We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Garden, with nice rooms in a beautiful Village. The staff is really Sweet and do everything to take a good care of you. Nice and friendly people, good breakfast, some brand new rooms. We stay there in a big group of friends, and everything went smooth and everybody had a good time in there.

Helpful?
Thank Janani A
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am so pleased that your group enjoyed their stay with us and that everything ran smooth. Receiving good reviews is great for us so thank you again Peter More 

Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Though dated, the rooms, aircond & bath are functional with free wife. Bed comfortable. There're a few types of chalets, rooms that can caters to various guests but you would need to book ahead. We'd a twin room adjoining with a common patio and you would need to walk a fair bit to the restaurant, main building. The owner is... More 

Helpful?
Thank KL K
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are always happy to transport guests from their rooms to the restaurant but many find the relatively short walk enjoyable looking at the trees, flowers, mountain views and the birds. More 

Karon, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Suansawan has all of the amenities of a high level hotel, without the presumptuous attitudes. For a visitor to Thailand, it is a safe haven to experience the real Thailand as opposed to the packaged tourist shows. Set in the hills north of Chiang Mai, it is away from the traffic noise and all of the distraction. One can truly... More 

Helpful?
Thank KhunChutikan
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

When I first saw this review I saw that we had been awarded 1 star out of 5! Oh no, I thought because we try so hard. Then I read your wonderful review for which I thank you for taking the time to write. Your review was a great compliment to our staff who I think deserve the praise. TripAdvisor... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We stayed four nights with our two children (13 and 9 years old), enjoying the unique hotel's location and quietness. We stayed in a lovely villa, very comfortable and plenty of room to fit four people. A slight room’s refurbishment will help to make the Suansawan experience even more unforgettable. Very kind staff and nice restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank apinadell
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review especially the kind comments about your staff. As a small business good feedback is important to us and very much appreciated. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights, rooms very comfortable, air con excellent, varied menu at the restaurant. Pool small but clean, gym very small. Free bikes to use which was great to go and explore the local restaurants. Would recommend this resort for a family holiday.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. It is difficult to communicate how much these reviews are appreciated as a small family owned business. I am surprised that you think our swimming pools are small but in comparison to a large hotel I expect they are but with so few people in them the room available is large. Thank... More 

carlisle, cumbria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights family of 4 in 2 bedrooms suite, 2 bathrooms and living area. It is a very quiet retreat away from the busy city. We had had 8 busy nights in bangkok and chiang mai and this was a lovely break before moving on to phuket. Yes it is alittle dated in areas but this adds... More 

Helpful?
Thank teemey
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review it is very much appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and extremely pleased regarding your comments about my staff. Thank you again Peter More 

1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2016

My BFF and I decided to get away from Bangkok to explore nature so we found this cute little retreat in Chiang Mai. The staff was so sweet and kind to both of us who spoke litterally the worst Thai ever. We checked in pretty late but they were still so accomodating. Our first night there was a gecko in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mai L
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. Away from the city we expect the odd gecko in the rooms, they make excellent insect eaters. I am so happy that the staff looked after you well. You are correct, for city lovers we are not well placed but Chiang Mai has so much more to offer than just the city. Thank you... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for two nights whilst we where travelling around Thailand. The hotel is in a very beautiful area, close to most mae rim has to offer with a nice swimming pool but unfortunately that's about as good as it gets. The resort really is in need of renovation, looking very old and tired. The rooms are... More 

Helpful?
Thank GixxerBoyBenny 8
Peter B, Manager at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

I have read both nearly identical reviews by yourself and your girlfriend. I am sorry you felt the service was poor in the resort. I do not understand why my front desk staff were not apologetic regarding your key card malfunction. We have had a very recent problem with the teak wood windows and doors shrinking in some rooms in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Nice garden,beautiful lake but poor service that I have ever seen. Bad food (breakfast) , the food was like two days ago and make it warm again but not even warm at all. Breakfast was really cold. Make my boyfriend have a very serious stomachache. This is how the staff cook breakfast for customers? That is REALLY BAD. Key card... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miki S
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

This is a repeat review for the same room and the same problems. I aplogise to you similarly to your boyfriend More 

Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
434 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

After two months jockeying around south east Asia I knew I'd need a break before continuing on. This was just right. Perfect accommodations. I've never seen a pillow selection chart anywhere else. Every part of the resort I used was good. Two shower heads! Water pressure was outstanding. Unfortunately the hot water was never around when I needed it but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iratdog
Peter B, Owner at Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am p;leased that you enjoyed the pillow menu, water pressure and breakfasts. If there was a hot water problem it would have been specific to your room because each room has its own hot water system which makes life a lot more fragile because we have so many hot water systems to look after.... More 

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (170)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (48)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
2:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Rim hotels
4.2 km away
Gudi Boutique Hotel
Gudi Boutique Hotel
#13 of 18 in Mae Rim
22 reviews
16.9 km away
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
Botanic Resort ChiangMai
#14 of 18 in Mae Rim
18 reviews
0.3 km away
Mae Rim Lagoon
Mae Rim Lagoon
#8 of 18 in Mae Rim
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Panviman Chiang Mai Spa Resort
2.7 km away
Sukantara Cascade Resort & Spa
11.2 km away
Proud Phu Fah Resort
Proud Phu Fah Resort
#6 of 18 in Mae Rim
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It is a relaxing, boutique, garden resort situated in the beautiful and tranquil Maerim Valley, a 30 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport and in the centre of the wide range of Chiang Mai's attractions. Offering a full range of recreational activities the facilities include two swimming pools, a beautiful Thai spa, a fitness centre, a sauna, and a lakeside relaxation sala with library These facilities are surrounded by the finest relaxation environment and nature. The resort features 47 understated rooms & villas in huge sub-tropical surroundings with approximately 1,000 trees, an impressive lake, 3 fishponds and many garden areas with relaxing garden salas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai

Address: 43/1 Moo 6, Mae Rim-Samoeng Road | Maeram Subdistrict, Mae Rim 50180, Thailand (Formerly Away Suansawan Chiang Mai)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae Rim
Price Range: $43 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Suansawan Centara Boutique Collection Hotel Mae Rim
Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai Chiang Mai Province, Thailand - Mae Rim
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mae Rim
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Spa Hotel in Mae Rim
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Rim
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Suansawan Resort Chiang Mai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms by the lake are fabulous, but then then some are the hillside rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles KhunChutikan, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Villas are great”
 of 5 bubbles apinadell, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“....Delux Suite Lakeside!!....They are heavenly!”
 of 5 bubbles meritengstrom, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“New rooms have quiet air-condition. AC in old rooms are noisy, though location of old rooms are more beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles Vibhoda, 12 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I am talking as a disabled traveller. Staff to scared to take you out in case anything goes wrong”
 of 5 bubbles Anonymous361879, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay