We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pippi's at the Point

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Pippi\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Start your review of Pippi's at the Point
 Click to rate
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2017

I dined with a group of six friends for dinner. The atmosphere is somewhat pub-like - order at the bar, a bit loud, etc, but there is a great view of the lake at subset. You can sit outside although it was so hot on the evening, nobody did. The prices were a bit high for a place without full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FSS2013
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Stayed here recently for a function. What an absolute dump. Accommodation needs a complete overhaul. A few Asian-ish bits of tatt just don't cut it. Needs new beds and carpet in particular. Although on the plus side, the plastic shower curtain looked new. Just horrible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gotluggage123
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 25 January 2017

I stayed overnight. The room was clean, neat and a good size, it was a hot day (43*) and the aircon did the trick to get the temp quickly down to a comforatble level. My room overlooked the road and Lake Macquarie, there was no traffic noise as the floor to ceiling windows do not open. The room comprised a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simofoz
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms are were clean I thought until found a mummified cockroach which had obviously been there for awhile due to the condition of the animal. We had two rooms with varying degrees of modernization of the bathrooms. The air-conditioning in the rooms didn't cope with the very hot day as the room stayed at 30 degrees for at least...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
Maitland, Australia
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at Pippi's at the point on Sunday 20th November 2016 at around 12.30 pm. My wife ordered the Thai beef salad. The first piece of beef she consumed didn't quite taste right and it seemed under cooked but she continued to eat that particular piece of beef as she felt uncomfortable spitting it out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter M
PippisPoint, Manager at Pippi's at the Point, responded to this review

Hi Peter M, As previously discussed via email and over the phone, we have done our best to follow up the situation however locating the source is hard to identify based on the chain of supply. We have not had any other incidents reported to us from that day (or any other day) and a number of Thai beef salads...

Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night (queen room) while on a central coast road trip. The room was large and had cereal, clothes rack and magazines which was a nice touch. Staying at the hotel was great because we could enjoy the live music and have dinner. The lake is gorgeous at sunset and we even saw some jumping fish!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa Y
PippisPoint, Manager at Pippi's at the Point, responded to this review

Hi Melissa Y, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in your future travels!

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 26 November 2016

Went here for lunch last Saturday. Ordered the stir fry vegetables with hokkien noodles. Should have read hokkien noodles with a couple of stir fry vegetables. Was a plate full of noodles with a few vegetables scattered through it. Needless to say I left most of it. My son,s fiancé ordered the pork belly. It was very dry, she didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
PippisPoint, Manager at Pippi's at the Point, responded to this review

Hi Sharon D, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing dining experience. We take feedback seriously and we will be looking in to this so that we can improve in these areas.

Sydney
Reviewed 16 November 2016

I was a bit hesitant to stay above a pub, but honestly this place was fantastic value. The staff were very friendly, and the young male staff attendant, assisted me by carrying the bag up the stairs. They had placed me away from the noise, but stil had a lake view of the water. For $100 it could not be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SydneyAngel_83
PippisPoint, Manager at Pippi's at the Point, responded to this review

Hi SydneyAngel_83, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Pippi's. Thank you for your kind review & we hope to see you again soon!

Shoal Bay, Australia
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I needed to stay for a night in the area and found this on TripAdvisor. Double room with single as well was clean and comfortable. Excellent value at under $100. Large restaurant downstairs has a very good menu and excellent service. Great views of the lake. Tea, coffee and cereal provided in the room but no milk? Maybe you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flatty29
PippisPoint, Manager at Pippi's at the Point, responded to this review

Hi Flatty29, Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I do apologise that there was no milk in your room, this is usually provided with the cereal, tea & coffee. If this does happen again, please just ask one of our friendly staff & they will be more than happy...

Red Rock, Australia
Reviewed 15 September 2016

After checking out from my last overnight stay 10 minutes away this was a relief! We have for the same tariff, one double and a single, ensuite, TV, free wifi table , bed lamps and power points! We had dinner in the restaurant below and besides reading the reviews of lengthy delays of receiving your meal....I was prepared for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 23caroline62
PippisPoint, Manager at Pippi's at the Point, responded to this review

Hi 23caroline62, Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad to hear you enjoyed your meal & drinks at our restaurant. Once again, thank you for your positive feedback & we hope to see you again soon!

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speers Point
3.2 km away
Warners at the Bay
Warners at the Bay
#2 of 2 in Warners Bay
95 reviews
7.8 km away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
367 reviews
7.4 km away
Best Western Plus Apollo International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Ibis Budget Newcastle
Ibis Budget Newcastle
#1 of 1 in Wallsend
156 reviews
18.8 km away
Bay Hotel Motel
Bay Hotel Motel
#1 of 1 in Morisset
24 reviews
3.0 km away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable motel style accommodation with spectacular views across Lake Macquarie. Restaurant opens for lunch and dinner 7 days. All rooms are fully air conditioned with a modern bathroom, tea and coffee making facilities and a flat screen TV. Pippi's at the Point is a hotel located on the shores of beautiful Lake Macquarie at Speers Point, Warners Bay. Just 15 minutes from the heart of Newcastle and less than one hour from the Hunter Valley vineyards and Port Stephens, Pippi's is ideally situated for your holiday, outing, or conference. Enjoy spectacular views while you take advantage of the wide range of facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pippi's at the Point

Address: 199 Main Rd, Speers Point, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2284, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Speers Point
Price Range: $89 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pippi's at the Point 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Pippi's at the Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pippi's At The Point Speers Point, Greater Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pippi's at the Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Gotluggage123, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy the views across Lake Macquarie”
 of 5 bubbles Simofoz, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rooms 13 to 15 if you want to stay away from the noise.”
 of 5 bubbles SydneyAngel_83, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No microwave...so keep that in mind.”
  • From the balcony.
 of 5 bubbles 23caroline62, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Main Road side at the rear of the hotel would probably be the quietest.”
 of 5 bubbles ROSEY12SQ75, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5