We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mount Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Mount Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 53: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Location is great, it's just around the corner from the beach. You can rent surf boards, wet suits and bicycles at the reception which was nice. However, the hostel was packed full. The rooms are tiny, there's only one small kitchen and few toilets and showers. All the common areas were pretty much dirty constantly. It's definitely a party hostel,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KaroParo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst the location is really good, everything else was really poor. The bathrooms were dirty, people had left their toiletries, toilet paper and other stuff they no longer wanted on the floor, there was also mold on the roof of all the showers (see picture). The kitchen was also dirty and there was a huge bin right next to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank trelawnyhand

Travellers are raving about these Mount Maunganui hotels

Reunion Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First, if you looking for a quiet place, this hostel it's not for you. There is a pub in the other side of the street, also guests can be noisy. This place was my home for 2 months, the bathroom is great, the kitchen needs some improvements. Very nice outdoor area that makes a very good social interaction between guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank TiGreg974
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Dirty overcrowded poor service. Don't let backpackers run the place. Bedding dirty. Pub opposite very noisy. Only pluses location. Came out at night and 3-4 people sleeping in lounge area. Lesson - don't let backpackers run it

Helpful?
Thank Brent M
Stewart F, Dee - Reception at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Brent, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry about the noise from Astrolabe, unfortunately they have a license until 1am and our poor backpackers and neighbors have to hear it every weekend. In response to your comments about the hostel - for each new check-in we change every sheet, pillow case and duvet to a fresh one.... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Mount backpackers was my home for 3ish weeks, I was in the 6 bed dorm with 2 other friends. Quietest room in the hostel, up the stairs first door on the left. Only got the bar across the road playing music sometimes till 1am, but that's okay. The hostel has a strict rule of 11pm quiet time, the outside area... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mikeharting
Stewart F, Manager at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Come back Mike !!! A whole lot of girls checked in just after you left!!! :) More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Crowded rooms, no lockers, no staff to control the loud guests at night, dirty kitchen filled with flies and lacking kitchenfacilities, Small toilets and far away from any supermarket. Good location, decent WiFi and surfboard hire though!

Helpful?
Thank gapyearbackpacker
Stewart F, Manager at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Disagree with "Too Expensive for what you get". We are in downtown Mount Maunganui surrounded by multi million dollar homes in the middle of the action and only 3 mins walk to the beach.. There is nothing else even close to this cheap anywhere nearby in February. There are lockers in the communal area big enough to fit a Backpack,... More 

Montevideo, Uruguay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

I absolutely loved my stayed! This place is a blast! Super nice facilities and top notch staff! Stew is great! The location is fantastic! The other guests are some of the coolest people you will meet and they are always down to have a good time! Clean and fun atmosphere I definitely recommend and will go back :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

great hostel with amazing people, clean bathrooms, cozy rooms and the manager is always kind and available to help you with everything. it is ubicated in central mt maunganui and two blocks from the beach!! a lot of space in the frigde and a huge tv to watch films

Helpful?
3 Thank Ro P
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Like laurietravels2016 said, the best part was its location on the main drag. Unfortunately, that also meant that our room got a free concert until the wee hours of the morning from the bar across the street. When we arrived, the long-term backpackers were already quite loud in the courtyard. It was packed, and there was no space to sit... More 

Helpful?
Thank pip_sarah
Stewart F, Manager at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Laurietravels2016 stayed with us and you did not!! Laurietravels2016 has asked all of her friends in a blog to support her in attacking Mount Backpackers... that is what you are doing !! More 

Tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and the loctation was perfect. Mount Maunganui is beautiful. The hostel has discount rates for surfboard rentals which I did every day and my surfing has improved. The owner has taken over from his summer staff and is tidying up the place.

Helpful?
2 Thank meghann d
Stewart F, Manager at Mount Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks Meghann We enjoyed having you stay. Safe travels ! More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mount Maunganui hotels
1.6 km away
Seagulls Guesthouse
Seagulls Guesthouse
#3 of 18 in Mount Maunganui
91 reviews
1.6 km away
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpackers
Pacific Coast Lodge and Backpack...
#7 of 18 in Mount Maunganui
140 reviews
0.6 km away
Calais Mount Resort
Calais Mount Resort
#9 of 18 in Mount Maunganui
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Baywatch Motor Inn
Baywatch Motor Inn
#1 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
111 reviews
0.6 km away
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
Oceanside Resort & Twin Towers
#2 of 13 in Mount Maunganui
156 reviews
2.3 km away
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
The Reef Beachfront Apartments
#1 of 18 in Mount Maunganui
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
FREE WiFi (unlimited), Surf Lessons Surfboard Rental, Bicycle Rental,Newly Refurbished! We offer the BEACH & SURF at your doorstep & right in town! Our piece of PARADISE, small, friendly, CLEAN & cosy hostel where everyone knows your name!, Assistance with SEASONAL WORK all year round. Winter rates available. Travel desk for all the Bay's activities, Sky TV, Why stay out of town? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mount Backpackers

Address: 87 Maunganui Road, Mount Maunganui, Tauranga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Tauranga > Mount Maunganui
Price Range: $24 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mount Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid the front rooms; they will be loud”
 of 5 bubbles pip_sarah, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“sleep furthest from the road front”
 of 5 bubbles L5377WNdavidt, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Only good for surfers & partiers who stay up all night & sleep during the day, & don't care about hygiene.”
 of 5 bubbles christinem51, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Watch out for rooms near street, they may have a bit of noise”
 of 5 bubbles LauraTravelNZ, 17 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Not the 16 bed dorm.”
 of 5 bubbles lolcas, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay