning. Those guests we approached and put on notice re the...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Our ground floor adjoining rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. Very friendly staff. Plenty of parking, easy access to club. Short drive to shopping centres and beautiful Lake Macquarie. Will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SueSteve88
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Dear SueSteve88, Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We agree our rooms are very spacious and we provide a good variety for all travellers. We look forward to seeing you again at Macquarie Inn.

Glen Innes, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

Did not know what to expect, however, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was well appointed, very quite and had a wonderful view to the river. Reception was courteous and helpful. We were surprised to receive a phone call after check out to say we had left some items in the room. Very releieved.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Col W
Lesley F, Manager at Macquarie Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Col W. Our guests are regularly pleasantly surprised by our rooms and the views. We now have a virtual tour on our website that shows just how lovely the motel and the views are. We do get lots of items left behind and it is our priority to ensure they are returned to their owners...

12 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Argenton
7.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International
7.7 km away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
343 reviews
5.4 km away
Ibis Budget Newcastle
Ibis Budget Newcastle
#1 of 1 in Wallsend
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
890 reviews
12.8 km away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
344 reviews
2.6 km away
Pippi's at the Point
Pippi's at the Point
#1 of 1 in Speers Point
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the northern tip of Lake Macquarie our 4 star Macquarie Inn features 36 well appointed rooms including 14 Spa Suites and 2 Disabled Rooms. All rooms have King size beds, LCD TV, free Pay TV plus broadband internet connectionMacquarie Inn is connected to Club Macquarie by a secured covered walk way. Club Macquarie offers motel guests excellent meals in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Park the car, check into your 4 star accommodation, take a short stroll to Club Macquarie and enjoy all that is on offer.Located only 5 minutes from beautiful Lake Macquarie, 45 minutes from the Hunter Valley Wine Country, and there are 7 golf courses within 30 minutes of Macquarie Inn. Also within 5 minutes are 2 major shopping centres and a 2 cinema’s. Children are welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macquarie Inn

Address: 458 Lake Rd, Argenton, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2284, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Argenton
Amenities:
Price Range: $150 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macquarie Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Macquarie Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macquarie Inn Lake Macquarie/Argenton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macquarie Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Golf course next door and bowling club attached. The rooms on the 1st floor are very quiet and overlook the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles LMF4454, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We made sure we had rooms with access to the courtyard so great for children.”
 of 5 bubbles gandm84, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Where will,I not hear noise?”
 of 5 bubbles Hotelsareourlife, 4 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms open onto a nice grassy arear”
 of 5 bubbles colw14, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the left side of the building have the best view.”
 of 5 bubbles 849janicep, 10 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay