We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa

    Polish Bay, Pulau Gaya 88778, Malaysia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    USD 321*
    USD 228*
    SAVE USD 93
    USD 233*
    USD 232*
    Traveller (622)
    Pool & Beach (188)
    Room & Suite (184)
    Overview
    • Excellent57%
    • Very good28%
    • Average8%
    • Poor5%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “plunge pool” (49 reviews)
    “pantai grill” (33 reviews)
    “wild boar” (42 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Airport Transportation
    Room Service
    Suites
    Poolside Bar
    Fitness centre
    Concierge
    Spa
    Dry Cleaning
    Housekeeping
    Private Balcony
    5.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct.30 Oct.
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 228
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 233
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      USD 232
      View Deal
    View all 25 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (499)
    There are newer reviews for Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    21 - 25 of 421 reviews

    Reviewed 29 May 2017

    My husband and I have just spent five nights at the Bunga Raya Resort and Spa, at the end of a two week holiday in Borneo. We had been told that there was some building work going on, and the resort had consequently offered us...More

    4  Thank trelevan
    Response from TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & SpaResponded 30 May 2017

    Dear Trelevan, Thank you for understanding and explaining so well what we represent. We look forward welcoming you back soon again. Tomas

    Reviewed 27 May 2017

    This place could be a paradise but there are those small things that matter that the management needs to work on. The beach isn't great and the food was so disappointing. A place like this needs to be top notch whether that is service, small...More

    2  Thank Eva M
    Response from TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & SpaResponded 30 May 2017

    Dear Eva M, I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy our food. We don't have a Sainsbury in Kota Kinabalu but if you had spoken to our chefs or management about your disappointment, I am certain we could tailor the food to your...More

    Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

    I chose this resort to end what was a surprise birthday trip for my husband. We were so looking forward to this place and yet we were so disappointed. I paid for a treehouse villa, pretty expensive at £405 per night but it was a...More

    4  Thank Lucyjordan7
    Response from TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & SpaResponded 30 May 2017

    Dear Luzy, Thank you for sharing your experience with us back in April. As we have discussed all issues were rectified and you were given compensation for the lack of attention with your room which we apologise for. I am pleased to say we are...More

    Reviewed 16 May 2017

    We stayed at Bungaraya for five nights to spoil ourselves at the end of our honeymoon in May. Arriving at the resort we were struck that it felt unloved. The beach was covered in driftwood and litter, the bar where we were given a welcome...More

    3  Thank Kasia K
    Response from TomasAndersen, General Manager at Bunga Raya Island Resort & SpaResponded 30 May 2017

    Dear Kasia K Thank you for your comments, we have taken them onboard and shared with the team. I do however think it is unfair to blame us for the driftwood which has arrived on our shores these past months. we have removed several tons...More

    Reviewed 11 May 2017

    My family stayed at Bunga Raya Resort from April 15-20 2017. Prior to staying we read all the reviews and had some concerns. However, we were amazed once we arrived! We were given a quick tour of the resort and driven to our villa on...More

    Thank DanGapril2017
    Gaya Island Resort
    1,215 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
     
    Gayana Eco Resort
    471 reviews
    #3 of 3 hotels in Pulau Gaya
     
    Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
    2,151 reviews
    #2 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
     
    Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
    3,775 reviews
    #4 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Travellers' Choice2017 Winner
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Beachfront
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Room Service
    • Breakfast included
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Free Parking
    • Airport Transportation
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Concierge
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Minibar
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Spa
    Details
    • Price range
    • USD 203 - USD 467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Suites ,
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Smoking rooms available
    • Number of rooms
    • 48
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Malaysia >
    • Sabah >
    • West Coast Division >
    • Kota Kinabalu District >
    • Pulau Gaya
    • Also Known As
    • Bunga Raya Island Hotel Kota Kinabalu ,
    • Bunga Raya Island Resort And Spa ,
    • Bunga Raya Island Resort & Spa Pulau Gaya, Malaysia
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (622)
    Pool & Beach (188)
    Room & Suite (184)
    Dining (88)
    Hotel & Grounds (433)
    Bathroom (14)
    Family and Play Areas (2)
    Nearby
    Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
    3,775 reviews
    8.39 km away
     
    Gaya Island Resort
    1,215 reviews
    3.26 km away
     
    Gayana Eco Resort
    471 reviews
    3.71 km away
     
    Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
    2,151 reviews
    7.80 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ferdinand's
    262 reviews
    7.66 km away
    Irish Shamrock Bar & Restaurant
    196 reviews
    7.77 km away
    Mother India Restaurant
    59 reviews
    7.81 km away
    Gusto Food & Wine
    193 reviews
    7.75 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Manukan Island
    1,607 reviews
    6.04 km away
    Sapi Island
    1,873 reviews
    2.35 km away
    Mamutik Island
    738 reviews
    6.84 km away
    Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park
    697 reviews
    2.32 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    robert f
    Good Morning We are planning a trip to one of the Rain Forest areas where we would like to do forest walking and beach swimming This hotel is obviously a very good one but we are extremely worried about the constant reports of rubbish on the beach Please advise if this is only washed in at night or does it happen throughout the day also? A business colleague has advised that there is an enormous Shanty Town on stilts nearby and that each hut has holes in the floor where they throw all their rubbish, household waste and one hole in the floor, is even a toilet! He says that absolutely everything is thrown or dropped down the holes into the waters beneath He has advised that the tides can carry the waste in any direction, towards any of the beautiful nearby islands and that unfortunately, this island is very close to the Shanty and thus suffers all the time Please advise if this information is correct
    15 October 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TomasAndersen | Property representative |
    Dear Robert F Thank you so much for your very valid question. Unfortunately we do have issues with rubbish floating around the sea some will be from the villages but the majority will be from the rivers leading into the... More
    0
    Votes
    robert f
    11 October 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from TomasAndersen | Property representative |
    Dear Robert & Viktoria, Thank you for your interest in Bungaraya Island Resort. we are delighted that you are looking at us as a possible option for your upcoming holiday. To answer your questions: Smoking is only allowed... More
    0
    Votes
    Jamsimsafc
    31 August 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Geraldine554 | Reviewed this property |
    See for more info the Bunga R website, they provide the prizes. The resort has a boot shedule to go back to KK. Sometimes free of charge smotimes you'll have to pay! Certainly go for a trip on the mainland, see the... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "If you aren't too mobile probably better going for one closer to the beach. Otherwise the others higher..."
    Read review
    "Go for a superior (standard) room. You don't need the extra space from a deluxe"
    Read review
    "beachfront rooms are brilliant!"
    Read review
    "With kids I would stay in the bungalows closest the beach."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing